Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree192Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 01-01-2014, 12:46 AM
  #5386  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (44)
 
FastPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orland Park IL
Posts: 5,311
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Happy New Year everyone! I been busy putting my new Tekno EB48.2 with a SCT Pro.
FastPete is offline  
Old 01-01-2014, 03:14 AM
  #5387  
Tech Adept
 
d_scientist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pen, Malaysia
Posts: 163
Default

Hi there,

My 150A esc has its red led on all the time. The esc still works but can I know what is the problem? My motor is currently a sensorless while my esc is sensored.

PLS help
d_scientist is offline  
Old 01-01-2014, 08:13 AM
  #5388  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (37)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 842
Trader Rating: 37 (97%+)
Default

Originally Posted by d_scientist
Hi there,

My 150A esc has its red led on all the time. The esc still works but can I know what is the problem? My motor is currently a sensorless while my esc is sensored.

PLS help
Sounds like you just need to set the throttle trim on your radio. If I remember correctly the light should be off at neutral but I may be wrong.
charlesandstuff is offline  
Old 01-01-2014, 08:47 AM
  #5389  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (44)
 
FastPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orland Park IL
Posts: 5,311
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by d_scientist
Hi there,

My 150A esc has its red led on all the time. The esc still works but can I know what is the problem? My motor is currently a sensorless while my esc is sensored.

PLS help
I would recalibrate

After power on, red LED always lights

Throttle signal is abnormal

Plug the control wire into the throttle channel of the receiver correctly.
FastPete is offline  
Old 01-01-2014, 10:02 AM
  #5390  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (152)
 
JFuel11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central IL
Posts: 3,587
Trader Rating: 152 (100%+)
Default Use Any One You Want

Originally Posted by 5th wheel
Jful11
been using your blinky setup works good. I used it on the esc were it's at(zero timing)
if I want to try your other set ups were on the esc should I do this were it's at buggy/sct.
or mode 1.or 17.5 there are 10 things to pick from.?
Jerry,

You can really use any one you want as you can't really mess anything up. The Profiles are just pre-set to help but can be changed and configured how you like.
JFuel11 is offline  
Old 01-01-2014, 12:16 PM
  #5391  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Tracy B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 169
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Here's a quick update:
Got the track owner to give me some time to run the car on the track yesterday, and after about the 3 1/2 minute mark the green and red LEDs were flashing, which indicates that the motor is a sensored motor, but the ESC detects abnormal signal from the sensor, so it switches into sensorless mode.
The manual also states to check the connection of the sensor cable, which I did, both cables I tried, fit snug into the motor and ESC. Again, stated in the manual, the sensors in the motor may be damaged, please change the motor.

I took apart my Thunder Power 17.5 sensored brushless and inspected the sensor unit, sure enough, it smelled and looked burnt. The motor was set to 30 degrees of timing during the December 15 race and got extremely hot, this is the same race my Tekin got plugged in backwards.

I'm going to order a new sensor unit for my TP and see if that's the problem.
Tracy B is offline  
Old 01-01-2014, 12:51 PM
  #5392  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (44)
 
FastPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orland Park IL
Posts: 5,311
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Tracy B
Here's a quick update:
Got the track owner to give me some time to run the car on the track yesterday, and after about the 3 1/2 minute mark the green and red LEDs were flashing, which indicates that the motor is a sensored motor, but the ESC detects abnormal signal from the sensor, so it switches into sensorless mode.
The manual also states to check the connection of the sensor cable, which I did, both cables I tried, fit snug into the motor and ESC. Again, stated in the manual, the sensors in the motor may be damaged, please change the motor.

I took apart my Thunder Power 17.5 sensored brushless and inspected the sensor unit, sure enough, it smelled and looked burnt. The motor was set to 30 degrees of timing during the December 15 race and got extremely hot, this is the same race my Tekin got plugged in backwards.

I'm going to order a new sensor unit for my TP and see if that's the problem.
Thanks for the update, glad your making progress.
FastPete is offline  
Old 01-01-2014, 03:01 PM
  #5393  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (152)
 
JFuel11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central IL
Posts: 3,587
Trader Rating: 152 (100%+)
Default I like progress...

Originally Posted by Tracy B
Here's a quick update:
Got the track owner to give me some time to run the car on the track yesterday, and after about the 3 1/2 minute mark the green and red LEDs were flashing, which indicates that the motor is a sensored motor, but the ESC detects abnormal signal from the sensor, so it switches into sensorless mode.
The manual also states to check the connection of the sensor cable, which I did, both cables I tried, fit snug into the motor and ESC. Again, stated in the manual, the sensors in the motor may be damaged, please change the motor.

I took apart my Thunder Power 17.5 sensored brushless and inspected the sensor unit, sure enough, it smelled and looked burnt. The motor was set to 30 degrees of timing during the December 15 race and got extremely hot, this is the same race my Tekin got plugged in backwards.

I'm going to order a new sensor unit for my TP and see if that's the problem.
I have found that the TP motors product decent power but I have witness many having this issue because they don't like a lot of heat and they get that burnt varnish smell over time. On the same note many have had really good luck with them, but they are not my cup of tea.

Hope you get it all worked out!

Good Luck

Alan
JFuel11 is offline  
Old 01-01-2014, 03:24 PM
  #5394  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
Captcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ocala, fl
Posts: 1,565
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

With help from a good friend, we got my spyder all wired up. Just from doing a little epa testing and diff breaking in we are both astonished at the smoothness and overall quality of this 50$ esc!

Pre motor and receiver mock up.


Final install.
Captcha is offline  
Old 01-01-2014, 04:13 PM
  #5395  
Tech Master
 
5th wheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,084
Default

Buggy looks good
5th wheel is offline  
Old 01-01-2014, 04:13 PM
  #5396  
Tech Master
 
5th wheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,084
Default

Thanks jful11
5th wheel is offline  
Old 01-01-2014, 06:39 PM
  #5397  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (44)
 
FastPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orland Park IL
Posts: 5,311
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Captcha
With help from a good friend, we got my spyder all wired up. Just from doing a little epa testing and diff breaking in we are both astonished at the smoothness and overall quality of this 50$ esc!

Pre motor and receiver mock up.


Final install.
Very nice, whos your friend?
FastPete is offline  
Old 01-01-2014, 06:59 PM
  #5398  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
Captcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ocala, fl
Posts: 1,565
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by FastPete
Very nice, whos your friend?
Jim Andersen, pete. He helped me clean everything up and keep it all tidy.
Captcha is offline  
Old 01-01-2014, 07:04 PM
  #5399  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (44)
 
FastPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orland Park IL
Posts: 5,311
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Captcha
Jim Andersen, pete. He helped me clean everything up and keep it all tidy.
Figured that.
FastPete is offline  
Old 01-01-2014, 10:12 PM
  #5400  
Tech Adept
 
d_scientist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pen, Malaysia
Posts: 163
Default

Originally Posted by FastPete
I would recalibrate

After power on, red LED always lights

Throttle signal is abnormal

Plug the control wire into the throttle channel of the receiver correctly.
Originally Posted by charlesandstuff
Sounds like you just need to set the throttle trim on your radio. If I remember correctly the light should be off at neutral but I may be wrong.
Thanks a lot guys... will go back and check again.. hopefully thats the problem as I have been melting the battery lead solder 3 times yesterday!!!!
d_scientist is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.