Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree197Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 11-21-2013, 09:23 AM
  #4786  
Tech Elite
 
rcboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 3,703
Default

Originally Posted by Kraig
Has anyone had a situation where their system would cog and even after changing out the motor and sensor wire it would still do it. I put in a different speed control and all was fine. Then the next day, with the same setup that cogged before the speed control worked fine. Perhaps it is a heat issue as there was no problem with the 2-3 runs I did in practice but in the first qualifier she cogged out. Thoughts?
Its possible the esc decalibrated or there was an error in the software or something like that when you turned it on for the qualifier. Not very likely though. How hot did it get?
rcboy1 is offline  
Old 11-21-2013, 10:17 AM
  #4787  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (44)
 
FastPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orland Park IL
Posts: 5,311
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by timberline97
Ditto with a SCT410. I was going to try 15 degree, and start with a 14 tooth. Should I start with a 16 tooth?
I like to work my way up and check temps.
FastPete is offline  
Old 11-21-2013, 10:19 AM
  #4788  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (44)
 
FastPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orland Park IL
Posts: 5,311
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BlackStarRacing
Quick question: Is there much of a difference beside amps on the V3 and the V3 stock? DO they both have the same functions?
I will check for you and be back.
FastPete is offline  
Old 11-21-2013, 10:21 AM
  #4789  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (44)
 
FastPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orland Park IL
Posts: 5,311
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by yacagree
Yes where is Cobra, long time no posts from him. It seems "FastPete" is the mayor of this thread now!?
Cant speak for cobra but im trying.
FastPete is offline  
Old 11-21-2013, 10:22 AM
  #4790  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (44)
 
FastPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orland Park IL
Posts: 5,311
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Cool

Originally Posted by 5th wheel
Thanks guys I appreciaTe iT. going to my friends house tonight to see if we can make it work. I was also thinking about putting it in the center due to the wright of the ESC. it's 93 grams was going to get a center Trey to put it on above the battery box. what would be your thoughts on that. thanks for finding that picture for me appreciate all the help I get pete has also been a big help. so we'll see if we can make it work in balance out my friend is in on road guy but he has a lot of experience about 20 years or so just want to get another set of eyes looking at it thank you again y'all have a good day
Good luck Jerry
FastPete is offline  
Old 11-21-2013, 10:59 AM
  #4791  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Austria
Posts: 131
Default

@ 5th wheel

As you know I have the 120A V2.1 with caps in the right tray of my B4.1. On the left side it's the rx and the transponder. I didn't need any weight for to balance it, it's perfect without any. I think, it's because of the motor which has the weight more on the left side.
yacagree is offline  
Old 11-21-2013, 12:29 PM
  #4792  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (81)
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,958
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rcboy1
Its possible the esc decalibrated or there was an error in the software or something like that when you turned it on for the qualifier. Not very likely though. How hot did it get?
I didn't check temp to be honest. Two different rounds with known good motor swapped out with sensor wire. I guess I will throw it back in and give her another try.
Kraig is offline  
Old 11-21-2013, 01:23 PM
  #4793  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (44)
 
FastPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orland Park IL
Posts: 5,311
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BlackStarRacing
Quick question: Is there much of a difference beside amps on the V3 and the V3 stock? DO they both have the same functions?
Just the amp rating is different sir.
FastPete is offline  
Old 11-21-2013, 01:25 PM
  #4794  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (44)
 
FastPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orland Park IL
Posts: 5,311
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nanoverse
Cobra: Any chance of getting Turbo on the SCT-Pro in future firmware upgrades?
No plans to at this time.
FastPete is offline  
Old 11-21-2013, 02:39 PM
  #4795  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (28)
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 507
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BlackStarRacing
Quick question: Is there much of a difference beside amps on the V3 and the V3 stock? DO they both have the same functions?
I can confirm that the functions / settings are exactly the same.
treys1 is offline  
Old 11-21-2013, 02:41 PM
  #4796  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 5
Default

I just purchased a Losi SCTE and am looking for a new ESC. I had a Slash 4x4 I was racing and I was running the Hobbywing SCT Pro esc. I was wondering if the Hobbywing XERUN 150amp ESC would be a better fit for this truck. I am running a Tekin 4000kv pro 4 motor.
Scotth13 is offline  
Old 11-21-2013, 04:47 PM
  #4797  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
eddomak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Scotth13
I just purchased a Losi SCTE and am looking for a new ESC. I had a Slash 4x4 I was racing and I was running the Hobbywing SCT Pro esc. I was wondering if the Hobbywing XERUN 150amp ESC would be a better fit for this truck. I am running a Tekin 4000kv pro 4 motor.
The 2-3 pages should cover your question, but in general the 150A is designed for 3S and you will probably encounter problems running on 2S. The SCT Pro is the best for SCTE on 2S or 3S, and if you check the SCTE thread you will see a lot of people running it there.
eddomak is offline  
Old 11-21-2013, 04:53 PM
  #4798  
Tech Master
iTrader: (40)
 
BlackStarRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miramar, Florida
Posts: 1,786
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by FastPete
Just the amp rating is different sir.
thank you Sir, ordering two one for my 22-2 and for my SCT-Pro
BlackStarRacing is offline  
Old 11-21-2013, 04:58 PM
  #4799  
Tech Elite
 
rcboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 3,703
Default

Originally Posted by Kraig
I didn't check temp to be honest. Two different rounds with known good motor swapped out with sensor wire. I guess I will throw it back in and give her another try.
Let us know how it goes Hopefully it will work perfectly for you this time.
rcboy1 is offline  
Old 11-21-2013, 05:01 PM
  #4800  
Tech Elite
 
rcboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 3,703
Default

Originally Posted by Scotth13
I just purchased a Losi SCTE and am looking for a new ESC. I had a Slash 4x4 I was racing and I was running the Hobbywing SCT Pro esc. I was wondering if the Hobbywing XERUN 150amp ESC would be a better fit for this truck. I am running a Tekin 4000kv pro 4 motor.
Originally Posted by eddomak
The 2-3 pages should cover your question, but in general the 150A is designed for 3S and you will probably encounter problems running on 2S. The SCT Pro is the best for SCTE on 2S or 3S, and if you check the SCTE thread you will see a lot of people running it there.
Exactly what eddomak said. I doubt the 150amp would fit very well anyway. Nearly everyone who runs a SCTE here runs an sct pro, so it is a very good choice.
rcboy1 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.