Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree194Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 11-18-2013, 09:55 AM
  #4741  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 590
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Anyone hear anything yet regarding which esc best works with a 2wd sct running a 7.5 motor. I have an email into cobra but have not heard back yet.
Micah123 is offline  
Old 11-18-2013, 10:17 AM
  #4742  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (44)
 
FastPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orland Park IL
Posts: 5,311
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Micah123
Anyone hear anything yet regarding which esc best works with a 2wd sct running a 7.5 motor. I have an email into cobra but have not heard back yet.
Sure what's the budget? Extreme stock or 120a v2.1 Or the newer 3.1 if that's the only application your going to use it for.
FastPete is offline  
Old 11-18-2013, 11:29 AM
  #4743  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 590
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I am actually following up on my initial post several days ago. One user was complaining that the sct pro esc is not suitable for my 2wd sct. Still waiting to hear why since the hobbywing website infers it is designed for tenth scale sct's. Since I like the $90 price, it seems like the sct pro or the 120A 2.1 are my choices. I never considered the stock model since I assumed it was for a 17.5 turn motor. Since I have more than enough power with my 7.5, esc weight in not a concern. Software differences, if any, are much more important to me.
Micah123 is offline  
Old 11-18-2013, 11:43 AM
  #4744  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (44)
 
FastPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orland Park IL
Posts: 5,311
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Micah123
I am actually following up on my initial post several days ago. One user was complaining that the sct pro esc is not suitable for my 2wd sct. Still waiting to hear why since the hobbywing website infers it is designed for tenth scale sct's. Since I like the $90 price, it seems like the sct pro or the 120A 2.1 are my choices. I never considered the stock model since I assumed it was for a 17.5 turn motor. Since I have more than enough power with my 7.5, esc weight in not a concern. Software differences, if any, are much more important to me.
I know I sent u a pm a few days ago. You would think it would work by the specs. But if others are not happy with the power on 2 cell, lets see what Cobra says. I will hit him up again.
FastPete is offline  
Old 11-18-2013, 12:31 PM
  #4745  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
lewis110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hallstead, PA
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Micah123
I am actually following up on my initial post several days ago. One user was complaining that the sct pro esc is not suitable for my 2wd sct. Still waiting to hear why since the hobbywing website infers it is designed for tenth scale sct's. Since I like the $90 price, it seems like the sct pro or the 120A 2.1 are my choices. I never considered the stock model since I assumed it was for a 17.5 turn motor. Since I have more than enough power with my 7.5, esc weight in not a concern. Software differences, if any, are much more important to me.
Some guys are complaining about it probably because it doesn't have boost/turbo. If you want to run true mod/open classes you will want an esc that will run boosted. Secondly there is no blinky mode. I understand your running a 7.5 so you don't care about blinky mode. But if you were to run stock classes the sct Pro isn't legal. You will also find the foot print is gigantic compared to a 2.1 model. Personally I would buy a V2.1 90amp speed control and never have to worry about it.

Roger
lewis110 is offline  
Old 11-18-2013, 12:36 PM
  #4746  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (44)
 
FastPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orland Park IL
Posts: 5,311
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lewis110
Some guys are complaining about it probably because it doesn't have boost/turbo. If you want to run true mod/open classes you will want an esc that will run boosted. Secondly there is no blinky mode. I understand your running a 7.5 so you don't care about blinky mode. But if you were to run stock classes the sct Pro isn't legal. You will also find the foot print is gigantic compared to a 2.1 model. Personally I would buy a V2.1 90amp speed control and never have to worry about it.

Roger
Now that makes total sense. Thanks Roger
FastPete is offline  
Old 11-18-2013, 01:02 PM
  #4747  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 590
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lewis110
Some guys are complaining about it probably because it doesn't have boost/turbo. If you want to run true mod/open classes you will want an esc that will run boosted. Secondly there is no blinky mode. I understand your running a 7.5 so you don't care about blinky mode. But if you were to run stock classes the sct Pro isn't legal. You will also find the foot print is gigantic compared to a 2.1 model. Personally I would buy a V2.1 90amp speed control and never have to worry about it.

Roger
Thanks for the info. Do not think I need timing since the 7.5 is more than enough is my 2WD sct. Our club stock is 17.5 so I run mod. Thinking the sct pro might position me for a future mod buggy, 4X4 Techno, or even a 1/8th Tekno. Do not think I am a stock guy....have got to the point where I feel pretty comfortable handling the power of a mod motor. Can anyone confirm that the lack of boost is what the lack of power is regarding the sct pro. Thanks again all for the help.
Micah123 is offline  
Old 11-18-2013, 01:51 PM
  #4748  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (44)
 
FastPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orland Park IL
Posts: 5,311
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Micah123
Thanks for the info. Do not think I need timing since the 7.5 is more than enough is my 2WD sct. Our club stock is 17.5 so I run mod. Thinking the sct pro might position me for a future mod buggy, 4X4 Techno, or even a 1/8th Tekno. Do not think I am a stock guy....have got to the point where I feel pretty comfortable handling the power of a mod motor. Can anyone confirm that the lack of boost is what the lack of power is regarding the sct pro. Thanks again all for the help.
Depends on the level of competition there, by me a 7.5 no boost would not be enough.. Its up to you yes the sct pro would 100% the right choice for any 4x4 1/8 scale.

I cant answer if its the lack of boost. Im tempted to strap it in my buggy and try it.
FastPete is offline  
Old 11-18-2013, 02:10 PM
  #4749  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Austria
Posts: 131
Default

Originally Posted by Micah123
Thinking the sct pro might position me for a future mod buggy, 4X4 Techno, or even a 1/8th Tekno.
Maybe the future wants more so in that case better you buy the 150A because you can use 2s, 3s, 4s, 5s and 6s.
yacagree is offline  
Old 11-18-2013, 02:42 PM
  #4750  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (44)
 
FastPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orland Park IL
Posts: 5,311
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Micah123
Thanks for the info. Do not think I need timing since the 7.5 is more than enough is my 2WD sct. Our club stock is 17.5 so I run mod. Thinking the sct pro might position me for a future mod buggy, 4X4 Techno, or even a 1/8th Tekno. Do not think I am a stock guy....have got to the point where I feel pretty comfortable handling the power of a mod motor. Can anyone confirm that the lack of boost is what the lack of power is regarding the sct pro. Thanks again all for the help.
You have pm sir.
FastPete is offline  
Old 11-19-2013, 09:24 AM
  #4751  
Tech Master
 
5th wheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,084
Default

Hello Pete I have a question for you
I was on your website looking at the xerun v3.1 that I have
And down towArds the bottom of the pAge it says that they strongly recommend that you update the firmware to v3.2 so does that mean that this new ESC that I just got already needs hey update Thanks
5th wheel is offline  
Old 11-19-2013, 10:17 AM
  #4752  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by yacagree
Maybe the future wants more so in that case better you buy the 150A because you can use 2s, 3s, 4s, 5s and 6s.
The 150 amp does not play well with 2s...........
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 11-19-2013, 10:19 AM
  #4753  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
lewis110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hallstead, PA
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 5th wheel
Hello Pete I have a question for you
I was on your website looking at the xerun v3.1 that I have
And down towArds the bottom of the pAge it says that they strongly recommend that you update the firmware to v3.2 so does that mean that this new ESC that I just got already needs hey update Thanks
I'd have to look when I get home. But I believe that's just saying to use the V3.2 pc program. Most of my stuff is still the standard V3 not the upgraded V3.1. But I have never switched firmwares. And I haven't had a problem with the one that come installed on it.
lewis110 is offline  
Old 11-19-2013, 10:39 AM
  #4754  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
lewis110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hallstead, PA
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Double post
lewis110 is offline  
Old 11-19-2013, 10:54 AM
  #4755  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (18)
 
hkrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Baldwin Park, CA
Posts: 474
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Sct-pro lipo cutoff problems.

Running a sct-pro/4700kv combo in my TLR scte 2.0 i have the lvc set a 2.6v per cell. The problem is when it hits the cutoff I am only putting 5400mah back in a 7200mah battery. Anyone else have this same problem I am getting ready to dump the sct-pro because of this issue.
hkrob is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.