Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree194Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 11-09-2013, 09:00 AM
  #4636  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Austria
Posts: 131
Default

Originally Posted by Losi57
Do you have the latest software in the sct pro ? Try dl it again. Not for nothing but the sct pro is too large for a 2w buggy.The v2.1 will work fine .Its really tough to troubleshoot without the buggy here.
In picture #3 you can see the software, I think it is the latest one.
I don't think the reason has to do with the buggy because I tried also with my 2nd SCT Pro with the same result and with my friend's Nosram ESC and with this one it has really good power.
I just wonder why it is so weak because hobbywing writes the SCT Pro is also made for 2s and 1/10 buggies.
yacagree is offline  
Old 11-09-2013, 02:04 PM
  #4637  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
pistol78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: wollongong nsw australia
Posts: 334
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

so if I do have a problem with my internal bec, does that mean it's damaged? if I run some non savox servos would I still have the problem?
pistol78 is offline  
Old 11-09-2013, 02:14 PM
  #4638  
Tech Master
iTrader: (243)
 
nitro_mt_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wapakoneta OH
Posts: 1,719
Trader Rating: 243 (100%+)
Default

Maybe & maybe. An external is only $22 so it would be less expensive to just add an external versus buying new servos but if you had something else to experiment with then I would.
nitro_mt_racer is offline  
Old 11-09-2013, 02:23 PM
  #4639  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
pistol78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: wollongong nsw australia
Posts: 334
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

ok, thanks nitro mt racer. i'll order the bec's and see how I go.
pistol78 is offline  
Old 11-09-2013, 02:46 PM
  #4640  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (44)
 
FastPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orland Park IL
Posts: 5,311
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by yacagree
In picture #3 you can see the software, I think it is the latest one.
I don't think the reason has to do with the buggy because I tried also with my 2nd SCT Pro with the same result and with my friend's Nosram ESC and with this one it has really good power.
I just wonder why it is so weak because hobbywing writes the SCT Pro is also made for 2s and 1/10 buggies.
Strange. Should be fine 2 or 4 cell. Sure the ESC took the change to 2 cell? Appears it did. Everything is the same when you switched ESCs? Battery and all. Sensor cable? Makes no sense. Could try to reflash the firmware to. Keep us up on this very interested in getting this straightened out for you!
FastPete is offline  
Old 11-09-2013, 03:11 PM
  #4641  
Tech Master
iTrader: (243)
 
nitro_mt_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wapakoneta OH
Posts: 1,719
Trader Rating: 243 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SC10Cletus
ok, thanks nitro mt racer. i'll order the bec's and see how I go.
You should be able to test the theory by putting your truck on a stand or on the ground and watching the receiver light as you quickly steer lock to lock. It should dim or blink and that's when the system shuts down.
nitro_mt_racer is offline  
Old 11-09-2013, 03:41 PM
  #4642  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Austria
Posts: 131
Default

Originally Posted by FastPete
Strange. Should be fine 2 or 4 cell. Sure the ESC took the change to 2 cell? Appears it did. Everything is the same when you switched ESCs? Battery and all. Sensor cable? Makes no sense. Could try to reflash the firmware to. Keep us up on this very interested in getting this straightened out for you!
Yes except of the ESC everything was the same in my tests.
I just reflashed the firmware back to the older version and then to the newer version and calibrated it again but the weak result is still the same.

Now I'm waiting for a 120A V2.1 and will see if this is the solution.
yacagree is offline  
Old 11-09-2013, 07:24 PM
  #4643  
Tech Master
 
5th wheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,084
Default

Hello new here.
Looking at the xerum v3.1 esc 120A. Will this fit and work in the b4.1 buggy. And not interfere with a savox servo..Also is the xerum a good esc never use a hobby wing before.
Thanks for the help.
5th wheel is offline  
Old 11-09-2013, 10:22 PM
  #4644  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
lewis110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hallstead, PA
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 5th wheel
Hello new here.
Looking at the xerum v3.1 esc 120A. Will this fit and work in the b4.1 buggy. And not interfere with a savox servo..Also is the xerum a good esc never use a hobby wing before.
Thanks for the help.
I run Savox servos in everything I have. And never had a problem with the bec. The V3 series is one of the best speed controls out there. I've ran mine in a 4wd sct without problems. So you should be good to go in the buggy.

Also most of the time the blackouts are caused by a spectrum radio /Savox servo combo. I run Airtronics radio equipment but have never had a problem.

Roger
lewis110 is offline  
Old 11-09-2013, 11:37 PM
  #4645  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (44)
 
FastPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orland Park IL
Posts: 5,311
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 5th wheel
Hello new here.
Looking at the xerum v3.1 esc 120A. Will this fit and work in the b4.1 buggy. And not interfere with a savox servo..Also is the xerum a good esc never use a hobby wing before.
Thanks for the help.
I agree with Roger, and welcome! You have PM.
FastPete is offline  
Old 11-10-2013, 08:20 AM
  #4646  
Tech Master
 
5th wheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,084
Default

Originally Posted by lewis110
I run Savox servos in everything I have. And never had a problem with the bec. The V3 series is one of the best speed controls out there. I've ran mine in a 4wd sct without problems. So you should be good to go in the buggy.

Also most of the time the blackouts are caused by a spectrum radio /Savox servo combo. I run Airtronics radio equipment but have never had a problem.

Roger
thanks for the info grate help.... jerry
5th wheel is offline  
Old 11-10-2013, 08:37 AM
  #4647  
Tech Master
 
5th wheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,084
Default new here

Originally Posted by FastPete
I agree with Roger, and welcome! You have PM.
got your PM thanks look at your site very nice and like on FB.
right now i am useing Novak edge esc and Novak 17.5 motor. looking to move up into something better Novak i like it but to me it just dont have the power my edge esc i think is a little weak ?? i am new to off-road the Novak stuff was ok for TC VTA 25.5 and so on..I am runing on a high bite indoor track.large track 70ft wide and 120ft long with a b4.1 but its now a b4.2 lol.
my driving is ok so so i guss.i am doing about .28sec laps and .25 .24.5 laps every one in a while lol ..gearing is 36-t pinion and 69-t spur motor temp is never over 120 to 125...i guss the V3.1 will fit in the side tray in the b4.1.
thank everbody for the help and info..i will shop around for a esc.still going to use my Novak motor till it blowes dont have a lot of cash to get to much new stuff.........jerry hers a pic of our track at space coast rc in cocoa fla..
Attached Thumbnails HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD-new-track-lay-out.jpg  
5th wheel is offline  
Old 11-10-2013, 08:50 AM
  #4648  
Tech Master
 
5th wheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,084
Default new here

Originally Posted by FastPete
I agree with Roger, and welcome! You have PM.
got your PM thanks look at your site very nice and like on FB.
right now i am useing Novak edge esc and Novak 17.5 motor. looking to move up into something better Novak i like it but to me it just dont have the power my edge esc i think is a little weak ?? i am new to off-road the Novak stuff was ok for TC VTA 25.5 and so on..I am runing on a high bite indoor track.large track 70ft wide and 120ft long with a b4.1 but its now a b4.2 lol.
my driving is ok so so i guss.i am doing about .28sec laps and .25 .24.5 laps every one in a while lol ..gearing is 36-t pinion and 69-t spur motor temp is never over 120 to 125...i guss the V3.1 will fit in the side tray in the b4.1.
thank everbody for the help and info..i will shop around for a esc.still going to use my Novak motor till it blowes dont have a lot of cash to get to much new stuff.........jerry hers a pic of our track at space coast rc in cocoa fla..
5th wheel is offline  
Old 11-10-2013, 08:52 AM
  #4649  
Tech Master
 
5th wheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,084
Default track

scrs in cocoa
Attached Thumbnails HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD-new-track-lay-out.jpg  
5th wheel is offline  
Old 11-10-2013, 09:24 AM
  #4650  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (146)
 
RC*PHREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,385
Trader Rating: 146 (100%+)
Default

well i finally had an issue with one of the 10+ hobbywing esc's that i've owned. in the middle of a race, it cut down to about 2/3 throttle. when i pulled it off the track, i had no throttle. blinking light suggested a radio signal issue. swapped receivers, same issue. i dealt with sam at falconsekido and my replacement esc is on the way. should be here tuesday. if not for the holiday, that would be 8 days from the day it failed (and 7 days since i contacted sam).

thanks for the outstanding customer service hobbywing and sam (and EJ at builtrc for referring me to him).
RC*PHREAK is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.