Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree83Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Reply

Old 07-27-2011, 03:35 PM
  #31  
Tech Master
iTrader: (83)
 
pavmentsurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,496
Trader Rating: 83 (100%+)
Default

Im looking to power a Castle 3800 4 pole motor and wondering if I can get away with the 80 amp XErun ESC (blue case) or do I need the 150amp? Ive never measured an ESC by the amps it can handle, I have always purchased motor/ESC combos based on manufacture specs. Not sure what kind of amps id need to run this motor. Id also like to be able to power the 2400KV castle motor with it once and a while.

Any help here would be great.
pavmentsurfer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 04:00 PM
  #32  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
proraptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 399
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Im running a 4 pole 3800kv castle on my 60 amp EZrun esc and it works awesome....These ESC's are under-rated IMO
proraptor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 04:49 PM
  #33  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
SuperEk4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 10,333
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by pavmentsurfer View Post
Im looking to power a Castle 3800 4 pole motor and wondering if I can get away with the 80 amp XErun ESC (blue case) or do I need the 150amp? Ive never measured an ESC by the amps it can handle, I have always purchased motor/ESC combos based on manufacture specs. Not sure what kind of amps id need to run this motor. Id also like to be able to power the 2400KV castle motor with it once and a while.

Any help here would be great.
Yes u can, no problem at all.
SuperEk4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 05:39 PM
  #34  
Tech Master
iTrader: (83)
 
pavmentsurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,496
Trader Rating: 83 (100%+)
Default

Awesome... thanks guys. I cant imagine what youd need the 150 amp ESC for then... maybe a 1/5 conversion or something?
pavmentsurfer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 06:09 PM
  #35  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
SuperEk4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 10,333
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by pavmentsurfer View Post
Awesome... thanks guys. I cant imagine what youd need the 150 amp ESC for then... maybe a 1/5 conversion or something?
1/8 to 1/5
SuperEk4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 01:27 AM
  #36  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
gogi108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: brisbane
Posts: 607
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

hi recently got a 10.5 xerun combo that has black 60a esc , when setting throttle trim pressing the button on the switch the thing just beeps and flashes red light . in the manual it says this is a voltage issue . i ran the car anyway and it ran fine but is hard to engage reverse . has anyone had this happen or know what i'm doing wrong . thanks
gogi108 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 04:08 AM
  #37  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: St. Louis, MO.
Posts: 4
Default

I am have my 60A cutout while running my car. Motor will stop, ESC LED will flash green after a few moments, it will run again. Even if the battery is freshly charged. The ESC and the motor are not getting hot. Any ideas?
rahzip is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 08:01 AM
  #38  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
SuperEk4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 10,333
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gogi108 View Post
hi recently got a 10.5 xerun combo that has black 60a esc , when setting throttle trim pressing the button on the switch the thing just beeps and flashes red light . in the manual it says this is a voltage issue . i ran the car anyway and it ran fine but is hard to engage reverse . has anyone had this happen or know what i'm doing wrong . thanks
The reverse is abit slower, try adjusting the trim
SuperEk4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 08:02 AM
  #39  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
SuperEk4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 10,333
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rahzip View Post
I am have my 60A cutout while running my car. Motor will stop, ESC LED will flash green after a few moments, it will run again. Even if the battery is freshly charged. The ESC and the motor are not getting hot. Any ideas?
What batts are u running n wat LVC are u at?
SuperEk4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 02:21 PM
  #40  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (33)
 
mfcplflo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 254
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default HobbyWing 1/8 Scale C-Xerun 80A Brushless ESC on 2s

Any one run the HobbyWing 1/8 Scale C-Xerun 80A Brushless ESC (blue case) on 2s? i am looking to run one in a Losi SCTE powered by a 2s lipo, motor will be a trinity 550 sc motor 4.5turn.
mfcplflo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 03:49 PM
  #41  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
SuperEk4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 10,333
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mfcplflo View Post
Any one run the HobbyWing 1/8 Scale C-Xerun 80A Brushless ESC (blue case) on 2s? i am looking to run one in a Losi SCTE powered by a 2s lipo, motor will be a trinity 550 sc motor 4.5turn.
Yes you can, but i will suggest 120amp xerun for 1/10 is better. Smaller, lighter n meant for 1/10 cars.
SuperEk4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 05:46 PM
  #42  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: St. Louis, MO.
Posts: 4
Default

What batts are u running n wat LVC are u at?
11.1V 4000MaH & 4400Mah Low Voltage Cutout 3.2V. I have used different brands.
rahzip is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 06:23 PM
  #43  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
SuperEk4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 10,333
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rahzip View Post
11.1V 4000MaH & 4400Mah Low Voltage Cutout 3.2V. I have used different brands.
I think 3s is too much for the esc, check the temp can't be over 80 degree. Try 2s
SuperEk4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 05:37 AM
  #44  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
gogi108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: brisbane
Posts: 607
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SuperEk4 View Post
The reverse is abit slower, try adjusting the trim
thanks mate , i got it sorted . i have 10.5 xerun and am a bit worried about dirt ect getting in and killing it . should i be worried ? what are peoples experience with this ? cheers
gogi108 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 06:07 AM
  #45  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
SuperEk4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 10,333
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gogi108 View Post
thanks mate , i got it sorted . i have 10.5 xerun and am a bit worried about dirt ect getting in and killing it . should i be worried ? what are peoples experience with this ? cheers
No it's fine just don't wet it too much, u may jam the bearing.

Just clean it after use.
SuperEk4 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service