Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree193Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 08-20-2013, 06:43 PM
  #4051  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Biggest Little City in the World
Posts: 374
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

i use to run the spec nano techs too until i borrowed a SMC battery. SMC has a race formula 6500mah 70c battery that works really good on the high amp HW ESC's. I can run a 8 min main np on there batteries and have plenty of power to the end of the race. For a battery under $50 its well worth it.
NvDesertRat96 is offline  
Old 08-20-2013, 06:45 PM
  #4052  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
fq06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,646
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

+1
SMC over Hobbyking all day long. Better quality and support along with comparable pricing.
fq06 is offline  
Old 08-21-2013, 01:08 AM
  #4053  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (58)
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 620
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by redtags
I'm running 2x 2s nanotech 6600 mah on my 150a xerun. Recently 1 of it gave up. I plan to buy a new a spec nanotech but biggest capacity is only 6200 mah with same 65-130c rate.

So it will be 6600 and 6200 mah with same discharge rate. Is it ok to run with different batt cap like that, other than faster volt drain on smaller cap lipo ? I plan to change to all a spec once my old batt died.
NO or you will kill your new battery. The batteries need to be the same amperage or as soon as you plug them in the 6600 will try to balance out with the 6200 and the 6200 can become over charged and damaged or ruined even though it's not a huge difference between the two. If you don't ruin the 6200 right away it will more than likely have a very short lifespan.

Hobbyking still makes the 6600 nano-tech, it's just not the new a-spec line. So I guess choose what battery you want to run and get them in sets of 2.
Prostreet314 is offline  
Old 08-21-2013, 08:58 AM
  #4054  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 49
Default

Originally Posted by Prostreet314
NO or you will kill your new battery. The batteries need to be the same amperage or as soon as you plug them in the 6600 will try to balance out with the 6200 and the 6200 can become over charged and damaged or ruined even though it's not a huge difference between the two. If you don't ruin the 6200 right away it will more than likely have a very short lifespan.

Hobbyking still makes the 6600 nano-tech, it's just not the new a-spec line. So I guess choose what battery you want to run and get them in sets of 2.
Thanks a lot for the response and explanation man. I really appreciate it.
Glad I ask here first, otherwise I will ruin my new batt immediately.
redtags is offline  
Old 08-21-2013, 09:27 AM
  #4055  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
snwchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 1,776
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Just curious if I can use a HW150A ESC in a 4x4 SC on 2s??
I have one as a backup and was looking to hook it up and try out.
snwchris is offline  
Old 08-21-2013, 09:44 AM
  #4056  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (19)
 
Rockthecatbox21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Texas panhandle
Posts: 2,794
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by snwchris
Just curious if I can use a HW150A ESC in a 4x4 SC on 2s??
I have one as a backup and was looking to hook it up and try out.
I'd strongly recommend against it. The bec in the xerun 150 hates 2s packs and will glitch really badly. It really was designed for 3s-6s. I tried running one in an scte last year and it just didn't like it.
Rockthecatbox21 is offline  
Old 08-21-2013, 09:50 AM
  #4057  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
snwchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 1,776
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

OK, thanks for the heads up...
I was just looking to get by until I can order a new SCTPro next week.
snwchris is offline  
Old 08-21-2013, 01:04 PM
  #4058  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
babydaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 376
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by snwchris
Just curious if I can use a HW150A ESC in a 4x4 SC on 2s??
I have one as a backup and was looking to hook it up and try out.
You sure can run it on 2s. Just run an external BEC and it will be glitch free. I see people do it all the time. Castle makes an external BEC for about 20 dollars
babydaddy is offline  
Old 08-21-2013, 02:36 PM
  #4059  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by babydaddy
You sure can run it on 2s. Just run an external BEC and it will be glitch free. I see people do it all the time. Castle makes an external BEC for about 20 dollars
Hobby Wing makes one also..............
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 08-21-2013, 06:12 PM
  #4060  
Tech Elite
 
rcboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 3,703
Default

Originally Posted by babydaddy
You sure can run it on 2s. Just run an external BEC and it will be glitch free. I see people do it all the time. Castle makes an external BEC for about 20 dollars
Originally Posted by Slotmachine
Hobby Wing makes one also..............
rcboy1 is offline  
Old 08-21-2013, 08:53 PM
  #4061  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,589
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Slotmachine
Hobby Wing makes one also..............
Unless it is one I have not seen, the HW blows compared to the Castle one. Lower amp output and you can not adjust the voltage to a nice 7v or more like you can with the Castle.
kcobra is offline  
Old 08-21-2013, 08:57 PM
  #4062  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,589
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Prostreet314
NO or you will kill your new battery. The batteries need to be the same amperage or as soon as you plug them in the 6600 will try to balance out with the 6200 and the 6200 can become over charged and damaged or ruined even though it's not a huge difference between the two. If you don't ruin the 6200 right away it will more than likely have a very short lifespan.

Hobbyking still makes the 6600 nano-tech, it's just not the new a-spec line. So I guess choose what battery you want to run and get them in sets of 2.
You are correct that the 6200 will most likely be over discharged, assuming he is running them in series (most likely). You are wrong on the "balancing" comment though. The only way the two packs would try to "balance" themselves together is if he was running them in parallel. If that was the case then they would be fine to run together.
kcobra is offline  
Old 08-21-2013, 08:59 PM
  #4063  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 45
Default

slight issue with SC8 ESC tonight i went through two fans any ideas what could possible cause this
Boostedss is offline  
Old 08-23-2013, 12:37 AM
  #4064  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 23
Default

Hi, I'm having a problem with my ESC, it burnt one motor last weekend and I'm afraid of repeating the disaster this weekend if I continue using the ESC...

The problem is that when the motor is not attached to the transmission all works fine, but when I attach it to the car and throttling, the motor seems to be cogging, and the car can finally go forward but the speed is very low and the motor gets very hot extremely quick, so I must stop the car. If I block the slipper clutch by hand it produces the same effect, the motor gets very hot and if I hit full throttle the ESC fan becomes OFF and when I release the trigger it starts to spinning again.

I'm using a Xerun v2.1 120A with a LRP X12 13.5T with sensor cable, STOCK firmware and 0 timming/turbo.

Regards.
BeLiPoWa is offline  
Old 08-23-2013, 01:44 AM
  #4065  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
lewis110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hallstead, PA
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BeLiPoWa
Hi, I'm having a problem with my ESC, it burnt one motor last weekend and I'm afraid of repeating the disaster this weekend if I continue using the ESC...

The problem is that when the motor is not attached to the transmission all works fine, but when I attach it to the car and throttling, the motor seems to be cogging, and the car can finally go forward but the speed is very low and the motor gets very hot extremely quick, so I must stop the car. If I block the slipper clutch by hand it produces the same effect, the motor gets very hot and if I hit full throttle the ESC fan becomes OFF and when I release the trigger it starts to spinning again.

I'm using a Xerun v2.1 120A with a LRP X12 13.5T with sensor cable, STOCK firmware and 0 timming/turbo.

Regards.
So if I'm understanding correctly the motors fine out of the car. Doesn't heat up, but as soon as its installed it doesn't work? Do the car move freely? No bad bearings causing a bind anywhere? Also make sure your mounting screws aren't to long and causing a short inside the motor itself. Was this a new motor combo? Or is it something new that just started happening.
lewis110 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.