Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree198Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 07-31-2013, 07:34 PM
  #3826  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (43)
 
seth556's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,233
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Captcha
Looking to get a hobbywing esc for my 2wd buggy, Going to be running stock class, but want an esc that could handle me moving up to mod. I run a Tekin RS pro now, so am looking for the equivalant.

Thank you in advance, also where in the USA can I purchase one?
Get the v3.1 if you want all the fancy adjustments that make you car feel amazing. Get the v2.1 if you want to spend a lot less, have a speed control better than what you have not, and not have too many adjustments to mess up. The v2.1 can still feel great in a buggy, just the v3.1 has more stuff and almost double the price.
seth556 is offline  
Old 07-31-2013, 09:52 PM
  #3827  
Tech Elite
 
rcboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 3,703
Default

Originally Posted by seth556
Get the v3.1 if you want all the fancy adjustments that make you car feel amazing. Get the v2.1 if you want to spend a lot less, have a speed control better than what you have not, and not have too many adjustments to mess up. The v2.1 can still feel great in a buggy, just the v3.1 has more stuff and almost double the price.
+1. Pretty much exactly as i would put it. If you would consider yourself a 'hardcore racer' then the v3.1 is definatley for you. if you dont have the cash or can handle not having all the awesome adjustments go for the v2.
rcboy1 is offline  
Old 08-01-2013, 07:40 AM
  #3828  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (6)
 
ICEBERG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posts: 151
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys,

Little problem with my 120a hobbywing pro sct with 2250kv motor... After 5 or 6 min of run time the esc had intermediate shut offs. I would press the trigger and the rc8.2 wouldn't go and then it would take off gain. Checked all the wires and the sensor Cable, everything is good. Running a Reedy 5500mah lipo with 16t pinion. The servo is a Futaba s9351. Temps were around 160. Never had this problem before, the esc and the motor been great.

Any ideas what coul be causing the shut off?

I am going to get a 14t pinion and take the program timing to 0. Hope this will help..

Also the timing is at setting 5 on the controller. Putting at 1 makes the timing 0. I am right?

Thanks,
ICEBERG is offline  
Old 08-01-2013, 08:17 AM
  #3829  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 223
Default

I noticed that both of my sct pros had loose sensor wires. The first one acted like urs and then smoked on me, the second I checked closely and found that if I used a small screwdriver I could actually push the sensor wire conector further into the esc and wigled it back and forth til it "snapped" into place. Now it is good and tight and no issues at all. Hope this helps
mikeinsocal is offline  
Old 08-01-2013, 08:33 AM
  #3830  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (6)
 
ICEBERG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posts: 151
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mikeinsocal
I noticed that both of my sct pros had loose sensor wires. The first one acted like urs and then smoked on me, the second I checked closely and found that if I used a small screwdriver I could actually push the sensor wire conector further into the esc and wigled it back and forth til it "snapped" into place. Now it is good and tight and no issues at all. Hope this helps
Thanks.. I thought the sensor wire was good but will try your suggestion. I hope the sensor plug on the ESC is good? Thanks.
ICEBERG is offline  
Old 08-01-2013, 11:28 AM
  #3831  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (89)
 
Motorman007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,420
Trader Rating: 89 (100%+)
Default

ITs been a min. on getting ecs and motors

This will be for a buggy will the 1800kv be enough In my truck I ran the neu motor the 2200KV

I think the Mbx7 Eco will be out soon so i'm starting the buying the stuff now.
Motorman007 is offline  
Old 08-01-2013, 11:50 AM
  #3832  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ICEBERG
Hey guys,

Little problem with my 120a hobbywing pro sct with 2250kv motor... After 5 or 6 min of run time the esc had intermediate shut offs. I would press the trigger and the rc8.2 wouldn't go and then it would take off gain. Checked all the wires and the sensor Cable, everything is good. Running a Reedy 5500mah lipo with 16t pinion. The servo is a Futaba s9351. Temps were around 160. Never had this problem before, the esc and the motor been great.

Any ideas what coul be causing the shut off?

I am going to get a 14t pinion and take the program timing to 0. Hope this will help..

Also the timing is at setting 5 on the controller. Putting at 1 makes the timing 0. I am right?

Thanks,
Try setting your lvc to 3.2 per cell...........
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 08-01-2013, 12:00 PM
  #3833  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (19)
 
Rockthecatbox21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Texas panhandle
Posts: 2,794
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Rockthecatbox21
Any idea what would have caused this? I run an sct410 hobbywing 4000Kv 4 pole, geared 18t pinion, savox 1258tg, and smc race formula packs. All direct wired or with 4mm solid bullets. All MY solder joints were good (factory ones were the ones that came unsoldered).
My esc went up in smoke and i'd rather not repeat it again. Can someone tell me what to do to prevent this from happening with my replacement? I really hope my sct-pro was a dud.
Rockthecatbox21 is offline  
Old 08-03-2013, 12:19 AM
  #3834  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
jrz93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: jersey
Posts: 2,910
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

How do u take part the 4 pole 3656 sc motor? Blew a bearing, loose diff caused it .
Removed screw and case doesn't come apart?
jrz93 is offline  
Old 08-03-2013, 02:06 AM
  #3835  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
lewis110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hallstead, PA
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jrz93
How do u take part the 4 pole 3656 sc motor? Blew a bearing, loose diff caused it .
Removed screw and case doesn't come apart?
There's 3 screws on the pinion side. And 3 on the sensor board side. You will probably have to give a tug on the pinion shaft to get them apart.
lewis110 is offline  
Old 08-03-2013, 08:22 AM
  #3836  
Tech Elite
 
rcboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 3,703
Default

Originally Posted by Rockthecatbox21
My esc went up in smoke and i'd rather not repeat it again. Can someone tell me what to do to prevent this from happening with my replacement? I really hope my sct-pro was a dud.
what were your temps? were you running sensored?
rcboy1 is offline  
Old 08-03-2013, 08:32 AM
  #3837  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
jrz93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: jersey
Posts: 2,910
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lewis110
There's 3 screws on the pinion side. And 3 on the sensor board side. You will probably have to give a tug on the pinion shaft to get them apart.
Little tug? Figured it out..goes out from sensor side

What size is bearing?

Last edited by jrz93; 08-03-2013 at 08:47 AM.
jrz93 is offline  
Old 08-03-2013, 09:00 AM
  #3838  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 608
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lewis110
For the justock you want to use the newest 508 firmware on the V3.2 software. I believe the name is 508_No_Timing you will want to use the same firmware in the 60 amp for blinky mode. The brakes are a lot better then previous pc programs. For boosted the newest firmware is 930stock.
Hi, I have just purchased the Justock ESC and would like to update the firmware, I heard the ESC is quite good when updated. I never have updated any HW ESC firmware, so im a novice to this.

Could anyone tell me if the V3.3 software will work since I can not find the V3.2. I noticed that the Justock was listed under the compatability "EZRUN Series Car ESC (Version 2.0 and later)"?
So I assume it is compatibale with V3.3...

Where can I find the "508_No_Timing" firmware?

Finally I have the 2in1 Professional Program Box and not the Multifunction LCD program card. So please keep this in mind.


I guess my questions are:
After I download the V3.3 software how do I get it onto the Program Box and onto the ESC and where do I get the 508 firmware and is it the most current and best for the Justock?
Arsenal2012 is offline  
Old 08-03-2013, 09:12 AM
  #3839  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 34
Default

I have a Sct pro from Falcon that I bought the middle of May. The green light blinks constantly when it is turned on. It seems to run fine but the green light is always blinking. About 10 battery packs thru it with the light on. I thought the light meant temp too high? Motor is the 3656sd 4000 kv.
sls7474 is offline  
Old 08-03-2013, 09:42 AM
  #3840  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 608
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Arsenal2012
Hi, I have just purchased the Justock ESC and would like to update the firmware, I heard the ESC is quite good when updated. I never have updated any HW ESC firmware, so im a novice to this.

Could anyone tell me if the V3.3 software will work since I can not find the V3.2. I noticed that the Justock was listed under the compatability "EZRUN Series Car ESC (Version 2.0 and later)"?
So I assume it is compatibale with V3.3...

Where can I find the "508_No_Timing" firmware?

Finally I have the 2in1 Professional Program Box and not the Multifunction LCD program card. So please keep this in mind.


I guess my questions are:
After I download the V3.3 software how do I get it onto the Program Box and onto the ESC and where do I get the 508 firmware and is it the most current and best for the Justock?


I downloaded the V3.3 software and then updated my program card to this...
What does this do, is it even a upgrade?







Is this correct so far?
Where do I get the 508 firmware for the Justock Clubspec ESC. Is this the best firmware for this ESC?
How do I get the firmware on the ESC?
Arsenal2012 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.