Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree194Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 06-13-2013, 08:42 AM
  #3301  
Tech Master
iTrader: (25)
 
spookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,944
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cain
thanks for the info. was looking at this BEC from hobbywing:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/150843383515...84.m1438.l2649
Nice, that should be plenty of power for dual servos. Plus that shows up to 10S I assume?
spookie is offline  
Old 06-13-2013, 08:51 AM
  #3302  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (294)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 34,393
Trader Rating: 294 (100%+)
Default

yup. I was going to try my setup first then order, but, maybe I'll just order it since its not exactly putting me on the bread line lol

was debating this or the castle blue one. any opinions on either? I like the fact you can adjust the voltage on the castle one, but I am thinking maybe the one I listed is more robust.
Cain is offline  
Old 06-13-2013, 08:53 AM
  #3303  
Tech Master
iTrader: (25)
 
spookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,944
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Nice lol. In the end it's well worth it lol. Here's one from yesterday. It's my wallpaper now.
Eta, I'm not sure on the Castle, haven't heard anything for or against so far.

spookie is offline  
Old 06-13-2013, 09:18 AM
  #3304  
Tech Master
iTrader: (33)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,486
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

The castle works well, adjustable per .1v, supports 6s, but requires their programmer to do anything other than stock (6a I believe). There also isn't an off/on switch, so dependent on how you wire it up, the system may never turn off unless you do something special or unplug your battery.

I have no doubts the hobbywing works well also, but make sure you get the right model for the number of cells you run. Some support up to 10s, some only 3. Unfortunately I am not seeing anywhere where they are programmable other than minor adjustments from ~5 to 6v. Hopefully they have something new in process to support all the higher voltage servo's available today. Even if it isn't adjustable via software per say, a switch for 6.0v to 7.4v instead would be great.
RokleM is offline  
Old 06-13-2013, 09:24 AM
  #3305  
Tech Master
iTrader: (33)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,486
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by spookie
Nice lol. In the end it's well worth it lol. Here's one from yesterday. It's my wallpaper now.
Eta, I'm not sure on the Castle, haven't heard anything for or against so far.

I'm waiting on some good 6s lower kv motors and I'll be switching this one to hobbywing Prototype we have geared way down and suspension limited so it doesn't pull wheelies like crazy. Geared to only hit ~50 on the straight

(my junk test body)


RokleM is offline  
Old 06-13-2013, 09:25 AM
  #3306  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (294)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 34,393
Trader Rating: 294 (100%+)
Default

thanks for the heads up. I decided to give the hobbywing one a try, the HV one.

For my needs, 6V is sufficient, just need to power 2 servos, hitec 7955TG for a 1/5 scale savage conversion I have.

By the way, is there any failsafe feature in the bec, such that if it fails, it does not send all the voltage to the servos?

I have heard the castle one if it fails can send all the voltage to the servos, smoking them.
Cain is offline  
Old 06-13-2013, 09:29 AM
  #3307  
Tech Master
iTrader: (33)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,486
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cain
thanks for the heads up. I decided to give the hobbywing one a try, the HV one.

For my needs, 6V is sufficient, just need to power 2 servos, hitec 7955TG for a 1/5 scale savage conversion I have.
You can crank those too, FYI. I'm running 8.0v on mine in the vehicle above. Specs are hard to determine since they don't advertise it, but hypothetically it would be around 450oz, .07 - .10 sec.

Let us know how that hobbywing BEC works, I might want to pick up a couple of them.
RokleM is offline  
Old 06-13-2013, 09:36 AM
  #3308  
Tech Master
iTrader: (25)
 
spookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,944
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Haha, very cool RokleM. The funny thing is, it's hard at pretty much any speed to not pull wheelies, and it's geared more for speed at this point 20/66, haven't clocked it yet, but calculates out to 48mph. I don't have enough room to really open it up, but at 30mph it starts trying to creep up into a wheelie and anything other than a medium acceleration lol, with the punch at 3. I'm super pleased with this setup for sure, even with the glitching.

@ Cain, I wondered if you were building a 1/5th. You have to let me know when you shoot some vid, I would love to see that setup on a 1/5th. Haha, for sure crazy. Ok, I'll shut up now lol.
spookie is offline  
Old 06-13-2013, 09:42 AM
  #3309  
Tech Master
iTrader: (33)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,486
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by spookie
Haha, very cool RokleM. The funny thing is, it's hard at pretty much any speed to not pull wheelies, and it's geared more for speed at this point 20/66, haven't clocked it yet, but calculates out to 48mph. I don't have enough room to really open it up, but at 30mph it starts trying to creep up into a wheelie and anything other than a medium acceleration lol, with the punch at 3. I'm super pleased with this setup for sure, even with the glitching.
Yeah, the red straps on the arms/tower are limiters on this setup.
RokleM is offline  
Old 06-13-2013, 09:56 AM
  #3310  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (294)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 34,393
Trader Rating: 294 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by spookie
@ Cain, I wondered if you were building a 1/5th. You have to let me know when you shoot some vid, I would love to see that setup on a 1/5th. Haha, for sure crazy. Ok, I'll shut up now lol.
Will do, may not be the best in the world with the camera I got but I do have some pics of what I am going to use it in.
Cain is offline  
Old 06-13-2013, 05:01 PM
  #3311  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Here are my setting for a 4000kv motor with theV-3 in my Tekno SCT410
1st punch rate 8
2nd punch rate 20
boost timing 15
boost timing start rpm 20,000
boost timing end rpm 60,000
turbo timing 12deg
full throttle delay 0.2
turbo timing start rpm 26,000

The wheels on my truck look like pizza cutters going down the straight and keeps up with 8th scale buggies. These settings are going to push your batteries to the limit...

Paul Rush
HWNA
Team Driver
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 06-13-2013, 05:22 PM
  #3312  
Tech Master
iTrader: (93)
 
DriveItLikeYSIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,337
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Slotmachine
Here are my setting for a 4000kv motor with theV-3 in my Tekno SCT410
1st punch rate 8
2nd punch rate 20
boost timing 15
boost timing start rpm 20,000
boost timing end rpm 60,000
turbo timing 12deg
full throttle delay 0.2
turbo timing start rpm 26,000

The wheels on my truck look like pizza cutters going down the straight and keeps up with 8th scale buggies. These settings are going to push your batteries to the limit...

Paul Rush
HWNA
Team Driver
what pinion gear are you using?
DriveItLikeYSIT is offline  
Old 06-13-2013, 06:19 PM
  #3313  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by DriveItLikeYSIT
what pinion gear are you using?
I`m using a 15 pinion on a 150 foot straight, lap times are 35 seconds on average.
Paul
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 06-13-2013, 07:40 PM
  #3314  
Tech Master
iTrader: (93)
 
DriveItLikeYSIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,337
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Arrow

Originally Posted by Slotmachine
I`m using a 15 pinion on a 150 foot straight, lap times are 35 seconds on average.
Paul
I wonder if I'm overgeared? I have a HW Sct Pro v2 with 4700kv motor & 70c, 7200mah packs ..I'm using a 15t pinion with punch of 3 & little to no timing. I usually race at small to medium size indoor track with a 50ft straight & 14 to 15 second lap times..

http://youtu.be/_B2flip3IGc

I was using a 14t pinion with 15 degrees on timing but couldn't consistently clear the back table top.
DriveItLikeYSIT is offline  
Old 06-13-2013, 08:55 PM
  #3315  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (146)
 
RC*PHREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,385
Trader Rating: 146 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Slotmachine
Here are my setting for a 4000kv motor with theV-3 in my Tekno SCT410
1st punch rate 8
2nd punch rate 20
boost timing 15
boost timing start rpm 20,000
boost timing end rpm 60,000
turbo timing 12deg
full throttle delay 0.2
turbo timing start rpm 26,000

The wheels on my truck look like pizza cutters going down the straight and keeps up with 8th scale buggies. These settings are going to push your batteries to the limit...

Paul Rush
HWNA
Team Driver
i'm using a 16T pinion and the following settings:

1st punch rate 5
2nd punch rate 5
boost timing 10
boost timing start rpm 12,000
boost timing end rpm 40,000
turbo timing 5deg
full throttle delay 0.0
turbo timing start: full throttle

that's on a big track. if i'm running on a smaller outdoor i'll bump the boost up to 15 with 0 turbo. when i run on our small indoor track i don't run any boost or turbo.
RC*PHREAK is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.