Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree83Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Reply

Old 04-29-2011, 02:02 AM
  #16  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (85)
 
RCaddict0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: West Virgina
Posts: 3,526
Trader Rating: 85 (99%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kaiser View Post
i love's me some hobbywing.

about 2 years ago i tried an ezrun system, i loved it and have since put a hobbywing xerun esc in everything i race.

i have a 150amp / 2250kv sensored combo on the way.

can i use the lcd card and usb cable that comes with that to update the firmware on my 60amp 1/10 xerun esc's ?
The LED card can be used with all there ESC's. Ive used mine with the 1/18 scales, 60A EZ series and XE.
I just got the PC compatable prog. box the other day. Great investment. Adjustments can be made like the LED card or you can fine tune the ESC and update your firmware with your computer.
RCaddict0 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 03:12 AM
  #17  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (13)
 
mc4798's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 971
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Driver86 View Post
Any way I can get an SC8 ESC without waiting a month on it Hong Kong? In fact it seems it's that way ith all the 1/8 ESCs. It's plenty long enough after Chinese New Year for stock to be replenished.
Driver86 : Pm sent
mc4798 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 03:27 AM
  #18  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (13)
 
mc4798's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 971
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mjremote View Post
hi there, new to the whole brushless motor lipo battery scene.

My question is this I just got a ezrun 8.5 combo to put in a sc10. from what I saw around for a similar kv motor I geared it at 21/87. well I took it out for the first time today at my local track. running a 500mah lipo I got nearly a full 30 minute run time and the motor only got warm to the touch (it was cool out in the mid fifties) and although it was about as quick as what I expect for about a 12-13 turn brushed motor I kinda had expectations of more given what I have seen and heard on the net.

from what I observed I got the feeling I could up at least a couple teeth on the pinion or down some on the spur or a little of both even maybe as high 23/84 or so. does that sound good??

You have room to gear up if you like.

Where are your timing and punch settings at ?
mc4798 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 11:22 AM
  #19  
Tech Initiate
 
Brutus 46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 23
Default

Gday Ang, would the xerun 60a 10.5t combo handle 3s (20/88) bashing in a Blitz ese or would I be better off get the 120a? Thanks mate
Brutus 46 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 11:29 AM
  #20  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (42)
 
aloksatoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: N California
Posts: 3,099
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default new motors

The new smooth 1/8 scales sensored motors are a lot thinner than the older finned ones. Are the new hobbywings slotless sensorled?
aloksatoor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 05:25 AM
  #21  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 328
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

just wondering how safe it would be to run the 60a ezrun sensorless in a 2 wd and 4wd buggy without fans? mainly wondering as they are about 5mm to high for the bodies with the fan on and have seen people say they are safe to run fanless, but just want to confirm.

any help would be great
kryne76 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 05:29 AM
  #22  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
SuperEk4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 10,333
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kryne76 View Post
just wondering how safe it would be to run the 60a ezrun sensorless in a 2 wd and 4wd buggy without fans? mainly wondering as they are about 5mm to high for the bodies with the fan on and have seen people say they are safe to run fanless, but just want to confirm.

any help would be great
Better with fan, if no fan measure the temp after 3,5 n 10mins.

Also depends on your ambient temp
SuperEk4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 05:33 AM
  #23  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (85)
 
RCaddict0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: West Virgina
Posts: 3,526
Trader Rating: 85 (99%+)
Default

Tech Support! For Hobbywing! I couldnt imagine what you would need tech suppot for! Hobbywing products have been the most reliable products Ive ever used since going brushless.
RCaddict0 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 06:02 AM
  #24  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (39)
 
ibmenace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 868
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Before i start tuning i was wondering if anyone is running a associated ft t4 with a ezrun 60a and 9t/4300kv motor? Looking for gearing.
ibmenace is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 06:03 AM
  #25  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: new milford ct
Posts: 1,688
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RCaddict0 View Post
Tech Support! For Hobbywing! I couldnt imagine what you would need tech suppot for! Hobbywing products have been the most reliable products Ive ever used since going brushless.
SAME HERE, until i had a brand new 150amp /2250 kv xerun motor/esc combo die in the the first 40 minutes of use. (geared correctly) the sensor bolts fell out and the sensor and the bolts dropped into the motor, also taking out the esc.

there is zero customer support. none of my emails are getting answered and it's been almost 3 weeks now.
kaiser is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 04:15 AM
  #26  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (85)
 
RCaddict0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: West Virgina
Posts: 3,526
Trader Rating: 85 (99%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kaiser View Post
SAME HERE, until i had a brand new 150amp /2250 kv xerun motor/esc combo die in the the first 40 minutes of use. (geared correctly) the sensor bolts fell out and the sensor and the bolts dropped into the motor, also taking out the esc.

there is zero customer support. none of my emails are getting answered and it's been almost 3 weeks now.
Thats BS! They cant reply in 3 weeks! Maybe you should shoot them another. I emailed them once and they responded like 2 days later. Maybe call them. I know its international, but a $5 phone calls worth gettin you system fixed.

Before i start tuning i was wondering if anyone is running a associated ft t4 with a ezrun 60a and 9t/4300kv motor? Looking for gearing.

I would try 18t-19t pinions. That motors decent for a 2wd, but I would look into gettin a true 540 can. The finned cans will tear it up, but a 3650 can will provide loads more power and speed. And will run cooler. You can save yourself a few bucks and Buy Tacon over EZrun. I ran a 60A EZ with a 3650 Tacon 3930kv for the longest time. Its insanely fast. Blow the doors off a VXL set up!
http://www.hobbypartz.com/96m23-car-3650-3930.html

Last edited by RCaddict0; 06-16-2011 at 04:25 AM.
RCaddict0 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 06:13 AM
  #27  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
SuperEk4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 10,333
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kaiser View Post
SAME HERE, until i had a brand new 150amp /2250 kv xerun motor/esc combo die in the the first 40 minutes of use. (geared correctly) the sensor bolts fell out and the sensor and the bolts dropped into the motor, also taking out the esc.

there is zero customer support. none of my emails are getting answered and it's been almost 3 weeks now.
I tried to email jack but his email is full n it bounced back. I will suggest you call them also.
SuperEk4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 03:53 PM
  #28  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 129
Default

Anybody else have a problem with the 150A's bec? Mine's is fairly new and after a couple of hard landings I lost bec power (only1.3v now) and shut off my servos. The coil at the bottom of the esc board got smashed into pieces, If I have known I would've put a think foam under the esc, i only put the double sided gel thing.
mk74 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 04:40 PM
  #29  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
SuperEk4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 10,333
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mk74 View Post
Anybody else have a problem with the 150A's bec? Mine's is fairly new and after a couple of hard landings I lost bec power (only1.3v now) and shut off my servos. The coil at the bottom of the esc board got smashed into pieces, If I have known I would've put a think foam under the esc, i only put the double sided gel thing.
No never had problems with xerun esc. I used 3m double sided tape n cable tie.
SuperEk4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 12:54 AM
  #30  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
auzzy_mate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: MIA Awesome Mansion
Posts: 703
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default SC10 + XERUN 2.1 60a + 13.5

G'day All,

I want to run my short course truck in the SC13.5 class at my local offroad track. Does anybody have any suggestions for a FDR?

I am happy with my other ESC settings and have updated it online, just would like an idea on a "boosted" ESC FDR.

Ben
auzzy_mate is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service