Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree193Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 01-30-2013, 10:02 AM
  #1771  
Tech Initiate
 
JC1225's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: South Africa
Posts: 26
Default

Also, will pretty much any 1/8 elec motor sensored or sensor less work on this hobbywing esc? I want to fit a trinity d8, will that work fine? Excuse my ignorance...
JC1225 is offline  
Old 01-30-2013, 10:20 AM
  #1772  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JC1225
Also, will pretty much any 1/8 elec motor censored or sensor less work on this hobbywing esc? I want to fit a trinity d8, will that work fine? Excuse my ignorance...
Yes any 1/8th sized motor should work just dont go too high on KV. Check the manual for max with your number of cells.
Originally Posted by JC1225
Can anyone give me some advise on setting up the timing on my xerun 150 esc with 2250 censored motor. I set the timing and punch up all the way on Sunday and 5 min into my 1st race the motor "locked up" and started smoking and is now stuffed.
Well the timing all the way up with the wrong gear would certainly overheat the motor and could cause it to blow. I would recommend that any motor set up you run start out with the minimum settings and go up in small amounts at a time. The punch setting on my 150amp 8th scale car is 2 because the higher settings will not do a lot for you but spin the tires and dump the battery sooner. My timing is only set to 15 deg.
Paul Rush
HWNA
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 01-30-2013, 10:47 AM
  #1773  
Tech Addict
 
nanoverse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 650
Default

Originally Posted by JC1225
Can anyone give me some advise on setting up the timing on my xerun 150 esc with 2250 sensored motor. I set the timing and punch up all the way on Sunday and 5 min into my 1st race the motor "locked up" and started smoking and is now stuffed.
I believe the motor is dead. You aren't supposed to put everything MAX the first time out.
nanoverse is offline  
Old 01-30-2013, 04:30 PM
  #1774  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Slotmachine
Yes any 1/8th sized motor should work just dont go too high on KV. Check the manual for max with your number of cells.

Well the timing all the way up with the wrong gear would certainly overheat the motor and could cause it to blow. I would recommend that any motor set up you run start out with the minimum settings and go up in small amounts at a time. The punch setting on my 150amp 8th scale car is 2 because the higher settings will not do a lot for you but spin the tires and dump the battery sooner. My timing is only set to 15 deg.
Paul Rush
HWNA
Originally Posted by nanoverse
I believe the motor is dead. You aren't supposed to put everything MAX the first time out.
Ya man, u smoked that....Timing is not necessary on these bigger motors and as stated you should start low on the settings ESPECIALLY timing as that creates heat and i have it all the way down/off on everything i have then once i kno gearing is right you could add timing and see if it helps but punch should be ok as long as you have a battery that can keep up with the high punch setting
TCCustoms is offline  
Old 01-30-2013, 05:17 PM
  #1775  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
chucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hell
Posts: 1,319
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I just got my 120 amp esc pro from hong kong and a 8,5 turn ezerun censored for 130.00 shipped off of e-bay and running it in my xxx losi truck and this thing haul's the mail... running 24 tooth pin and a 76 tooth sper gear any suggestions on settings. so far I am at
1 forward and reverse
2 no drag break
3 76% break
4 15% timing
5 9% centered neutral
6 temp cut off on
7 no push
8. lipo at 2 cell
9. cut off at 3.2 volt
10 I forget and they are not in order lol any ideas. Thanks or is this good to go
chucko is offline  
Old 01-31-2013, 04:12 PM
  #1776  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wheatfield, NY
Posts: 33
Default

I just purchased one of the Hobby Wings ESC for my short course truck. I also bought the programming box. My problem is when I try to download the software. I cannot open the program. I am trying it on Windows 7. I would appreciate it if someone could offer me a few suggestions so I could program my ESC. I save it to my computer but I cannot open it. Any help would be great.
coltsfan is offline  
Old 01-31-2013, 04:35 PM
  #1777  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
lewis110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hallstead, PA
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

You have to unzip the file. I use jzip.com for this. Once you download a program to unzip the file open the file using jzip and you will beable to fully download the software.


Also you can just hook your program box up to the esc and program your esc that way. You don't need to use the pc to change settings. Only when your looking to change to a different firmware.
lewis110 is offline  
Old 02-01-2013, 10:43 PM
  #1778  
Tech Apprentice
 
mattrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 96
Default

Hi
I need to replace the capacitor on a Justock Esc. What do i need. Spec, type etc
mattrc is offline  
Old 02-01-2013, 11:08 PM
  #1779  
Tech Master
iTrader: (90)
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Houston TX (formally Sou CA)
Posts: 1,220
Trader Rating: 90 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by coltsfan
I just purchased one of the Hobby Wings ESC for my short course truck. I also bought the programming box. My problem is when I try to download the software. I cannot open the program. I am trying it on Windows 7. I would appreciate it if someone could offer me a few suggestions so I could program my ESC. I save it to my computer but I cannot open it. Any help would be great.
You have to uncompress the RAR file, use winrar - 7zip to decompress them (just like a unzipping).
Kuya_Kimo is offline  
Old 02-02-2013, 12:42 AM
  #1780  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
NICEALLDAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: San diego
Posts: 127
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

is there any u.s distributers that are selling the v3.1?
NICEALLDAY is offline  
Old 02-02-2013, 06:53 AM
  #1781  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 12
Default XERUN MOTOR BULLET CONNECTORS

How can I replace the bullet connectors with hopefully a better connector on my Xerun 17.5?
The "bird cage" on one of the connectors has become loose.
Jfin66 is offline  
Old 02-02-2013, 08:14 AM
  #1782  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
lewis110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hallstead, PA
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Just cut the bullet connector off and resolder a new one on. I would use something like this. http://www.smc-racing.net/index.php?...&product_id=88

I use this type on my batteries. And solder my motor wires direct.
lewis110 is offline  
Old 02-02-2013, 01:54 PM
  #1783  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by NICEALLDAY
is there any u.s distributers that are selling the v3.1?
Click Here for Falconsekido.com
TCCustoms is offline  
Old 02-02-2013, 01:59 PM
  #1784  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Liverpool , NY
Posts: 152
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by NICEALLDAY
is there any u.s distributers that are selling the v3.1?
I got my Hobbywings from www.BuiltRc.com

My buddy and I have always received good service form him.
pbTarget is offline  
Old 02-02-2013, 03:26 PM
  #1785  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 12
Default XERUN BULLET CONNECTORS

Originally Posted by lewis110
Just cut the bullet connector off and resolder a new one on.

I use this type on my batteries. And solder my motor wires direct.
I need to replace the 3.5 bullet connector that is factory installed on the XERUN motor not the battery 4.0 bullets.
Thanks for the link though, those connectors do look much better for the batteries.
Jfin66 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.