Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD >

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Like Tree192Likes

HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD

Old 01-24-2013, 05:04 AM
  #1696  
Tech Elite
 
rcboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 3,703
Default

Honestly I have never ran the 1800 so I wouldn't know. I run a 2250 and just adjust endpoints as needed. That said, gear up.
rcboy1 is offline  
Old 01-24-2013, 05:19 AM
  #1697  
Tech Master
iTrader: (28)
 
pballer2777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: dirty jerz
Posts: 1,854
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

so i would like to buy the 150a combo for my serpent buggy but alittle confused on what motor to get. the car is a nitro converted car not the actual ebuggy. any advise would be great.
pballer2777 is offline  
Old 01-24-2013, 05:25 AM
  #1698  
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,198
Default

I would say, go for the 4068 motor type (40mm diameter x 68mm length) because the 4274 will not fit I believe, because the length of that one is 74mm.
M7H is offline  
Old 01-24-2013, 05:34 AM
  #1699  
Tech Master
iTrader: (28)
 
pballer2777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: dirty jerz
Posts: 1,854
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by M7H
I would say, go for the 4068 motor type (40mm diameter x 68mm length) because the 4274 will not fit I believe, because the length of that one is 74mm.
i could be wrong but i think a standard size motor would fit. here is the kit that i have.http://www.rc-monster.com/proddetail.php?prod=rcm811
pballer2777 is offline  
Old 01-24-2013, 06:21 AM
  #1700  
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,198
Default

Originally Posted by pballer2777
i could be wrong but i think a standard size motor would fit. here is the kit that i have.http://www.rc-monster.com/proddetail.php?prod=rcm811
Aha, you have a non Serpent conversion kit (do we even have a conversion kit? hahaha, I don't even know..... hahaha).
Then Yes, a bigger motor would fit.

You are going to run on 4S lipo?
The 1800KV or 2200KV doesn't really matter, if you need more speed, just gear up a bit, any of those 2 motors will handle it.
M7H is offline  
Old 01-24-2013, 07:53 AM
  #1701  
Tech Master
iTrader: (28)
 
pballer2777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: dirty jerz
Posts: 1,854
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by M7H
Aha, you have a non Serpent conversion kit (do we even have a conversion kit? hahaha, I don't even know..... hahaha).
Then Yes, a bigger motor would fit.

You are going to run on 4S lipo?
The 1800KV or 2200KV doesn't really matter, if you need more speed, just gear up a bit, any of those 2 motors will handle it.
no serpent make an entirely different buggy. yes i will be using 4s batteries. do u think one motor is more versitle then the other. i will run indoors and outdoors.
pballer2777 is offline  
Old 01-24-2013, 09:23 AM
  #1702  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (19)
 
Mowingrass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 342
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

My combo didnt come with the disk for the software is that an issue? Can i get it off the website?
Mowingrass is offline  
Old 01-24-2013, 09:32 AM
  #1703  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
BillyT.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,912
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Mowingrass
My combo didnt come with the disk for the software is that an issue? Can i get it off the website?

http://www.falconsekido.com/pages/download

Got my Xerun 150 wet when I cleaned the truck and ruined the thing. Replacing it with an SCT-Pro which will be better for my setup anyway... blessing in disguise I guess...
BillyT. is offline  
Old 01-24-2013, 09:40 AM
  #1704  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (19)
 
Mowingrass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 342
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BillyT.
http://www.falconsekido.com/pages/download

Got my Xerun 150 wet when I cleaned the truck and ruined the thing. Replacing it with an SCT-Pro which will be better for my setup anyway... blessing in disguise I guess...
Thank you man!!! Awesome thread here!!!
Mowingrass is offline  
Old 01-24-2013, 09:41 AM
  #1705  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BillyT.
http://www.falconsekido.com/pages/download

Got my Xerun 150 wet when I cleaned the truck and ruined the thing. Replacing it with an SCT-Pro which will be better for my setup anyway... blessing in disguise I guess...
Sorry to hear that Billy T...................
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 01-24-2013, 09:51 AM
  #1706  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by darcness
Well I got my RC8.2e built and installed my HW SCT Pro ESC and 1800kv 4274SD motor. I'm honestly quite underwhelmed coming from my Castle MMM + 2250kv setup. On 4S the setup seems really lacking on the top on, and even feels pretty weak on torque. I'm running an 18t pinion on the stock 46t spur gear. The ESC is set on all factory settings, and I'm running it sensored.

Any advice on how to get this thing to wake up? I'm thinking it could partially be because of my battery, so I ordered a new 5700mah 50c battery to try. I'm also wondering if I shouldn't go up to a 20t or even higher pinion gear.

Other than that, I'm at a loss. I hear great things about these motors and ESC's and right now I'm feeling pretty "blah" about it.
I think all the answers you have been receiving are correct...........you need to gear up or you could adjust the timing and boost on the settings.
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 01-24-2013, 10:16 AM
  #1707  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
BillyT.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,912
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Slotmachine
Sorry to hear that Billy T...................
Track was over watered for the first found and things were a complete mess. I just got a little out of hand with the cleaner. Installing the SCT-Pro in such a way that it will be easily removable for cleaning...
BillyT. is offline  
Old 01-24-2013, 01:39 PM
  #1708  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Melb, AU
Posts: 934
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by darcness
I understand and I definitely appreciate the help. I actually switched away from the Castle because the power delivery was too on/off and I didn't like it. I wanted something smoother and the HW combo CERTAINLY is that. I love the way it feels with the linear power, just looking to get a little bit more out of it.
Thinking outside the box a little, if all the other adjustments hasn't helped, you could also dial-in some positive throttle expo on your radio...
TRiN is offline  
Old 01-24-2013, 03:36 PM
  #1709  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 782
Default

I accidentally upgraded my firmware to v3 on my esc and programmer (didn't read the fine print). I'm guessing I'll be ordering new ones?
Attached Thumbnails HOBBYWING TECH SUPPORT 1/8 & 1/10 OFF ROAD-20130124_153108.jpg  
rallyredevo is offline  
Old 01-24-2013, 03:46 PM
  #1710  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,823
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rallyredevo
I accidentally upgraded my firmware to v3 on my esc and programmer (didn't read the fine print). I'm guessing I'll be ordering new ones?
Oh no .......you can revert back to the other software on the computer.
The lines you are seeing should go away after you revert to the older software.
Slotmachine is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.