R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-20-2011, 11:27 AM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 11
Default Radio Question - Is this possible with 2.4Ghz?

Hi guys,

I was wondering if this is possible:
I want to have 10 cars all with their individual receiver.
I also want to have 2 radios, and I want to be able to control all 10 cars with BOTH radios, and as many as 2 cars simultaneously.
ie, I want to take car A and Car B for a spin, and be able to control one with one radio and the other with the other radio, and then switch off car B and take car C and control it with 1 of the radios.

I hope that makes sense.

Anyway, can this be made to work?
Spetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 02:07 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,465
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Usually a reciever can only be bound to 1 transmitter at a time

Systems like the Traxxas "Link" may allow you to do what you are asking

Cheers
__________________
Slash Platinum
Xerun 150, Tenshock SC401 3500kv
Gensace 40c
crusey_aus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 08:21 PM   #3
Tech Champion
 
snoopyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tunnel Hill GA
Posts: 5,046
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

what he just said I think is true but that does not mean that you cant take Car B and bind it to radio A and then later bind it to radio B. And you can have model memory for 10+ cars on lots of new radios anymore. So what you want is almost possible with the inconvenience that if you want to use a transmitter differrent than you usually do then you will have to go through the bind procedure first.
__________________
www.battlefieldraceway.com Racing videos at http://www.youtube.com/snoopyrc
snoopyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 12:40 AM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 11
Default

How hard is the bind process?

And, what about many receivers to 1 transmitter, this is also possible right?

The reason I ask to make things simpler is I have many cars, and sometimes me and my brother would go race, so I would like us to each have a receiver and then choose whichever car we want and go race
Spetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 12:49 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,465
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

You will see radios quoted as having a number of model memories

10 model memory means 10 recievers / cars

Usually the bind process requires a small plug to be inserted into the reciever, then a button pressed on the transmitter, pretty simple

Cheers
__________________
Slash Platinum
Xerun 150, Tenshock SC401 3500kv
Gensace 40c
crusey_aus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 06:22 AM   #6
Tech Lord
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I use a 3PK and with its 10model memory and removeable Campac module, I can manage 20diff RCs. I use a 2nd radio, but use it to run 10 different RCs.

This lets me run diff radio setups (diff modes of FM, or 2.4) depending on the car. I might have to switch modules in the controller, but it only takes a few seconds.
Duster_360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 11:16 AM   #7
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks guys,
And, when buying a transmitter and a receiver, will any two work or is there something specific that I need to look at?
Spetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 06:57 PM   #8
Tech Lord
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

AM - most should work with the other brands. FM 75MHZ has a pecularity and some will not work together due to phase shift differences, the 27Mhz FMs don't have this. Radios that use crystals seem to require a matched set - TX and rcvr crystals made by the same manufacturer, I've tried unsuccessfully to mix brands of crystals.

2.4ghz is similar, the diff brands do not generally work together, there's even some conflicts within brands.
Duster_360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 12:43 AM   #9
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 11
Default

So when buying a 2.4Ghz radio, what receivers do I buy to control multiple cars?
Spetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 01:18 AM   #10
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 729
Default

I know you can control many cars with just one transmitter and one receiver per car.
I did it with my Tactic TTX240 radio, controlled 2 cars at the same timeusing only 1 transmitter.
I don't think you would be able to switch between radios in each car without re-binding the receiver in that car to match the transmitter, that would just be a waste of time and effort unless you have 2 receivers in the car labelled A and B, and you just switch between the two depending on the radio you are using. That's the only way I see it working the way you want it to.
__________________
Car-less (Velox V10 or 733) // RB T10.5"+" (JB Modified) // Bluebird BMS-990DMG (St) & BMS-631 (T/B) // ATS 16% // Capricorn Wheels // Protoform
"70% of the time, it works ALL the time"
DJ_Shakespear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 08:51 PM   #11
Tech Champion
 
snoopyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tunnel Hill GA
Posts: 5,046
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spetz View Post
So when buying a 2.4Ghz radio, what receivers do I buy to control multiple cars?
I dont think you intend to control two cars at the same time so I will give you a more simple answer. Stay with the same brand. Thats where the compatability issues mostly lay.

If you use FrSky Transmitter on 2.4 then use FrSky receivers. If you buy a Futaba 2.4 Faast then use Futaba Faast receivers. FrSky makes junky looking transmitters but their receivers are dirt cheap. So you could put one in each of your cars and also you could have a memory setting for each car. So if you have been racing with your SCT and then you want to take the transmitter and drive your drift car with it, just change the memory to your drift car, bind it and there you go.
__________________
www.battlefieldraceway.com Racing videos at http://www.youtube.com/snoopyrc
snoopyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 12:52 AM   #12
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Default

compatability issues
LarryMann is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Futaba Reciever question Maxpwr Nitro Off-Road 29 08-20-2009 03:45 AM
Canadian Off-Road Championship Series Gary Fliegel Canadian R/C Scene 927 07-14-2009 11:20 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:29 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net