Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Turnigy Charger at HobbyKing??? too good to be true >

Turnigy Charger at HobbyKing??? too good to be true

Turnigy Charger at HobbyKing??? too good to be true

Reply

Old 02-16-2011, 10:57 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 247
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Turnigy Charger at HobbyKing??? too good to be true

Are these two compatible?

Charger w/o power supply

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=10708

Power supply

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=11758

Should I get this for charging 25C 2s 3000mAh lipo???

Thanks for your help!
looklikeaflip is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 11:19 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,465
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

To get the full power output of that charger you will require a bigger power supply

That power supply will only allow a 50 watt charger output

Cheers
crusey_aus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 01:06 AM
  #3  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 247
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

How did you figure out how much the power supply allows?
looklikeaflip is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 01:21 AM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,465
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Sorry miss read that its actually a 75 watt supply

Volts times Amps = Watts

15 volt, 5 amp power supply = 75 watts

The charger you linked needs a 240 watt power supply (190 watt output plus 20% for losses) to reach its full potential

That would mean 12 volts at 20 amps

Cheers
crusey_aus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 01:26 AM
  #5  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 247
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

If I want to have non stop run time at the track, which charger is good?
looklikeaflip is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 01:52 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,779
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by looklikeaflip View Post
If I want to have non stop run time at the track, which charger is good?
You need more battery packs then...
ganymede is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 02:21 AM
  #7  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 247
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

How long does it take for a 25C 4000mAh lipo to charge at a 5C rate?
looklikeaflip is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 02:26 AM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,465
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

15 minutes from empty

The battery has to be able to handle a 5C charge rate though, not all can

Cheers
crusey_aus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 02:42 AM
  #9  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 247
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

So I think I've finally chosen my charger.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=15143

How do I know which power supply to choose?
looklikeaflip is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 03:09 AM
  #10  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,465
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

You will need a 500 watt power supply to get full power output of that charger

You need a 15v/35amp or 18v/30amp supply

Cheers
crusey_aus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 03:14 AM
  #11  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 247
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The extra 100 watts is for safety reasons?
looklikeaflip is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 03:24 AM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (85)
 
RCaddict0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: West Virgina
Posts: 3,526
Trader Rating: 85 (99%+)
Default

Im using these and I can charge at 5A and never have any problems
http://www.hobbypartz.com/60p-dyc-1004.html
&
http://www.hobbypartz.com/77p-ac001-powersupply.html
Cheap as they come
RCaddict0 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 04:00 AM
  #13  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Chargers are not 100% efficient, they are typically tested around 80% efficiency, meaning they need ~20% more input power that the expected output power. Thats the reason for teh extra wattage. If you're going to run a high power charger, it doesn't hurt to have extra wattage or a higher voltage. The extra wattage lets the PS work at a little lower duty cycle and tehhigher voltage lets it run cooler.


I was interested in getting one of these myself until I saw the reviews on RC Groups. I hope the charger has gotten better, but doesn't appear that way (look at last page) -



http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...ga+400w&page=6
Duster_360 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 04:03 AM
  #14  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,779
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by looklikeaflip View Post
The extra 100 watts is for safety reasons?
Most good quality power supplies only put out about 80% of its rated wattage, so a 500watt PSU can only put out 400watts under normal operating condition.

But you can buy so called truepower (80 plus bronze, silver or even gold) computer PSU which can put out very close to its rated wattage and mod it into a PSU for your charger.
ganymede is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 04:07 AM
  #15  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,779
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RCaddict0 View Post
Im using these and I can charge at 5A and never have any problems
http://www.hobbypartz.com/60p-dyc-1004.html
&
http://www.hobbypartz.com/77p-ac001-powersupply.html
Cheap as they come
I hope you purchased a good home insurance for the money you saved, the power supply can only put out 60watts whereas the charger is capable of pulling 111watts charging a 6S lipo at 5A...
ganymede is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service