R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Old 01-11-2011, 12:06 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default powerlab 8?

I have searched through the forums for word on chargers and most recommend Hyperion and Im pretty sure I will be getting a 0615 Duo3 but what is the word on the powerlab 8? Seems to have more power and features than the hyperion at about the same price, actually about $10 less off one site I found. Im still a noob when it comes to batteries coming from a nitro background so Im sure I may be missing something.
Lason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 12:35 PM   #2
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)

You're comparing apples and oranges, the PL8 is not a dual type charger....

PL8 has the most power out there of any charger atm and needs a pretty big power supply to make that happen. But any charger that gets up toward that power level is going to need a pretty big power supply.
Duster_360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 12:43 PM   #3
Tech Apprentice

Can you explain what you mean by dual type charger? Im new to this stuff so I knew I was missing something. I know the 0615 has two sets of charge leads but from what I understand you have to use both sets on one battery to get the full amperage to charge at its fastest rate, right?

I guess what Im thinking is the PL8 will charge two batteries in parallel faster than the 0615 could using its dual charge ports. Am I mistaken in thinking that?

I also realize I wont need all that power right now but I just try to look towards the future as much as I can when making bigger purchases like this. Oh and I have 2 47amp server PSU's wired up as 24v already, ready to go.
Old 01-11-2011, 01:21 PM   #4
Tech Lord

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lason View Post