Like Tree4Likes

Viper RC -

Old 04-09-2013, 07:50 AM
  #7531  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (84)
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17,388
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

I was thinking the same thing about the rapture.
Wildcat1971 is offline  
Old 04-09-2013, 09:22 AM
  #7532  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
???E-Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Owensboro,Ky
Posts: 1,741
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I just wanna take the time to thank Viper for replacing my bad motor.
It took about a week or two to get my brushless system back.
They tested the esc and it was fine. I just received the package yesterday.

Still dont know what im going to put the 540 copperhead system in.
But I may save it as a backup for my
SC10 4wd. Im currently using the 550 4500kv copperhead in my SC10 4wd.

I kinda know why my system was rushed to me. Because I think they know
Im racing with the copperhead systems. They wanted me to spread the word
about thier great customer service. 180 days is actually a long time to have
a warrenty. That just tells me they stand behind thier product.
???E-Racer is offline  
Old 04-09-2013, 09:54 AM
  #7533  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (84)
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17,388
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

Have you raced your 4x4 yet
Wildcat1971 is offline  
Old 04-09-2013, 10:13 AM
  #7534  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
???E-Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Owensboro,Ky
Posts: 1,741
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Wildcat1971
Have you raced your 4x4 yet
No but im going to in a couple weeks. They are working on the local offroad track.
???E-Racer is offline  
Old 04-09-2013, 10:59 AM
  #7535  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 191
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

After installing my motor the forward throttle is reverse and reverse is forward throttle. How do I properly fix this issue? Use the pro-gauge or change up the wiring?
boostem is offline  
Old 04-09-2013, 11:35 AM
  #7536  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8,616
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by boostem
After installing my motor the forward throttle is reverse and reverse is forward throttle. How do I properly fix this issue? Use the pro-gauge or change up the wiring?
if this is the first time you are setting everything up, I would say reverse your servo in the transmitter. If you are just changing the motor out, then we need more details.
Bob Barry is offline  
Old 04-09-2013, 11:46 AM
  #7537  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Jim Hustins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Middletown, NY
Posts: 1,658
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by boostem
After installing my motor the forward throttle is reverse and reverse is forward throttle. How do I properly fix this issue? Use the pro-gauge or change up the wiring?
What system are you running?
Jim Hustins is offline  
Old 04-09-2013, 11:51 AM
  #7538  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 191
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Yes, it is the first time I am setting up the electronics for the ESC/motor/receiver/transmitter.
boostem is offline  
Old 04-09-2013, 11:52 AM
  #7539  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 191
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jim Hustins
What system are you running?
The copperhead-r with the 51kv motor and D2S radio.
boostem is offline  
Old 04-09-2013, 12:28 PM
  #7540  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (84)
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17,388
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

did you calibrate it yet? also, with sensorless systems, you can switch the motor leads around to swap the motor rotation. Switching any 2 wires should solve the issue.
Wildcat1971 is offline  
Old 04-09-2013, 12:33 PM
  #7541  
Suspended
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: PNW
Posts: 158
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default go vipers

I like this brand
CagomoC3 is offline  
Old 04-09-2013, 03:06 PM
  #7542  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Forney, Texas.
Posts: 267
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default racing with the copper head 4500kv system

next weekend the 20th and 21st jconsepts spring nationals my two boys will be racing the stces in pro 4 with the copper head systems for the first time. I just switched them from castle mmp and novak 550 5.5 turn setups. one had a bad ecs the other craped out motor. so for the price I had to give the viper copper head a try. I installed them last weekend test drove them around the house. I am pleased so far. but the race will be the true test for us. if it works out this will be the esc motor set up we stick with bc of the great value. will let you know how it went!
Gsnow39 is offline  
Old 04-09-2013, 04:39 PM
  #7543  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (36)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Littleton
Posts: 273
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I'm looking for a setup for a SCTe 2.0. I'm going to be running my VTX10r with a 4.5 turn 550 motor. I'm looking for how you set your ESC (starting in the mod offroad profile). I was thinking of ordering up the newer caps and the fan kit. I don't really want the size and weight of the VTX8 yet

The Copperhead is a good setup but I can tell on the technical tracks where the sensorless is too inconsistent. I'm going to save it for my fun truck.
thefatkid is offline  
Old 04-09-2013, 04:42 PM
  #7544  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (84)
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17,388
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by thefatkid
I'm looking for a setup for a SCTe 2.0. I'm going to be running my VTX10r with a 4.5 turn 550 motor. I'm looking for how you set your ESC (starting in the mod offroad profile). I was thinking of ordering up the newer caps and the fan kit. I don't really want the size and weight of the VTX8 yet

The Copperhead is a good setup but I can tell on the technical tracks where the sensorless is too inconsistent. I'm going to save it for my fun truck.
there is a setup sheet on the viper website. I know that punch was set to zero. no boost, not timing, no turbo. I would probably get a fan kit. 12 tooth pinion.
Wildcat1971 is offline  
Old 04-09-2013, 04:47 PM
  #7545  
Suspended
iTrader: (440)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 10,180
Trader Rating: 440 (99%+)
Default

Originally Posted by thefatkid
I'm looking for a setup for a SCTe 2.0. I'm going to be running my VTX10r with a 4.5 turn 550 motor. I'm looking for how you set your ESC (starting in the mod offroad profile). I was thinking of ordering up the newer caps and the fan kit. I don't really want the size and weight of the VTX8 yet

The Copperhead is a good setup but I can tell on the technical tracks where the sensorless is too inconsistent. I'm going to save it for my fun truck.
My unsensored copperhead r system with the viper 4500 does great at slow speeds. No cogging at all and is very smooth. A higher C rated pack will also help prevent cogging sometimes. I'm running 60C packs with no issues so far.
MattP is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.