R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-29-2014, 03:47 AM   #1441
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: italy
Posts: 198
Default

Ciao micrors4guy,

as per my experience best esc blinky settings are:
throttle pwm frequency: 2500 hz - aggressive acceleration
throttle expo: its depend from the motor and the track, if you need more top end speed set it to +1 or +2
brake strengtenen: form 50 to 70 ptc
brake expo: linear
smart brake sys: off (it is very useful in turbo mode).

Ciao
Max

P.S. you must update the firmware from A30 to A55.
__________________
Touring: WRC STX
F1: WRC F-ONE 200 and 180 mm
ESC:Viper VTX10R; Motor: too many; Radio: Sanwa MT4

Don't follow me.... at the end of the straight there is the hairpin and my wall.....

Last edited by mtaddei; 01-29-2014 at 04:04 AM.
mtaddei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 12:07 PM   #1442
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springfield OHIO
Posts: 563
Send a message via AIM to racer034life
Default

does anyone have a setup for a VTX10 speed control im running this in 17.5 blinky.
__________________
Access Hobbies,CRC, Detc410, Xray T4 15,
The Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driving School
racer034life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 12:10 PM   #1443
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Portlandia
Posts: 3,341
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by racer034life View Post
does anyone have a setup for a VTX10 speed control im running this in 17.5 blinky.
I am running 5000 mhz pulse width, 100% punch. With the new software, I run in profile 5 and it has a ton of punch.
__________________
Time Zone Raceways www.Timezonehobbies.com
www.ColinBranch.com
C Branch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 06:54 PM   #1444
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,673
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by micrors4guy View Post
a30 profile 5
I would update the esc to a55 --- more performance. Maybe software new in the works ...

Typically if you go down in freq you will gain a little punch, in on road terms, more up front speed but could fall off at end. If too low, the fall off is too much. If too high, your lap times will stay same the whole run and will find others touch quicker. All this considering you have the right rollout, motor, timing and battery -- that is all big factors in 17.5 1/12.
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 06:58 PM   #1445
Tech Apprentice
 
timaay!!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: attleboro ma.
Posts: 52
Default

just got A vtx10, how do I get it out of blinky mode?
timaay!! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 07:03 PM   #1446
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: lost...
Posts: 2,854
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikos2002 View Post
I would update the esc to a55 --- more performance. Maybe software new in the works ...

Typically if you go down in freq you will gain a little punch, in on road terms, more up front speed but could fall off at end. If too low, the fall off is too much. If too high, your lap times will stay same the whole run and will find others touch quicker. All this considering you have the right rollout, motor, timing and battery -- that is all big factors in 17.5 1/12.
OK. All this for 17.5. How about settings for 13.5, 1s, blinky.
RoyU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 07:12 PM   #1447
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Covington, La.
Posts: 3,587
Trader Rating: 50 (98%+)
Send a message via AIM to micrors4guy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikos2002 View Post
I would update the esc to a55 --- more performance. Maybe software new in the works ...

Typically if you go down in freq you will gain a little punch, in on road terms, more up front speed but could fall off at end. If too low, the fall off is too much. If too high, your lap times will stay same the whole run and will find others touch quicker. All this considering you have the right rollout, motor, timing and battery -- that is all big factors in 17.5 1/12.
Thanks nick I dont know of anyone in my area who has the link. I just made my 3rd viper esc purchase and plan to run them in everything from here on out I may have to get the pc link and become the go to guy in my area for software updates.
__________________
Rob Jensen
Thanks to the following companies for their support in 2017: Team Associated, Maclan, Fierce R/C Solutions
micrors4guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 07:12 PM   #1448
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,344
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by timaay!! View Post
just got A vtx10, how do I get it out of blinky mode?
Plug in card...go to misc > run mode and choose race open or reverse.
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 07:26 PM   #1449
Tech Apprentice
 
timaay!!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: attleboro ma.
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by defcone View Post
Plug in card...go to misc > run mode and choose race open or reverse.
Cool, thanks! Should I be using it in blinky? I'm running it with a 7.5 in my B44.2. I'm new to the blinky thing! lolLol What's the difference between race open and blinky?
timaay!! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 07:38 PM   #1450
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I met Max from the team in Hong Kong. Very nice guy, and some interesting things coming.

-Mike
grippgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 03:22 AM   #1451
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,344
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timaay!! View Post
Cool, thanks! Should I be using it in blinky? I'm running it with a 7.5 in my B44.2. I'm new to the blinky thing! lolLol What's the difference between race open and blinky?
I don't race offroad, if you have a card with you all the time then just change it when you feel like you need more speed. Blinky just means no timing from the esc.
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 10:51 AM   #1452
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,673
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timaay!! View Post
Cool, thanks! Should I be using it in blinky? I'm running it with a 7.5 in my B44.2. I'm new to the blinky thing! lolLol What's the difference between race open and blinky?
Shouldn't really need to use boost profiles in 4wd off road -- Lee and Travis ran in blinky when making the A Main at the 4wd World Championships.
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 10:52 AM   #1453
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,673
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyU View Post
OK. All this for 17.5. How about settings for 13.5, 1s, blinky.
Principle is the same, but maybe starting slightly higher freq because typically with a faster motor you will run a slightly higher throttle freq, because the motor creates the power, you don't need the esc to help it as much.
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 06:07 PM   #1454
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 36
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

When is the new firmware out? A64 I believe.
Simon Noton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 01:19 PM   #1455
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,673
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

Wow, I lost this thread..... lets bring it back

a64 software is now available on our site for VTX1, VTX10 and VTX10R editions (both Orange and Black).

With updates including:
- new logic algorithms to improve overall performance (throttle and brake responses)
- Improved boost performance with more power and control
- Motor Error detection code, to save speed control from motor short or failure
- Boost available in Practice mode
- New profiles specifically designed for on or off road applications.

Really cool - its like 2 speed control in one with the new profiles!! The software is free on our website - you do need the PC Link
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Viper RC - mini-dub Radio and Electronics 12069 12-04-2017 10:44 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:01 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net