R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-08-2013, 06:42 AM   #1411
Tech Regular
 
Luppi Stefano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 490
Default

hi, but, new motor? news?
__________________
Team Capricorn Italy
Lab F1-01
Luppi Stefano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 12:42 PM   #1412
Tech Regular
 
durtbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: planet X in a distant galaxy
Posts: 386
Default VTX1

anybody have any idea why my VTX1 won't blink in blinky mode (profile 5) anymore? it did, now it don't. sometimes it blinks a few times and then it stops, there is a dim red light and it seems to be in blinky.
__________________
AW HELL RICKEY, I WAS HIGH WHEN I SAID THAT!
durtbag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 01:44 PM   #1413
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,675
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mcap View Post
Is there a way to fix a basically new Copperhead ESC?? Can't find receipt and they won't fix it unless I Pay $45+. I'd do it but lost confidence in their products since this ESC has just a handful of packs on it driven on pavement
Ask the retailer you purchased it from that you need a receipt for warranty purposes. Most reputable places will help you out, because they are going to want your return business.

As for the system - could be multiple reasons why it happen. If it was truly a manufacture defect, it should happen early in your usage. If you had been using it for months and something breaks - less chance of it being because of a defect, more because something happening. That being said, if the system are not treated properly they can be damaged. I think the fastest I ever did it in testing was about 45 seconds. And I knew I was doing everything wrong.
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 01:46 PM   #1414
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,675
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayBee View Post
Where do I send my new Viper VTX1 for repair or to pay to replace it? I mounted it but didn't like the placement and while cutting off some shrink wrap from the on/off switch wires, I cut thru 3 of the wires
Ouch!! The switch wires are not simply replaced. PM me for more info.......
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 01:47 PM   #1415
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,675
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luppi Stefano View Post
hi, but, new motor? news?
New motors are on the roadmap to do, but we want to wait for all the motors and rules are confirmed as "legal" in the first part of 2014 by ROAR.
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 01:49 PM   #1416
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,675
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by durtbag View Post
anybody have any idea why my VTX1 won't blink in blinky mode (profile 5) anymore? it did, now it don't. sometimes it blinks a few times and then it stops, there is a dim red light and it seems to be in blinky.
Should blink if its in Blinky mode - might want to verify with ProGauge/EZLink to make sure its in the correct mode. I have seen dirt get in the lens of the lights - blow it off with an air compressor to check. One customer sent his unit back saying lights didn't work. It was all caked up with dirt, once cleaned could see with no problem.
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 02:02 PM   #1417
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: OC
Posts: 2,098
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

I purchased a VTX-1 Black from A Main a few months ago. It felt great over the first couple of packs - very much what I look for in an esc's performance, but it didn't last long. Performance became extremely inconsistent. Acceleration and top speed were diminished - mostly. Every once in a while, I'd be back to 80 to 90 percent. Most of the time, my 9.5 now runs on par with my 17.5's. I swapped in my trusty old GTB, everything was back to normal. Same with my Reventon Pro. I've tried difference sensor wires, motors, motor wires, batteries, etc... It all comes back to the esc. Other than calibration, I've made no changes to the out of the box setup. Any ideas? I do have the programming box, but have never used it.
Sorcerer001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 02:41 PM   #1418
Tech Regular
 
durtbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: planet X in a distant galaxy
Posts: 386
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikos2002 View Post
Should blink if its in Blinky mode - might want to verify with ProGauge/EZLink to make sure its in the correct mode. I have seen dirt get in the lens of the lights - blow it off with an air compressor to check. One customer sent his unit back saying lights didn't work. It was all caked up with dirt, once cleaned could see with no problem.
Thanks, figured it out had to recalibrate for some reason, and it started blinking again.:roll eyes:
Guess that didn't fix it after all, it did blink for a while..... but stopped again. funny thing is, it won't calibrate the brakes correctly either, doesn't (beep) when brakes are applied in calibration mode, but does have brakes. I think its fooked!

Still having a problem with random shut downs in 1/12th though.
__________________
AW HELL RICKEY, I WAS HIGH WHEN I SAID THAT!

Last edited by durtbag; 12-10-2013 at 03:41 PM.
durtbag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 04:56 PM   #1419
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by durtbag View Post
Thanks, figured it out had to recalibrate for some reason, and it started blinking again.:roll eyes:
Guess that didn't fix it after all, it did blink for a while..... but stopped again. funny thing is, it won't calibrate the brakes correctly either, doesn't (beep) when brakes are applied in calibration mode, but does have brakes. I think its fooked!

Still having a problem with random shut downs in 1/12th though.
I used to have an issue where my ESC wouldn't shut off properly. It turned out it was because I had set the neutral width to zero, so it was always detecting a little bit of throttle or brake, and for some reason the ESC wanted neutral in order to turn off. After I increased neutral width to narrow, I never had an issue.

Could be something similar with the blinking.

No idea with the shutdowns.

-Mike
grippgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 07:01 PM   #1420
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,675
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

If the system shuts down and the lights are blinking on the VPort it means either the Motor Temp or ESC Temp protection has kicked in - you can see that from the pattern the lights blink.

If the system shuts off, you still have steering, and 10-15 seconds later is running again. It hit the voltage cutoff, so the esc rebooted the system to protect the battery (according to the settings).

If the system shuts off and does not come back on - without having to move connection, play with wires or exchange something. Its generally a connection problem somewhere.

This are the general reasons the system will shutdown.
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 07:05 PM   #1421
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,675
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sorcerer001 View Post
I purchased a VTX-1 Black from A Main a few months ago. It felt great over the first couple of packs - very much what I look for in an esc's performance, but it didn't last long. Performance became extremely inconsistent. Acceleration and top speed were diminished - mostly. Every once in a while, I'd be back to 80 to 90 percent. Most of the time, my 9.5 now runs on par with my 17.5's. I swapped in my trusty old GTB, everything was back to normal. Same with my Reventon Pro. I've tried difference sensor wires, motors, motor wires, batteries, etc... It all comes back to the esc. Other than calibration, I've made no changes to the out of the box setup. Any ideas? I do have the programming box, but have never used it.
Check when you turn the system on that its in the Profile that you think it is. I have seen drivers who accidently changed the profile to a milder profile by accident. You can also check that with the ProGauge. Besides things like connections, I have seen capacitor that were damage that caused poor or lowered performance. If the unit is under warranty we are always willing to look it over, if you send it in.
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 05:05 PM   #1422
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Covington, La.
Posts: 3,587
Trader Rating: 50 (98%+)
Send a message via AIM to micrors4guy
Default

on the vtx1 what will be the most aggressive settings for throttle? I have my punch at 100% can you explain what the frequency changes will do for power delivery?
__________________
Rob Jensen
Thanks to the following companies for their support in 2017: Team Associated, Maclan, Fierce R/C Solutions
micrors4guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 07:08 AM   #1423
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,344
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by micrors4guy View Post
on the vtx1 what will be the most aggressive settings for throttle? I have my punch at 100% can you explain what the frequency changes will do for power delivery?
Lower = more punch, higher = more top end and more heat, these are only miniscule changes. You can try a higher throttle exp +ve if you want bigger changes. Is this for a blinky class?
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 09:55 AM   #1424
Tech Fanatic
 
rc pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Airdire, AB, Canada
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by micrors4guy View Post
on the vtx1 what will be the most aggressive settings for throttle? I have my punch at 100% can you explain what the frequency changes will do for power delivery?
Which class are you running it in? 1S or 2S, stock or mod?
__________________
Team Associated - Reedy - Pro-Line - RC Depot - OS Engines - 110% Racing - LD Graphics
rc pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 07:45 PM   #1425
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Covington, La.
Posts: 3,587
Trader Rating: 50 (98%+)
Send a message via AIM to micrors4guy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc pete View Post
Which class are you running it in? 1S or 2S, stock or mod?
1s blinky 17.5
__________________
Rob Jensen
Thanks to the following companies for their support in 2017: Team Associated, Maclan, Fierce R/C Solutions
micrors4guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Viper RC - mini-dub Radio and Electronics 12069 12-04-2017 10:44 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:16 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net