R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-14-2013, 02:02 PM   #1336
Tech Fanatic
 
ekim628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: OC
Posts: 815
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Good luck Team Viper!!! Nick keep us updated on the events, especially the drama we cant see online
__________________
Eric K.

/ Team Associated / Viper RC / Radiopost / Sweep Tires / Much-More Racing / RAL Designs / Parma USA
ekim628 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 07:24 PM   #1337
Tech Champion
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luppi Stefano View Post

I'm so sorry for this bad news
The R/C industry is a shithole. Creative people that love the hobby are paid peanuts used until they get fed up or are no longer useful to the company then are tossed aside.
__________________
Adrian Martinez
What I run: Schumacher Mi5/Associated RC10R5.1/Associated RC12R5.2/Futaba/HobbyWing/Team EA Motorsports/BSR Racing
Where I run: Florida Indoor R/C Complex/Thunder Racing/Florida On Road State Series
AdrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 10:47 PM   #1338
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,673
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

Good hear from you Adrain we met many years ago in Tampa..

I politely, and politically correctly say.... I have seen and been part of what you mentioned (as have you, I believe).... That is not the case here, it was a business decision made between 2 parties. And on a public forum we'll leave it at that.

BTW, I expect Josh to spank them this weekend, he can be incredible with a transmitter in his hand.
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 10:54 PM   #1339
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,673
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

ekim- my plans changed, I didn't go to Nats, but I chatted with Smyka before he said things were going good, track coming in, controlled practice today to seed the qualifiers. He is top 5 in 17.5 1/12, Fernando is top 10 in TC classes. But it was only best 3 laps today.

On the opposite side of the country (and a different world of racing) Travis ran well at Cactus Classic, with top 10 and top 15 runs. Those Guys might have as much traction on the sugar coated AZ dirt as they have on the carpet in PA.
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 03:21 PM   #1340
Tech Fanatic
 
ekim628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: OC
Posts: 815
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Cool Nick, well glad info is being updated. Yeah that sugar coating is awesome. Never ran at a dirt track with sugar coating. I can imagine its like off-road with jumps
__________________
Eric K.

/ Team Associated / Viper RC / Radiopost / Sweep Tires / Much-More Racing / RAL Designs / Parma USA
ekim628 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 08:05 AM   #1341
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 697
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Hi folks,

I have a strange behavior on my VTX-1 with Trinity D3.5 4T motor in 1S 1/12 pan car operation. If I go full throttle, the motor will keep jerking.

According to Trinity website, D3.5 4T is rated for 9500kv

This is my setup and wondering if I done something wrong.

ACCELERATION BOOST
Start RPM: 9000
Finish RPM: 30000
Max Advanced Timing: 15

TOP SPEED TIMING
Slew Rate: 8
Max Advanced Timing: 20

The jerking will stop if I turn off "Top Speed Timing" by setting Max Adv Timing to 0. What should be a reasonable value I should use ?
__________________
My blog: http://ongbenghui.blogspot.com
ongbenghui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 08:15 AM   #1342
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,344
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ongbenghui View Post
Hi folks,

I have a strange behavior on my VTX-1 with Trinity D3.5 4T motor in 1S 1/12 pan car operation. If I go full throttle, the motor will keep jerking.

According to Trinity website, D3.5 4T is rated for 9500kv

This is my setup and wondering if I done something wrong.

ACCELERATION BOOST
Start RPM: 9000
Finish RPM: 30000
Max Advanced Timing: 15

TOP SPEED TIMING
Slew Rate: 8
Max Advanced Timing: 20

The jerking will stop if I turn off "Top Speed Timing" by setting Max Adv Timing to 0. What should be a reasonable value I should use ?
Turn the slew rate down lower.
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 08:05 PM   #1343
Tech Fanatic
 
ekim628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: OC
Posts: 815
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Also try using a different sensor wire if slew rate doesnt work. You can also try lowering the Acceleration boost timing to 10*

Quote:
Originally Posted by ongbenghui View Post
Hi folks,

I have a strange behavior on my VTX-1 with Trinity D3.5 4T motor in 1S 1/12 pan car operation. If I go full throttle, the motor will keep jerking.

According to Trinity website, D3.5 4T is rated for 9500kv

This is my setup and wondering if I done something wrong.

ACCELERATION BOOST
Start RPM: 9000
Finish RPM: 30000
Max Advanced Timing: 15

TOP SPEED TIMING
Slew Rate: 8
Max Advanced Timing: 20

The jerking will stop if I turn off "Top Speed Timing" by setting Max Adv Timing to 0. What should be a reasonable value I should use ?
__________________
Eric K.

/ Team Associated / Viper RC / Radiopost / Sweep Tires / Much-More Racing / RAL Designs / Parma USA
ekim628 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 09:13 PM   #1344
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,673
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

Quick recap from the ROAR On-Road Nationals:

Mark Smyka comes from third on the grid to win the 17.5 1/12 class!!!! He backed that up with a solid finish in the A Main of 13.5 1/12 as well.

Fernando Gordinho- finished 10th in Modified TC A Main, and 2nd in the 13.5 TC B Main. Great start with us, considering he borrowed esc's to make the event!!

Chris Hillier didn't have the results he expected, but was 2nd in 13.5 1/12 B Main, 3rd in 17.5 1/12 B Main, and 6th in 13.5 WGT. Not bad for traveling across the country and running against some of the best around.
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 07:30 AM   #1345
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 697
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default motor power pulsing

Quote:
Originally Posted by ekim628 View Post
Also try using a different sensor wire if slew rate doesnt work. You can also try lowering the Acceleration boost timing to 10*
Been a little frustrating.

even I set ESC down to... the motor will still pulse at top speed.

ACCELERATION BOOST
Start RPM: 9000
Finish RPM: 30000
Max Advanced Timing: 10

TOP SPEED TIMING
Slew Rate: 2
Max Advanced Timing: 10

The only thing I can do is to disable Max Advanced Timing by setting it to 0.
__________________
My blog: http://ongbenghui.blogspot.com

Last edited by ongbenghui; 03-25-2013 at 07:44 AM.
ongbenghui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 09:24 AM   #1346
Tech Master
 
smyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Broad Brook,CT
Posts: 1,182
Send a message via AIM to smyka
Default

how much timing on the motor itself we ran into this problem with oval cars at my home track and we found it really only happens when we try to run more the 50 degrees total timing (dont forget if motor is at 0 or neutral its really at 30) i found with mod if i am gonna run timing i usually only run 10 degrees max on can
__________________
Trinity, Proline ,EA motorsports, T.O.P Racing ,Futaba ,Bsr Racing tires ,Advantage racing products,Hot Bodies racing,Tq Wire ,REDS Racing, Orca ,Protoform racing
smyka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 11:06 AM   #1347
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 697
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smyka View Post
how much timing on the motor itself we ran into this problem with oval cars at my home track and we found it really only happens when we try to run more the 50 degrees total timing (dont forget if motor is at 0 or neutral its really at 30) i found with mod if i am gonna run timing i usually only run 10 degrees max on can
Motor is set to 0 timing, so ~30 ? but the Max Adv timing is set to 10 and Top Speed timing is set to 10. Hence, it should be 50 degree in total ?
__________________
My blog: http://ongbenghui.blogspot.com
ongbenghui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 12:10 PM   #1348
Tech Master
 
smyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Broad Brook,CT
Posts: 1,182
Send a message via AIM to smyka
Default

yes try taking 10 degrees out of motor so can timing will show -10 and see if the problem goes away the d3.5 and as a matter of fact all trinity timing board read all over the place so the 30 on the can might really be 40 i have seen a +/- varaince of 8 degrees form can to can markings
__________________
Trinity, Proline ,EA motorsports, T.O.P Racing ,Futaba ,Bsr Racing tires ,Advantage racing products,Hot Bodies racing,Tq Wire ,REDS Racing, Orca ,Protoform racing
smyka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 11:01 PM   #1349
Tech Regular
 
corn_bread's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Plano Texas
Posts: 327
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

do you have to have the capisitors VIP6VSPCAP004 to run the a55 software? my vtx10r has the 2 silver caps and running a30 software and I want to upgrade
corn_bread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 01:55 PM   #1350
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: italy
Posts: 198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by corn_bread View Post
do you have to have the capisitors VIP6VSPCAP004 to run the a55 software? my vtx10r has the 2 silver caps and running a30 software and I want to upgrade
I have 2 vtx10r and on both i'm running the A55 firmware using the standard capacitor, with no issue at all, both motor and esc are running at max temperature af 72 C, even lower depending on the track!!!!

Ciao
Max
__________________
Touring: WRC STX
F1: WRC F-ONE 200 and 180 mm
ESC:Viper VTX10R; Motor: too many; Radio: Sanwa MT4

Don't follow me.... at the end of the straight there is the hairpin and my wall.....
mtaddei is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Viper RC - mini-dub Radio and Electronics 12069 12-04-2017 10:44 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:12 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net