R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-28-2013, 12:13 PM   #1291
Tech Elite
 
klaymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 2,330
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

Anyone know if the new flat cap setup (VIP6VSPCAP004) can be used on the VTX10R Black?
klaymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 10:30 PM   #1292
Tech Fanatic
 
SLOWINSLOWOUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: West Kelowna, BC
Posts: 839
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Need a little help please.

I'm having issues with two of my speed controls. Same issue, on both. First is a VTX1, running in a 12th scale 17.5 boosted, second is a VTX10 in a F1 21.5 blinky.

The issue is they seem to be shutting down, and then restarting after a short period(about 6 seconds). I say 'seem', but I dont think they are shutting right off, as I do not loose the steering, just no throttle. Neither one is overheating, temped one at 89 deg. f, other felt cool to the touch. Both esc's are loaded with firmware A55. Ran 3 qualies and a main with each car, and each one did not finish a run with out doing this at least once each time.

Prior to yesterday, both esc have worked good, but the VTX1 had done this one other time about a month ago. Yesterday was bad, very frustrating!! It is hard to see the lights on the speed controls with the bodies on, so I dont know if they are on or off, but I did notice that the one that is in blinky mod, after it starts working again, the 's' light is on solid, not blinking any more.

Also, just for info, my third car was fine, but it has an ORCA Spark esc.(Makes me think not a radio issue)

I tried recalibrating the radio, I reloaded the profile to each, tried reducing the pwm for the throttle, have the brake strength turned down.

Hope some one can help me solve this, I have five of these esc's, dont really want to jump ship!!
SLOWINSLOWOUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 12:44 AM   #1293
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,344
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLOWINSLOWOUT View Post
Need a little help please.

I'm having issues with two of my speed controls. Same issue, on both. First is a VTX1, running in a 12th scale 17.5 boosted, second is a VTX10 in a F1 21.5 blinky.

The issue is they seem to be shutting down, and then restarting after a short period(about 6 seconds). I say 'seem', but I dont think they are shutting right off, as I do not loose the steering, just no throttle. Neither one is overheating, temped one at 89 deg. f, other felt cool to the touch. Both esc's are loaded with firmware A55. Ran 3 qualies and a main with each car, and each one did not finish a run with out doing this at least once each time.

Prior to yesterday, both esc have worked good, but the VTX1 had done this one other time about a month ago. Yesterday was bad, very frustrating!! It is hard to see the lights on the speed controls with the bodies on, so I dont know if they are on or off, but I did notice that the one that is in blinky mod, after it starts working again, the 's' light is on solid, not blinking any more.

Also, just for info, my third car was fine, but it has an ORCA Spark esc.(Makes me think not a radio issue)

I tried recalibrating the radio, I reloaded the profile to each, tried reducing the pwm for the throttle, have the brake strength turned down.

Hope some one can help me solve this, I have five of these esc's, dont really want to jump ship!!
shut of volt cut
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 07:44 AM   #1294
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 697
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Temperature cut off setting

Hi,

The VTX1 allow me to set the temperature cut off for ESC and Motor.
But what should be a reasonable value ?

It range from 160F/71C to 270F/132C.
__________________
My blog: http://ongbenghui.blogspot.com
ongbenghui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 07:50 AM   #1295
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 768
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLOWINSLOWOUT View Post
Need a little help please.

I'm having issues with two of my speed controls. Same issue, on both. First is a VTX1, running in a 12th scale 17.5 boosted, second is a VTX10 in a F1 21.5 blinky.

The issue is they seem to be shutting down, and then restarting after a short period(about 6 seconds). I say 'seem', but I dont think they are shutting right off, as I do not loose the steering, just no throttle. Neither one is overheating, temped one at 89 deg. f, other felt cool to the touch. Both esc's are loaded with firmware A55. Ran 3 qualies and a main with each car, and each one did not finish a run with out doing this at least once each time.

Prior to yesterday, both esc have worked good, but the VTX1 had done this one other time about a month ago. Yesterday was bad, very frustrating!! It is hard to see the lights on the speed controls with the bodies on, so I dont know if they are on or off, but I did notice that the one that is in blinky mod, after it starts working again, the 's' light is on solid, not blinking any more.

Also, just for info, my third car was fine, but it has an ORCA Spark esc.(Makes me think not a radio issue)

I tried recalibrating the radio, I reloaded the profile to each, tried reducing the pwm for the throttle, have the brake strength turned down.

Hope some one can help me solve this, I have five of these esc's, dont really want to jump ship!!

Whats your protection settings?. I had that problem once and I disabled the motor temp protection and the problem went away.
__________________
Shawn Plume
www.pmhobbycraft.ca
Frantic Racing (Est. 1988)
Ophidian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 07:53 AM   #1296
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 768
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ongbenghui View Post
Hi,

The VTX1 allow me to set the temperature cut off for ESC and Motor.
But what should be a reasonable value ?

It range from 160F/71C to 270F/132C.

I run 220F on the esc and I disable the motor temperature cut off. I think alot of people run it about the same.
__________________
Shawn Plume
www.pmhobbycraft.ca
Frantic Racing (Est. 1988)
Ophidian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 01:11 PM   #1297
Tech Regular
 
Luppi Stefano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 490
Default

this is my setting for 13.5 no timing, isn't Extreme, but is very good, I'm work on this for near Italian Nats
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 13.5 no timing.pdf (240.5 KB, 115 views)
__________________
Team Capricorn Italy
Lab F1-01
Luppi Stefano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 09:36 PM   #1298
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 697
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ophidian View Post
I run 220F on the esc and I disable the motor temperature cut off. I think alot of people run it about the same.
220F is about 100 degree C. Hope there is not long term damage to the component of the ESC.

I don't run active cooling per say.
__________________
My blog: http://ongbenghui.blogspot.com
ongbenghui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 04:04 PM   #1299
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 768
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ongbenghui View Post
220F is about 100 degree C. Hope there is not long term damage to the component of the ESC.

I don't run active cooling per say.

Are you running the VTX-1 in a 12th scale? What motor? For the most part something has to go horribly wrong or put too in much advance timing or gearing it too high for you do damage to your esc.
__________________
Shawn Plume
www.pmhobbycraft.ca
Frantic Racing (Est. 1988)
Ophidian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 08:52 AM   #1300
Tech Fanatic
 
SLOWINSLOWOUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: West Kelowna, BC
Posts: 839
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the replies. I had sent Viper tech support an E-mail the same time I posted my issue here. They got back to me right away, asked for some more info, then came up with some possible solutions to my problems. They are leaning towards a low voltage issue causing the ecu to reset, which I concur with. They made some setting change suggestions for me to try, but before I do those, I am going to replace the bullet connectors for the battery leads. I wired both these cars with the TQ connectors, and found them to be on the loose side. All my other cars(with no issues) have the AE spring style connectors on them, so putting those on first.

One change at a time, will get it sorted. I will report back with the results.
SLOWINSLOWOUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 10:09 AM   #1301
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,344
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLOWINSLOWOUT View Post
Thanks for the replies. I had sent Viper tech support an E-mail the same time I posted my issue here. They got back to me right away, asked for some more info, then came up with some possible solutions to my problems. They are leaning towards a low voltage issue causing the ecu to reset, which I concur with. They made some setting change suggestions for me to try, but before I do those, I am going to replace the bullet connectors for the battery leads. I wired both these cars with the TQ connectors, and found them to be on the loose side. All my other cars(with no issues) have the AE spring style connectors on them, so putting those on first.

One change at a time, will get it sorted. I will report back with the results.
Have you actually tried turning off the voltage cut?
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 10:54 AM   #1302
Tech Fanatic
 
SLOWINSLOWOUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: West Kelowna, BC
Posts: 839
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by defcone View Post
Have you actually tried turning off the voltage cut?
No, I haven't. And here's why. By turning off the voltage cut off at this point, it would be like putting a band aid on a severed artery. As in, just masking the problem. If it is in fact a low voltage issue, I would like to solve the cause of said low voltage. Will start with the connections, redo the solder joints, try different batteries, etc. One at a time till the issue is gone. If all else fails, I my indeed have to turn off the low voltage protection.

Thanks for your input
SLOWINSLOWOUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:10 AM   #1303
Tech Champion
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Is Josh running anything new at the Snowbirds?
__________________
Adrian Martinez
What I run: Schumacher Mi5/Associated RC10R5.1/Associated RC12R5.2/Futaba/HobbyWing/Team EA Motorsports/BSR Racing
Where I run: Florida Indoor R/C Complex/Thunder Racing/Florida On Road State Series
AdrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 06:02 PM   #1304
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,673
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

Maybe???!!???
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 06:06 PM   #1305
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,673
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

Having a good time at the 'Birds, playing with a few things. Always trying experimenting with something.

Josh, has been fast in TC, having trouble keeping the tires under him a full run in TC. Smyka jumped to 4th in 17.5 1/12 and TQ in F1. Well its F1 for him, we all look like F3000 running behind him.

If you have any questions about what we are doing or running, please ask, we'll be glad to answer - what we can......
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Viper RC - mini-dub Radio and Electronics 12069 12-04-2017 10:44 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:31 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net