R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-07-2012, 08:21 AM   #1246
Tech Regular
 
badKarma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI/Miami, FL
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to badKarma Send a message via Yahoo to badKarma
Default

is the Viper computer software ever going to be compatible with Macs (Apple)?
badKarma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 11:33 AM   #1247
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,675
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

I don't see it happening. 2 reasons. 1) very few reasons to ever connect to computer. 2) you can run Windows on Mac (w/software). I am in the same boat, i normally use a Mac as well.
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 06:03 PM   #1248
Tech Fanatic
 
SLOWINSLOWOUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: West Kelowna, BC
Posts: 842
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Would like a little help and understanding of setting up the boost on a VTX1 please.

Running in 17.5 boosted 1cell 12th scale. Using a VST17.5 w/12.0mm rotor.

First, what is the KV of this motor(with 12mm rotor)?

Second, for one cell, do I half the values as calculated for rpm start/finish points?(from the formula in the users manual)

Do I set the physical timing on the motor to its lowest point?

Does the acceleration boost timing and the top speed timing stack? As in abt+tst=total timing.

Some suggested starting points would be great. Along with roll-out.

Thanks
SLOWINSLOWOUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 08:57 PM   #1249
Tech Fanatic
 
rc pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Airdire, AB, Canada
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLOWINSLOWOUT View Post
Would like a little help and understanding of setting up the boost on a VTX1 please.

Running in 17.5 boosted 1cell 12th scale. Using a VST17.5 w/12.0mm rotor.

First, what is the KV of this motor(with 12mm rotor)?

Second, for one cell, do I half the values as calculated for rpm start/finish points?(from the formula in the users manual)

Do I set the physical timing on the motor to its lowest point?

Does the acceleration boost timing and the top speed timing stack? As in abt+tst=total timing.

Some suggested starting points would be great. Along with roll-out.

Thanks
Here are my VTX1 settings for 17.5 boosted. I ran these with the A30 firmware last time I ran the class, haven't tried A55 on it but should be pretty close if not the same.

Brake: strength 80%, freq 4000Hz, linear
Smart brake: disabled
Drag brake: 0%
Throttle: freq 5000 Hz, punch 100%, linear, narrow deadband
Motor power: Accelration 2000-6000RPM, 35 deg, Top speed slew rate 10, max timing 25 deg, delay 0.10s
Misc: run mode open, holeshot launch 3sec, BEC voltage 5.2, fwd power 100%, auto power 5min
Protection: batt cut off 3.1V, Motor temp disabled, ESC temp 220

Motor static timing at 15 to 20 degrees, rollout 72-75 with Reedy Sonic 17.5, standard rotor.

I wouldn't recommend the smaller rotor for 17.5 on 1-cell. Theoretically, it's supposed to spool up more, but I found on 1-cell it didn't make as much more top end and you had to gear it way lower to retain torque. In the end, neither the torque or the top end was never there with the smaller rotor. I found the standard rotor with slightly taller gearing to be the way to go.

Pete
__________________
Team Associated - Reedy - Pro-Line - RC Depot - OS Engines - 110% Racing - LD Graphics
rc pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 09:28 PM   #1250
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,675
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

the slew rate is different on a55, would start low like 3 or 4 and adjust after some testing.

Thanks Pete!!!
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 08:03 AM   #1251
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 148
Default

I want to run a VST 4.5T motor on a large outdoor track, where high RPM is more important than torque. As I understand, the 4.5T comes with a 12.3mm rotor and a fan.

- Should I remove the fan form the rotor to achieve higher RPM? Do you think that might damage the motor?

- If I replaced the rotor with an optional 12mm, would it suit my track better?

Thanx!
billtc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 08:43 AM   #1252
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 507
Default Top speed timing

I didnt realize any op speed timing kicks in, i'm using SP 3.0 17.5T with VTX-10R, its for F1 chassis with boost.
The acceleration boost is full in 60, (4000-10000rpm) , top speed timing 40, motor end bell 0.
I checked that, if I adjust the accerleration boost in 0, top speed timing in 40, I feel the rpm is not stable, seems like going up and down continuously in full throttle.
When I adjust the acc boost again, there is no up and down rpm in full throttle but I can't feel any top speed timing kicks in.
Is it normal?
__________________
GP: Capricorn C03 1/10 touring, Capricorn C803 1/8 onroad
Engine: Tesla .12 WC, Tesla .21 7 port on-road, Rody VS02, OS 2101
beebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 11:17 AM   #1253
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: lost...
Posts: 2,854
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I have a VTX 1 esc, can I relocate the cap on the speedo some how or use a different one?

I have it mounted in a 10R5.1 and when the pod goes through its full movement, the pod's upper plate hits the cap.
RoyU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 11:28 AM   #1254
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 1,758
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyU View Post
I have a VTX 1 esc, can I relocate the cap on the speedo some how or use a different one?

I have it mounted in a 10R5.1 and when the pod goes through its full movement, the pod's upper plate hits the cap.
How close to full travel can you get? You can try mounting the speedo sideways so that the cap is further away from the rear of the car, although that might make your wiring a little trickier. Not sure what replacement caps you can use on a VTX1.
__________________
Chris Hillier | 5280 Raceway | www.5280raceway.com | Racing. Elevated.

Destiny | LRP America | Protoform | Xenon/JFT | Gravity RC | Motiv | Sanwa | Max.FX
LloydLoar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 11:53 AM   #1255
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: lost...
Posts: 2,854
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LloydLoar View Post
How close to full travel can you get? You can try mounting the speedo sideways so that the cap is further away from the rear of the car, although that might make your wiring a little trickier. Not sure what replacement caps you can use on a VTX1.
No matter what position the esc in either the bottom of the ball stud, damper tube ends or upper pod plate hits the cap.

I was thinking of removing the cap, mounting on side and use 16 ga wires to reconnect to the esc. How much would this affect the esc? I thougth I asked before doing it.
RoyU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 12:08 PM   #1256
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Well they do have an alternate cap that is attached via wires:

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...pacitor-Module

So I would think it would work...but not sure.

I had a similar issue on my GenXi 1/12th when I had the ESC mounted behind the battery but found I could get it to clear if I just turned the ESC sideways.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 07:56 PM   #1257
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,675
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

You could move it and use wire to attach, I haven't heard of a clearance issue with many cars. You won't be using a really low turn motor in WGT so it should be an issue.

beebone- I am going to have to set my esc up like that to see if I can duplicate what your doing. Gives me a reason to get away from the in laws tomorrow!!!
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 07:59 PM   #1258
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,675
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

Merry Christmas everyone!!!

Thanks for your support in 2012 - and we are looking towards as great 2013!!!!
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 05:38 AM   #1259
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Default

hi where do you post your (touring) Wiper setup sheet and where can we read them
r...s T...z
thomaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 09:01 AM   #1260
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,675
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

We have only limited touring set up sheets right what type of racing are you doing and I will see what I can dig up.
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Viper RC - mini-dub Radio and Electronics 12069 12-04-2017 10:44 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:10 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net