R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-10-2012, 03:29 PM   #1141
Tech Fanatic
 
ekim628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: OC
Posts: 815
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Luppi- Glad to hear it's working for you now. If you have any more questions let me know and I will help you.

Also the IIC setups will be posted today or tomorrow on this forum and our website. Please stay tuned
__________________
Eric K.

/ Team Associated / Viper RC / Radiopost / Sweep Tires / Much-More Racing / RAL Designs / Parma USA
ekim628 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 09:43 PM   #1142
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 688
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

so i have a tough one for you guys to figure out, i ran my 12r5.1 with a viper 17.5, so long story short by the end of the night i was running a rollout of 102 and maximum acceleration and top speed boost and my motor only came off after 8 mins at 115 degrees! no joke!

i still need a setup for 17.5 boosted though cuz i still need speed?! thanks in advance
__________________
Team Associated SC10- LRP - Viper VST10.5
Losi SCTE - Viper VTX10R - Viper VSTXL 4.5
Savage XL - Dynamite Big Red .28
Viper RC - MIP - PM Hobbycraft - Pro-Line - Spektrum
calo247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 11:08 AM   #1143
Tech Regular
 
Luppi Stefano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 490
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ekim628 View Post
Luppi- Glad to hear it's working for you now. If you have any more questions let me know and I will help you.
in my opinion Viper VST Motor is the best on market, really!
VTX10R, I have to try better, but even with 13.5T I love it, Blinky and Boost!
I can't wait to try it with the new Mt-4 and 4.5T...

really compliments!

p.s. I have a little question about Optional ESC Fan, it start a definite temperature, or not? (what temperature you have set?)
...because mine has never turned...
thanks
__________________
Team Capricorn Italy
Lab F1-01

Last edited by Luppi Stefano; 10-11-2012 at 01:04 PM.
Luppi Stefano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 01:32 PM   #1144
Tech Fanatic
 
ekim628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: OC
Posts: 815
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by calo247 View Post
so i have a tough one for you guys to figure out, i ran my 12r5.1 with a viper 17.5, so long story short by the end of the night i was running a rollout of 102 and maximum acceleration and top speed boost and my motor only came off after 8 mins at 115 degrees! no joke!

i still need a setup for 17.5 boosted though cuz i still need speed?! thanks in advance
Hmmm, thats sounds too cool. I dont know anyone running boost 17.5 in 12th scale anymore but i would try different rollout, maybe 120 and increase the boost timing to 40* and max acceleration timing to 35*

For the RPM start and finish it should be around 3,000 start 12,000 depending on the track layout and straight length
__________________
Eric K.

/ Team Associated / Viper RC / Radiopost / Sweep Tires / Much-More Racing / RAL Designs / Parma USA
ekim628 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 01:33 PM   #1145
Tech Fanatic
 
dski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 764
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Looking at the setup sheets from IIC, A30 was run in blinky class. What is the reasoning to not run A55?
dski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 01:36 PM   #1146
Tech Fanatic
 
ekim628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: OC
Posts: 815
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Well Luppi, if you attached the fan directly to the port on the back of the ESC, it should turn on when the esc is turned on. I usually hook up my fan directly to the positive and negative terminal on the esc so it runs off battery power at 7-8 volts, much stronger than running from BEC voltage

Let me know if it still doesnt work

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luppi Stefano View Post
in my opinion Viper VST Motor is the best on market, really!
VTX10R, I have to try better, but even with 13.5T I love it, Blinky and Boost!
I can't wait to try it with the new Mt-4 and 4.5T...

really compliments!

p.s. I have a little question about Optional ESC Fan, it start a definite temperature, or not? (what temperature you have set?)
...because mine has never turned...
thanks
__________________
Eric K.

/ Team Associated / Viper RC / Radiopost / Sweep Tires / Much-More Racing / RAL Designs / Parma USA
ekim628 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 01:40 PM   #1147
Tech Fanatic
 
ekim628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: OC
Posts: 815
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Setup sheets from the Exciting IIC Indoor Carpet Championships are up on Viper's Website http://www.viper-rc.com/vtx1.php

Josh's 12th scale MOD setup

http://www.viper-rc.com/uploads/setu...9d8f789a53.pdf

Josh's winning 10.5 Expert WGT setup

http://www.viper-rc.com/uploads/setu...0599d83cf4.pdf

Mark Smyka 17.5 Non Boost 12th scale setup

http://www.viper-rc.com/uploads/setu...0d1c4082a5.pdf

Eric-
__________________
Eric K.

/ Team Associated / Viper RC / Radiopost / Sweep Tires / Much-More Racing / RAL Designs / Parma USA
ekim628 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 03:08 PM   #1148
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by calo247 View Post
so i have a tough one for you guys to figure out, i ran my 12r5.1 with a viper 17.5, so long story short by the end of the night i was running a rollout of 102 and maximum acceleration and top speed boost and my motor only came off after 8 mins at 115 degrees! no joke!

i still need a setup for 17.5 boosted though cuz i still need speed?! thanks in advance
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekim628 View Post
Hmmm, thats sounds too cool. I dont know anyone running boost 17.5 in 12th scale anymore but i would try different rollout, maybe 120 and increase the boost timing to 40* and max acceleration timing to 35*

For the RPM start and finish it should be around 3,000 start 12,000 depending on the track layout and straight length
Those rollouts don't seem right for a 17.5 boosted. I think 17.5 blinky at paved nats was up around 120mm with their huuuuuuuuuge straight. In 13.5 blinky on 100x50' carpet, we were running 85-90mm, and I'd expect you'd want to be at least that low for a boosted 17.5.

I'm betting you're not getting the motor RPMs up high enough to even get your boost and top speed timing to kick in. What are your settings?

-Mike
grippgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 04:15 PM   #1149
Tech Regular
 
Luppi Stefano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 490
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ekim628 View Post
Well Luppi, if you attached the fan directly to the port on the back of the ESC, it should turn on when the esc is turned on. I usually hook up my fan directly to the positive and negative terminal on the esc so it runs off battery power at 7-8 volts, much stronger than running from BEC voltage

Let me know if it still doesnt work
connected to the battery, not works!
I change from mikimodel
__________________
Team Capricorn Italy
Lab F1-01
Luppi Stefano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 04:26 PM   #1150
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 688
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grippgoat View Post
Those rollouts don't seem right for a 17.5 boosted. I think 17.5 blinky at paved nats was up around 120mm with their huuuuuuuuuge straight. In 13.5 blinky on 100x50' carpet, we were running 85-90mm, and I'd expect you'd want to be at least that low for a boosted 17.5.

I'm betting you're not getting the motor RPMs up high enough to even get your boost and top speed timing to kick in. What are your settings?

-Mike
i tried a 75mm roll out the week before and i could not keep it under 180 even with no timing
__________________
Team Associated SC10- LRP - Viper VST10.5
Losi SCTE - Viper VTX10R - Viper VSTXL 4.5
Savage XL - Dynamite Big Red .28
Viper RC - MIP - PM Hobbycraft - Pro-Line - Spektrum
calo247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 05:56 PM   #1151
Tech Fanatic
 
ekim628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: OC
Posts: 815
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Well A30 and A55 is identical in spec blinky mode. Nothing has really changed except the boost and advanced timing parameters. We wanted to follow all the rules set by the IIC crew so it was safer to run A30.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dski View Post
Looking at the setup sheets from IIC, A30 was run in blinky class. What is the reasoning to not run A55?
__________________
Eric K.

/ Team Associated / Viper RC / Radiopost / Sweep Tires / Much-More Racing / RAL Designs / Parma USA
ekim628 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 09:23 PM   #1152
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,620
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys anybody have a good starting point for 17.5 boosted ...first time with a viper vtx10....any settings help would be appreciated....thanks.
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 11:00 AM   #1153
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,620
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

ANYONE?.....how do you set boost on this damn thing!!!!VTX10.....ITS saying invalid mode when i try to get into the motor power section of the menu.......i have never had a speedo give me as much trouble as this damn viper!
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 11:34 AM   #1154
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Well most 17.5 racing in the US has gone to blinky mode so it may be a little while before you find someone with a boost setup.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 12:19 PM   #1155
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 126
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Setting Motor Power Settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by theatriks View Post
ANYONE?.....how do you set boost on this damn thing!!!!VTX10.....ITS saying invalid mode when i try to get into the motor power section of the menu.......i have never had a speedo give me as much trouble as this damn viper!
Hello,

You need to go into Misc Control/Run Mode and change it from Race Blinking. The Motor Power settings cannot be set as long as it is in Race Blinking mode. Race Open allows the Motor Power settings to be changed, but disables reverse. Practice mode also allows reverse.

Regards,
__________________
David
TC, WGT, and 12th
Note: my username is a crossword puzzle clue to my first name. It is not a statement of my abilities as a driver (obviously).
GoliathOpponent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Viper RC - mini-dub Radio and Electronics 12069 12-04-2017 10:44 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:14 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net