R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-19-2012, 08:21 PM   #1081
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikos2002 View Post
I forget the name of the company (bought at stormer), but it's just the pins. You can shorten the wire and put on new pins. Just re-apply the plug.
That's fine for shortening the lead...but doesn't work for lengthening it. I went and bought the good crimper from Servo City to be able to properly crimp pins onto the lead so I'm set for shortening it...but sometimes the lead gets beat up and needs to be replaced or we move it to another car where the longer lead is needed again.

I do think it is great how long the lead already comes for the Viper. It made it easy to install in my WGT car without having to use an extension.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 08:33 PM   #1082
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: victoria BC
Posts: 810
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys,

Been on the fence on changing esc. for the coming up indoor winter season.

I presently use a tekin rs. 90 % or our club does too.

I've alway like to use new and different brands. to see what the difference might be.

Ive been watching viper on the sidelines, for awhile and see what it all about.

We race only 12 scale 17.5 boosted here. We have 3 to 4 heats. So 12 scale is a live here.

my question how does and would this esc keep up with the tekin with boost.

cheers
cyrrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 10:54 PM   #1083
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,673
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

question should be how do they keep up with us

Seriously - excellent boost and timing functions and performance, tremendous options for your adjustment.
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 07:34 AM   #1084
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 862
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikos2002 View Post
I forget the name of the company (bought at stormer), but it's just the pins. You can shorten the wire and put on new pins. Just re-apply the plug. As has been mentioned by others, that doesn't help when you need to go back and lengthen the wire again. Yes, you could go back and add an extension to your shortened wire, but that's hack and just adds another point of failure.

Sensor wire question- never looked at it as an issue. How often are you replacing sensor wires? I very rarely replace them (my experience). It's not a matter of how often, it's a matter that WHEN it needs to be done it's a pain in the ass compared to other ESCs that place it on top where it's easily accessible.

ProGauge question- the idea of the ProGauge was so you didn't need a whole computer set up to make the adjustment, and it could be done quickly trackside. Adding batteries making it bigger, complicates the work and the process (what if that battery dies?). If the battery dies, you failover to working off of the car's battery. I'm not talking about strapping a 12v deep cycle battery to the Pro Gauge. I'm talking about a small, 3v lithium button cell here. I'm sure there's plenty of extra room inside the Pro Gauge casing for one. Increased size should be a non-issue. By your logic, mechanical calipers would be far superior to a digital pair simply because the battery in the digital pair will eventually die. It's called "replacing the battery", and it's not difficult.
Thoughts in red.
Serzoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 07:38 AM   #1085
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 862
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyrrus View Post
my question how does and would this esc keep up with the tekin with boost.
Speed wise, they're about the same. The Viper has the advantage of not requiring a booster or receiver pack though. That's the only reason I'm using them in my pan cars vs a Tekin. With the A55 firmware update, you lose a little bit of adjustment over the Tekin in regards to boost, but once setup correctly they're still competitive.
Serzoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 08:40 PM   #1086
Tech Master
 
Dog Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,411
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Can somebody share their ESC settings for 17.5t VST boosted for 1/12 scale (VTX1, preferably A55)? I'd also like to know what rollout you're running, as well as end-bell timing.

Thx!
__________________
Ken Miller
T4 2015
CRC Twenty5
Dog Bone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 10:44 AM   #1087
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,673
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

Ken, I answered some of your questions with the email. Nick
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 07:55 PM   #1088
Tech Master
 
Jordan Anderson's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 1,243
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Oops, wrong thread...
__________________
JORDAN // EVAN
R/C GEARS , TRUKZ/KARZ , VRC PRO

Last edited by Jordan Anderson; 09-22-2012 at 08:16 PM. Reason: ... meant to put this in the Viper off road thread...
Jordan Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 08:56 AM   #1089
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 220
Default

Well finally ran the car with the new VTX1 last night.....and I love it!!

Got some settings to start off with from a fellow VTX1 owner Kev Creaser and worked from there. No other GT cars to compare against and I was in a heat with cars running 1s 13.5 blinky but still managed to put in some quick laps. My quickest was less than a second that one of the top guys in the county racing 1/12ths running a mod motor!

One small thing I noticed though was that when the boost kicks in on my motor it makes quite a click in the motor (this is just revving it up on the bench). I am not sure if I noticed it on track or not but just something I would mention.

Also should I be concerned about the speedo getting up to about 42degreeC after a race? Or is that just the casing doing it job and getting rid of the heat from the actual components?

Can't wait to get back to the track again!!
__________________
http://rcgtpancars.blogspot.com/

Last edited by chris_blakey; 09-25-2012 at 12:16 AM.
chris_blakey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 12:48 PM   #1090
Tech Master
 
Dog Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,411
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_blakey View Post
Well finally ran the car with the new VTX1 last night.....and I love it!!

Got some settings to start off with from a fellow VTX1 owner and worked from there. No other GT cars to compare against and I was in a heat with cars running 1s 13.5 blinky but still managed to put in some quick laps. My quickest was less than a second that one of the top guys in the county racing 1/12ths running a mod motor!

One small thing I noticed though was that when the boost kicks in on my motor it makes quite a click in the motor (this is just revving it up on the bench). I am not sure if I noticed it on track or not but just something I would mention.

Also should I be concerned about the speedo getting up to about 42degreeC after a race? Or is that just the casing doing it job and getting rid of the heat from the actual components?

Can't wait to get back to the track again!!
Can you post your settings for the rest of us, including rollout? I tried all sorts of things last night in 17.5 1/12 boosted, and I was still *way* slower than the other cars running Tekin's. Very frustrating.
__________________
Ken Miller
T4 2015
CRC Twenty5
Dog Bone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 01:02 PM   #1091
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,673
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

From the email you sent me the other day, did you lower your start rpm (down to 1000). What is your rollout. The guys testing for IIC are around 94-95 at the track they are testing on - but that is blinky 17.5. Just didn't know if it would help you to know that. Ken check your PM.
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 01:05 PM   #1092
Tech Master
 
Swampracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Squamish
Posts: 1,750
Trader Rating: 69 (99%+)
Default Set-up

I run 12th scale and just installed the VTX1.

Is there a link or forum on the Viper website that has set-up's for 17.5, 13.5 and 10.5?

Thanks Greg G
Swampracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 01:16 PM   #1093
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 220
Default

Dog_Bone, I will do when I use my laptop tomorrow, saved the settings on there. I was running WGT 10.5 boosted though so don't know how much use they will be. I don't know much about 17.5 boosted 1/12th sorry.

Nick any theorys about my questions in my previous post?
__________________
http://rcgtpancars.blogspot.com/
chris_blakey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 05:02 PM   #1094
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,673
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

I wouldn't worry to much about esc heat in 1/12. That case is just pulling hear from the board. If there was a real heat issue the cut off would kick in.

PM me your settings. Don't know why there would be a click sound.
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 03:15 PM   #1095
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 220
Default

settings PMed to nick but here they are for anyone else:

Running WGT 10.5 boosted. Trinity D3 motor with about 5 degrees ish on the motor.

52mmpr

BRAKE
Strength 80%
PWM Freq 2500hz
Linear

Throttle
pwm freq 3200hz
punch 100%
curve linear
band narrrow

MOTOR POWER
start rpm 3000
finish rpm 11000
Max timing 30

TOP SPEED TIMING
Slew 8
Max timing 15

Again thanks to Kev creaser for these
__________________
http://rcgtpancars.blogspot.com/

Last edited by chris_blakey; 09-25-2012 at 12:17 AM.
chris_blakey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Viper RC - mini-dub Radio and Electronics 12069 12-04-2017 10:44 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:15 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net