R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-23-2012, 04:47 PM   #976
Tech Adept
 
rcnickv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Regina, SK, Canada
Posts: 125
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default 1s usage for vtx-10

Is it possible to download vtx-1 software and use it in a vtx-10 to allow the vtx-10 to operate on 1s? I know it won't have the proper bec but I don't mind using a booster or rx pack. I can't remove the voltage cutoff or get it low enough to use 1s. I don't want to have to buy another esc if I decide to run 1/12th.

On another note I am extremely happy with the product while I have been running it in my touring car.

Thanks, Nick
rcnickv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 08:21 PM   #977
Tech Master
 
Me_MrTyson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,802
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Me_MrTyson Send a message via Skype™ to Me_MrTyson
Default

V-link software has been released for anyone looking

http://www.viper-rc.com/pclink/updat..._VTX10_A55.zip
__________________
Team losi racing // v-dezign // black diamond
Me_MrTyson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 05:24 PM   #978
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Uttoxeter, UK
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Me_MrTyson View Post
V-link software has been released for anyone looking

http://www.viper-rc.com/pclink/updat..._VTX10_A55.zip
Please be aware i have had an issue going from firmware A19 to A55 the latest with the Vlink, Please make sure you have a back up copy of your current firmware incase you need to roll back, I Have made Viper aware
__________________
Pressure Washers and industrial cleaning equipment in the uk check out www.preciouswashers.co.uk
dazzler-pws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 05:31 PM   #979
Tech Master
 
Me_MrTyson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,802
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Me_MrTyson Send a message via Skype™ to Me_MrTyson
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dazzler-pws View Post
Please be aware i have had an issue going from firmware A19 to A55 the latest with the Vlink, Please make sure you have a back up copy of your current firmware incase you need to roll back, I Have made Viper aware
So is it better to upgrade to A30 first?
__________________
Team losi racing // v-dezign // black diamond
Me_MrTyson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 05:39 PM   #980
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Uttoxeter, UK
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Me_MrTyson View Post
So is it better to upgrade to A30 first?
I will be trying that tomorrow and will see if the problem stays, Just make sure you have a copy of your working firmware incase you suffer problems.
__________________
Pressure Washers and industrial cleaning equipment in the uk check out www.preciouswashers.co.uk
dazzler-pws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 10:34 PM   #981
Tech Addict
 
macavant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RC dojo
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dazzler-pws View Post
incase you suffer problems.
I had to upload the A55 firmware 3 times. The first 2 times - it seemed to have issues (red LED on, no arming - nothing else). The 3rd attempt, upon completion the message about radio calibration showed and then the ESC armed. My 2nd VTX10 with the A30 loaded w/o issues the first attempt. I'm holding off on loading the A55 on my VTX1...
__________________
likes the oldskool RC action...
F201☆F104WGP☆M01.M05.YR4MSe.TA05.XV-01Pro.ABC_Genetic(Exotek)☆microRS4-Motek☆TA02SW☆WR02.CC-01.G6-01.SandScorcher☆TRF201☆TRF417X.TRF101.TRF101W
macavant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 10:21 AM   #982
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 87
Default

Ive got a question. Im running the vtx10r w/ a 5.5 vst motor. im geared at 90t on the spur and 16t on the pinion gear. I use this on my hpi sprint 2 that i use for drifting. the problem that im having is that it wants to stop running. I have the motor and esc set to cut off at 160 degrees. what should i do to get it to run a lil cooler
twonb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 01:53 PM   #983
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

What's new in A55?

-Mike
grippgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 02:11 PM   #984
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: columbus oh
Posts: 886
Default

when are the new motors coming out??
starrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 02:32 PM   #985
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Uttoxeter, UK
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grippgoat View Post
What's new in A55?

-Mike
More buttons to press, Vlink is very easy to use and understand on the computer.

I assume A55 is to make the speedo line up with the Vlink
__________________
Pressure Washers and industrial cleaning equipment in the uk check out www.preciouswashers.co.uk
dazzler-pws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 05:03 PM   #986
Tech Master
 
Me_MrTyson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,802
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Me_MrTyson Send a message via Skype™ to Me_MrTyson
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dazzler-pws View Post
More buttons to press, Vlink is very easy to use and understand on the computer.

I assume A55 is to make the speedo line up with the Vlink

From the website what A55 has to offer

•Improved radio calibration process.
•Improved boost performance.
•Improved brake performance.
•V-Link Software for firmware updating and profile management,and ESC settings.
•Good for both on and off road applications
__________________
Team losi racing // v-dezign // black diamond
Me_MrTyson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 05:02 PM   #987
Tech Addict
 
b_recliner's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Port Royal, PA
Posts: 501
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

21.5 viper motor for sale cheap in this thread. thanks

http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-item...st-21-5-a.html
__________________
Tracks: Richfield Raceway, LCRC, DRP
Current Cars: Xray t4 '14, Schumacher Cougar KF, Schumacher Mi5, Losi 22 2.0, Losi 8ight E 3.0
b_recliner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 09:05 PM   #988
Tech Master
 
silvalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,545
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Me_MrTyson View Post
From the website what A55 has to offer

•Improved radio calibration process.
•Improved boost performance.
•Improved brake performance.
•V-Link Software for firmware updating and profile management,and ESC settings.
•Good for both on and off road applications
I updated all of my vipers to a55 earlier this week. One of them (VTX10) carked it shortly after, not sure what happened though. Another one (10R) has booted up incorrectly once (single red light), but worked fine afterwards.

I'll be seeing how my VTX1 in 12th and 10R in tc goes tomorrow with A55. Radio calibration and boost seemed about the same for me in offroad. Brakes seemed a little bit stronger. I also noticed that default brake freq. is now 2500Hz? I thought default used to be 3200 or something?

Biggest gripe for me right now (mentioned in offroad viper thread) is after modifying a profile in VLink, it isn't set as the operating profile. Have to switch that via the button or via progauge.
__________________
2013 QLD Champion Potato Sack Racer
silvalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 06:19 AM   #989
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: italy
Posts: 198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silvalis View Post
I updated all of my vipers to a55 earlier this week. One of them (VTX10) carked it shortly after, not sure what happened though. Another one (10R) has booted up incorrectly once (single red light), but worked fine afterwards.

I'll be seeing how my VTX1 in 12th and 10R in tc goes tomorrow with A55. Radio calibration and boost seemed about the same for me in offroad. Brakes seemed a little bit stronger. I also noticed that default brake freq. is now 2500Hz? I thought default used to be 3200 or something?

Biggest gripe for me right now (mentioned in offroad viper thread) is after modifying a profile in VLink, it isn't set as the operating profile. Have to switch that via the button or via progauge.
Ciao Silvas,

posted this morning my impression on a55 on viper's forum, you are right new firmware improved the brake.
Viper's people explained both in their forum and facebook that vlink can only edit the profile, for chenge it in the esc you must use the progauge or the button as previous.
Two complains, first no data logger option available, non chance to print out esc set up

Ciao
Max
__________________
Touring: WRC STX
F1: WRC F-ONE 200 and 180 mm
ESC:Viper VTX10R; Motor: too many; Radio: Sanwa MT4

Don't follow me.... at the end of the straight there is the hairpin and my wall.....
mtaddei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 06:18 PM   #990
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,673
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

Ciao, Max - thanks for the answer. That is correct, the VLink was not intended as a tool to change profiles, just the features within it.

Will it evolve -- how knows -- lots of cool ideas under consideration.

Curious to those who had the issues with it not "taking" the first time. Did you ever have update issues with the old program? Like you had to do it multiple times?

For those going to update the VTX1 - remember, its a separate VLink download, because the software differs for the 1s application.
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Viper RC - mini-dub Radio and Electronics 12069 12-04-2017 10:44 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:29 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net