R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-02-2012, 01:15 PM   #871
Tech Master
 
gonzo416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,938
Trader Rating: 39 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcar951 View Post
7.2 to 7.7 FDR, for best punch on a small technical carpet track (TC 13.5 boosted).
looking for FDR to 13.5 blinky
gonzo416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 01:40 PM   #872
RAL
Tech Elite
 
RAL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,265
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzo416 View Post
looking for FDR to 13.5 blinky
Try 3.8-4.0 depending on track size. And turn the motor timing up. Adjust gearing for punch/top speed and motor temp. 150-160deg F is ok.
__________________
TEAM ARAI GRIP ● J★STYLE ● P1 BRAND ● RÄLDESIGNWERKS ● EXOTEK
RAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 02:13 PM   #873
Tech Master
 
gonzo416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,938
Trader Rating: 39 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAL View Post
Try 3.8-4.0 depending on track size. And turn the motor timing up. Adjust gearing for punch/top speed and motor temp. 150-160deg F is ok.
Track is 70 x 40. Should I use the regular rotor or the 12.3?
gonzo416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 09:32 PM   #874
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: lost...
Posts: 2,854
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Planning on getting the VTX1 esc and would like to know how is it performing so far for those who have it, good and bad.
RoyU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 10:33 PM   #875
Tech Fanatic
 
rc pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Airdire, AB, Canada
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyU View Post
Planning on getting the VTX1 esc and would like to know how is it performing so far for those who have it, good and bad.
Been running one in my Stock TC (17.5 blinky) and 1/12 Stock and Super Stock over the last 3 weeks. It's been excellent in both. At the Western Canadian Indoor Champs Series last weekend I TQ'd & won the TC stock class with it, and TQ'd & finished 2nd in the 1/12 Super stock (was winning when I chunked a tire... foam.. what are you going to do, right?). It ships with A30 firmware which works great with 2S lipo, but you need to run the A25 software for 1S.

Pete
__________________
Team Associated - Reedy - Pro-Line - RC Depot - OS Engines - 110% Racing - LD Graphics
rc pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 10:35 PM   #876
Tech Regular
 
rc lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: DALLAS,TX
Posts: 454
Trader Rating: 18 (95%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to rc lover
Smile brushless

Is this setup for 1/10 scale on road stock and mod.
__________________
Abdul (AKA) THE Heat ALI
rc lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 09:18 AM   #877
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Calgary, AB CANADA
Posts: 833
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Hey Pete,

You wouldn't happen to have a recommendation for a starting point for 12th Stock (boosted 17.5T) would you. I picked up a VTX1 last night and I'd like to run it at the KARZ race tonight.

Cheers,
Mike

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc pete View Post
Been running one in my Stock TC (17.5 blinky) and 1/12 Stock and Super Stock over the last 3 weeks. It's been excellent in both. At the Western Canadian Indoor Champs Series last weekend I TQ'd & won the TC stock class with it, and TQ'd & finished 2nd in the 1/12 Super stock (was winning when I chunked a tire... foam.. what are you going to do, right?). It ships with A30 firmware which works great with 2S lipo, but you need to run the A25 software for 1S.

Pete
__________________
Mike
Hyper_Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 04:29 PM   #878
Tech Master
 
gonzo416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,938
Trader Rating: 39 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAL View Post
Try 3.8-4.0 depending on track size. And turn the motor timing up. Adjust gearing for punch/top speed and motor temp. 150-160deg F is ok.
Thanks. I was at 4.15 with 1 line less than full timing on the can. Highest temp has been 150deg. I'm going to go up a tooth and see if it will help.
gonzo416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 12:38 AM   #879
Tech Fanatic
 
ekim628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: OC
Posts: 815
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc pete View Post
Been running one in my Stock TC (17.5 blinky) and 1/12 Stock and Super Stock over the last 3 weeks. It's been excellent in both. At the Western Canadian Indoor Champs Series last weekend I TQ'd & won the TC stock class with it, and TQ'd & finished 2nd in the 1/12 Super stock (was winning when I chunked a tire... foam.. what are you going to do, right?). It ships with A30 firmware which works great with 2S lipo, but you need to run the A25 software for 1S.

Pete
The VTX1 A30 software that comes pre-installed works with both 1S and 2S. Did the A30 not work for you? Please Pete know so I can help you.
__________________
Eric K.

/ Team Associated / Viper RC / Radiopost / Sweep Tires / Much-More Racing / RAL Designs / Parma USA
ekim628 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 02:19 PM   #880
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 29
Default Setup for 1 cell modified

I have frequently looked at Viper´s homepage for some setup´s for 1 cell modifeid. But it still said comming soon. Does anyone have a good setup for the VTX1 1 cell modified 1/12 class.
Running a 3.0 speedpassion. I have run the tekin reg, but want to get rid of the booster or reciever pack to get the weight down and keep the weiring simpler.
I have no place to practice and have a race cooming up this weekend.
Hope someone have a setup they would share, it would save me lots of time under the practice round.
In advance thanks.
speikey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 03:59 PM   #881
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Calgary, AB CANADA
Posts: 833
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I'm not Pete but I race with him and raced on Saturday night with my brand new VTX1 w/ A30 software. Part way through the 2nd and 3rd qualies my car would just "freak out" for a split second. It would suddenly stop dead and coast for a second and then start working again. Pete indicated that when he first used is VTX1 w/ A30 software it did the same thing to him. Once he switched to A25 the problem went away. The other issue that I had was that I had NO brakes even with braking set to maximum. I'd hit full brakes and the car would coast for 6-8 feet before stopping. I'm not sure what to make of it as I'm brand new to Viper products but I suspect I'll load A25 into mine based on mine and Pete's experience.

Cheers,
Mike

Quote:
Originally Posted by ekim628 View Post
The VTX1 A30 software that comes pre-installed works with both 1S and 2S. Did the A30 not work for you? Please Pete know so I can help you.
__________________
Mike
Hyper_Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 06:40 PM   #882
Tech Master
 
Dog Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,411
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

One other issue you may run into is that trying to use the programmer with A30 on the VTX1 may not work properly - I had a heck of a time getting the ESC into program mode with A30.

Once I installed A25, no issues.
__________________
Ken Miller
T4 2015
CRC Twenty5
Dog Bone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 08:19 PM   #883
Tech Master
 
dag32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,638
Trader Rating: 109 (100%+)
Default

I just purchased a VTX1 and have yet to install it into my 1/12, I hope I don't have these issues because it might be my first and last Viper product.
__________________
★ David Garcia ★
dag32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 08:49 AM   #884
Tech Fanatic
 
rc pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Airdire, AB, Canada
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dog Bone View Post
One other issue you may run into is that trying to use the programmer with A30 on the VTX1 may not work properly - I had a heck of a time getting the ESC into program mode with A30.

Once I installed A25, no issues.
For me that turned out to be user error.

You need to get the ESC into program mode first and then plug in the ProGuage (as per the instructions).
I've got one VTX1 on A25 in my 1/12 and one on A30 in my TC, and haven't had this issue since I started doing it in the right sequence.
__________________
Team Associated - Reedy - Pro-Line - RC Depot - OS Engines - 110% Racing - LD Graphics
rc pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 08:53 AM   #885
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyper_Mike View Post
I'm not Pete but I race with him and raced on Saturday night with my brand new VTX1 w/ A30 software. Part way through the 2nd and 3rd qualies my car would just "freak out" for a split second. It would suddenly stop dead and coast for a second and then start working again. Pete indicated that when he first used is VTX1 w/ A30 software it did the same thing to him. Once he switched to A25 the problem went away. The other issue that I had was that I had NO brakes even with braking set to maximum. I'd hit full brakes and the car would coast for 6-8 feet before stopping. I'm not sure what to make of it as I'm brand new to Viper products but I suspect I'll load A25 into mine based on mine and Pete's experience.

Cheers,
Mike
Mike, I had the same problem when setting up my VTX1 with A30 software, esc would shut down and rearm. Traced the problem to the neutral setting of my transmitter here is what I had to do to overcome this problem (my radio is futaba 3vcs with spektrum 2.4ghz module) on transmitter set brake/throttle mode to 50/50( instead of70/30) and put throttle and brake transmitter end points to 120% (instead of 100%) then calibrate with esc and shutdown problem is cured.

Hope its of some help to you as have now run esc and am impressed with it.
blackbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Viper RC - mini-dub Radio and Electronics 12069 12-04-2017 10:44 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:14 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net