R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-14-2011, 05:49 PM   #781
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 718
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I have a vtx10r in a sc104x4. The motor is a 5.0L. Last week was the first run with it and the truck would shut off. Nothing was over 130 degrees. I tried diffrent battery and sinsior wire. Any help?
__________________
Lendel Smith
SikKustomz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 03:41 AM   #782
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SikKustomz View Post
I have a vtx10r in a sc104x4. The motor is a 5.0L. Last week was the first run with it and the truck would shut off. Nothing was over 130 degrees. I tried diffrent battery and sinsior wire. Any help?
Wich brand motor?
__________________
Team AME/ORCA
https://www.facebook.com/strawberryrcdesigns
http://www.strawberryrcdesigns.pt/
jorgesimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 09:53 AM   #783
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 718
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Viper 550 5.0L. The whole truck will shut off. Press the button turns on everything works fine. Almost seems to be a pattern will shut off after about 2 laps then after I can finsh the race?
__________________
Lendel Smith
SikKustomz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 09:58 AM   #784
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Fort Hood,TX
Posts: 1,196
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

I would check your temp shut off settings and if that does nothing try to redo all your solder joints.. After that I would try trading out different components to narrow down the problem.
__________________
Team Radiopost-SMC Racing-R1wurks-Savox-AKA
XB2ce
BIGTRUX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 10:04 AM   #785
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 718
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Shut off temps are at 220. Nothing seen over 130. Tried diffrent motor still did it. When I run in practice mode never shut off?
__________________
Lendel Smith
SikKustomz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 10:31 AM   #786
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 547
Default

Have you tried to disable shut off temp cut for motor? That happen since new?
__________________
Team AME/ORCA
https://www.facebook.com/strawberryrcdesigns
http://www.strawberryrcdesigns.pt/
jorgesimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 10:35 AM   #787
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SikKustomz View Post
Viper 550 5.0L. The whole truck will shut off. Press the button turns on everything works fine. Almost seems to be a pattern will shut off after about 2 laps then after I can finsh the race?
Wait, even servo won't work?
__________________
Team AME/ORCA
https://www.facebook.com/strawberryrcdesigns
http://www.strawberryrcdesigns.pt/
jorgesimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 12:22 PM   #788
Tech Master
 
ghoppa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sin City - Las Vegas
Posts: 1,721
Trader Rating: 54 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SikKustomz View Post
Viper 550 5.0L. The whole truck will shut off. Press the button turns on everything works fine. Almost seems to be a pattern will shut off after about 2 laps then after I can finsh the race?
how old is your VTX10R??
and what was the ambient temperature you were racing in?? was it hot??

I have had this problem with the 1st run of the VTX10R cutting off when I was running in really hot conditions. Happened this past summer indoor when ambient temps were around 85-90*...

if this is the case, I know the guys @ the main office in WA will take care of your problem...
__________________
R1 Wurks - ActivRC - ApexRC - P1 Brands
ghoppa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 02:41 PM   #789
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 718
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Servo nothing truck powers off. Temps around 65-75 indoor racing. I have had sinsior wire problems do weird things. Vtx10r is around 2 months old. I have checked all the wires everything looks to be solder great. No cuts in any of the wires. On another note could the bec be to low? Will that cause the truck to shut completely off?
__________________
Lendel Smith
SikKustomz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 03:52 AM   #790
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 547
Default

If it powers off could be something else, i think BEC will only be a "problem" if set to high, gonna check what could cause the problem, will get back.
__________________
Team AME/ORCA
https://www.facebook.com/strawberryrcdesigns
http://www.strawberryrcdesigns.pt/
jorgesimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 07:24 AM   #791
Tech Addict
 
csracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 726
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Installing a new VTX10 this afternoon. I did not buy the pro gauge since I run 17.5 blinky right now. I'm curious though if there are any plans to create an andriod app for tuning? Sorry if this has been covered, I only read the last 25 pages or so of this thread.

CSR
csracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 09:14 AM   #792
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 547
Default

It is in the "to do" list:

__________________
Team AME/ORCA
https://www.facebook.com/strawberryrcdesigns
http://www.strawberryrcdesigns.pt/
jorgesimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 09:21 AM   #793
Tech Addict
 
csracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 726
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Very cool. Any estimation on when it will be released?
csracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 11:19 AM   #794
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 718
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorgesimes View Post
If it powers off could be something else, i think BEC will only be a "problem" if set to high, gonna check what could cause the problem, will get back.
Thanks!
__________________
Lendel Smith
SikKustomz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 11:34 AM   #795
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SikKustomz View Post
Thanks!
Give just some more info:

- Gear Ratio used;
- Which profile did you run and what specific parameters did you change.
__________________
Team AME/ORCA
https://www.facebook.com/strawberryrcdesigns
http://www.strawberryrcdesigns.pt/
jorgesimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Viper RC - mini-dub Radio and Electronics 12069 12-04-2017 10:44 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:43 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net