R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-13-2011, 09:18 AM   #706
Tech Addict
 
b_recliner's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Port Royal, PA
Posts: 501
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

I want to re-flash the firmware on my vtx10r. How do I do that?
__________________
Tracks: Richfield Raceway, LCRC, DRP
Current Cars: Xray t4 '14, Schumacher Cougar KF, Schumacher Mi5, Losi 22 2.0, Losi 8ight E 3.0
b_recliner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 12:14 PM   #707
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b_recliner View Post
I want to re-flash the firmware on my vtx10r. How do I do that?
you gotta upload the firmware again to the ESC. You'll need the pc-link cable and the pc-link program and the firmware in question.
__________________
Team AME/ORCA
https://www.facebook.com/strawberryrcdesigns
http://www.strawberryrcdesigns.pt/
jorgesimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 12:19 PM   #708
Tech Elite
 
iPearl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 2,889
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to iPearl Send a message via MSN to iPearl
Default

LOL Loving the voltage Cut Off LMAO Pulsating, so you can get at least one lap on until it really bogs you down so you don't hurt the battery =D
__________________
Design Of Things !!!
iPearl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 12:39 PM   #709
Tech Addict
 
b_recliner's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Port Royal, PA
Posts: 501
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorgesimes View Post
you gotta upload the firmware again to the ESC. You'll need the pc-link cable and the pc-link program and the firmware in question.
I have the cable, so where do i get the program and the firmware? Out of the box firmware will be fine.
__________________
Tracks: Richfield Raceway, LCRC, DRP
Current Cars: Xray t4 '14, Schumacher Cougar KF, Schumacher Mi5, Losi 22 2.0, Losi 8ight E 3.0
b_recliner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 03:42 PM   #710
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 547
Default

pm me your mail, i will send you.
__________________
Team AME/ORCA
https://www.facebook.com/strawberryrcdesigns
http://www.strawberryrcdesigns.pt/
jorgesimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 06:10 PM   #711
Tech Addict
 
b_recliner's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Port Royal, PA
Posts: 501
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorgesimes View Post
pm me your mail, i will send you.
PM sent...thank you friend!
__________________
Tracks: Richfield Raceway, LCRC, DRP
Current Cars: Xray t4 '14, Schumacher Cougar KF, Schumacher Mi5, Losi 22 2.0, Losi 8ight E 3.0
b_recliner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 06:18 PM   #712
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 1,699
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

hey guys, just curious, has anyone had any luck running the vtx10R with single cell in 12th scale? how does it perform compared to others? and does it ever glitch or anything. I usually run tekin but am looking to switch to something else. Thanks!
__________________
★Randy Banks★
COLD AS ICE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 06:23 PM   #713
Tech Fanatic
 
jjfo80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: queensland australia
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcar951 View Post
Obviously your track is quite large and flowing (3.37), it may be worth trying the 12.30 rotor (8VSPVSTR02) for more RPM (better top end). As long as you're not looking for a lot of bottom end grunt, just a thought.

I'll be testing the other way for 17.5 blinky. We run on small technical carpet tracks here, need tons of rip off the corners as well as decent top end. So I've ordered some 12.80 rotors.

Jim C.
Hey mate cheers..... With running the 12.3 rotor does it still compare to the roar legal rules as ling it's from the same manufacturer ????? cause that's from what I understand as if it's the same manufacturers motor to rotor combo the motor will still be legal??? Spec legal to yes??
__________________
Owner of Precise Fuels and RC and Podified Fuels
jjfo80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 10:30 PM   #714
Tech Rookie
 
jovenshadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 16
Default

thanks for the info jjfo80!

i will adjust tonight my endbell to 15* and see if there's a difference in temperature.

the last time i play the motor and esc are cooler than my first run maybe the weather is a big factor also as we have 25*c at night.

i still feel high temp than my comfort zone from the esc and motor after 20mins of playing, planning to put fan on esc and motor to lessen more the heat.

after my two run im happy with this esc.
jovenshadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 10:49 PM   #715
Tech Addict
 
sprintcarracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 545
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone ever had the esc cut out during a race and tried to power it back up but the esc would power? Mine did this last friday! I've tried everything but it still remains the same, the red light comes on and dims out after 2 seconds. Did the esc burn a phase out?
sprintcarracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 11:34 PM   #716
Tech Master
 
pcar951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cow Town
Posts: 1,705
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjfo80 View Post
Hey mate cheers..... With running the 12.3 rotor does it still compare to the roar legal rules as ling it's from the same manufacturer ????? cause that's from what I understand as if it's the same manufacturers motor to rotor combo the motor will still be legal??? Spec legal to yes??
Viper lists the 12.30 rotor as a factory default ROAR legal part. The last approved list I saw had other manufacturers tuning rotors on it but none from Viper as yet, the list has probably been updated since I saw it.

Seems like as long as you're not messing with the magnetic strenght ROAR is OK with it.
__________________
Jim Chapman
PM Hobbycraft | RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Reds Racing
pcar951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 05:14 AM   #717
Tech Fanatic
 
jjfo80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: queensland australia
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcar951 View Post
Viper lists the 12.30 rotor as a factory default ROAR legal part. The last approved list I saw had other manufacturers tuning rotors on it but none from Viper as yet, the list has probably been updated since I saw it.

Seems like as long as you're not messing with the magnetic strenght ROAR is OK with it.
Thanks mate I really needed that info..... as I havent been dealing with brushless that long but hard study is catching up on rules is the hard thing..... the concept and knowing how everything works is down pat just the rules I am catching up with..
Cheers again
Fordy
__________________
Owner of Precise Fuels and RC and Podified Fuels
jjfo80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 05:19 AM   #718
Tech Fanatic
 
jjfo80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: queensland australia
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jovenshadow View Post
thanks for the info jjfo80!

i will adjust tonight my endbell to 15* and see if there's a difference in temperature.

the last time i play the motor and esc are cooler than my first run maybe the weather is a big factor also as we have 25*c at night.

i still feel high temp than my comfort zone from the esc and motor after 20mins of playing, planning to put fan on esc and motor to lessen more the heat.

after my two run im happy with this esc.
Ok please let me stop you there.... running for 20 mins we need to chase you with TOTALLY different settings and gear ratio to stay at safe temps... Most racers talk about pushing temps with be for thier particular class they race in for what size motor they are running and the idea is to tune you specs right down to the last second +1 lap to finish a race and then its all perfect while pushing those limits.... We are talking 5 minutes for mod and sometimes super stock and the 13.5 and 17.5 and 21.5 is usally 6 minutes depends on what can its in too.....
So what need more info mate as to what your really trying to achieve... Plus dont think I m being arrogant but we can all help u if you gave us all your info
Cheers mate
Fordy
__________________
Owner of Precise Fuels and RC and Podified Fuels
jjfo80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 05:34 AM   #719
Tech Rookie
 
jovenshadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjfo80 View Post
Ok please let me stop you there.... running for 20 mins we need to chase you with TOTALLY different settings and gear ratio to stay at safe temps... Most racers talk about pushing temps with be for thier particular class they race in for what size motor they are running and the idea is to tune you specs right down to the last second +1 lap to finish a race and then its all perfect while pushing those limits.... We are talking 5 minutes for mod and sometimes super stock and the 13.5 and 17.5 and 21.5 is usally 6 minutes depends on what can its in too.....
So what need more info mate as to what your really trying to achieve... Plus dont think I m being arrogant but we can all help u if you gave us all your info
Cheers mate
Fordy
Hi jjfo80,

i used this motor not to race in a club i used this for my drift kit.

we have a small to med drift track layout like less than 8 curves (2-3 mtrs long) and 2-3 long curves (5-7 mtrs long).

unlike touring cars we really dont use full throttle that much, we only need 80% throttle max in the long curves and mostly on low rev to mid rev in some of the curves.

we might have different settings because i used this motor/esc for drifting which has totally different setup.

FYI, Counter steer drifting - the rear wheel spins more than front, 120% CS ration mean one full turnof the front wheel equal 2 full turn and 20% more turn in the back, so the back try to catch up the front and you'll get more angle in drifting.

thanks for your help mate.
jovenshadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 05:55 AM   #720
Tech Fanatic
 
jjfo80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: queensland australia
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jovenshadow View Post
Hi jjfo80,

i used this motor not to race in a club i used this for my drift kit.

we have a small to med drift track layout like less than 8 curves (2-3 mtrs long) and 2-3 long curves (5-7 mtrs long).

unlike touring cars we really dont use full throttle that much, we only need 80% throttle max in the long curves and mostly on low rev to mid rev in some of the curves.

we might have different settings because i used this motor/esc for drifting which has totally different setup.

FYI, Counter steer drifting - the rear wheel spins more than front, 120% CS ration mean one full turnof the front wheel equal 2 full turn and 20% more turn in the back, so the back try to catch up the front and you'll get more angle in drifting.

thanks for your help mate.
So when your drift racing?? is it for a period of time or a certain amount of laps??? as you can change your rotors inside the motor for more torque as thats what your after and endbell timing at 15* for more torque and then gear quite tallish to utilize the torque everything is providing..... You can use some neutral brake and some drag brake to smooth the transition between throttle and brake too But if you have a viper speedie set your temp cut off at 210*f to 220*f and that will make the outside of the can of the motor to 165*f to 175* just as long as you use a good fan and heatsink which if your allowed to run use it cause it makes a big difference of about 20 to 30*f on my motor setup with a yeah racing tornado fan which runs off of a spare receiver channel.....

But since your not using full throttle would you like it still to be there above what you would use all the time as you can dial it out with expo on a decent 2.4ghz radio or change the throttle curves on the viper speedie????

Just some more food for thought mate
__________________
Owner of Precise Fuels and RC and Podified Fuels
jjfo80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Viper RC - mini-dub Radio and Electronics 12069 12-04-2017 10:44 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:21 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net