R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-30-2011, 08:32 PM   #571
Tech Elite
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kschu
Default

anyone run viper vtrac10 in boosted 10.5t class??
__________________
Give the best while u can !
kschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 03:22 AM   #572
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcusEngdahl View Post
Running a Mi4cx with 6.5r SpeedP at the time fdr was 5.96 Started with profil 6 . BUT im unsure if i may have change to profil 7 (by misstake). If so could this have caused the esc and motor to overheaten? isnt the esc supposed to cut of when reaching 220F ?

/Marcus
Although the ESC cuts by temperature, if you do a severe usage of it, gearing or whatelse, when the cut it's activated, it's going to rise a little bit more the temperatures and that could cause the damage. My advice is to have the cut always more on the save side when we are praticing or knowing better the ESC or Motor. Just an advice.
__________________
Team AME/ORCA
https://www.facebook.com/strawberryrcdesigns
http://www.strawberryrcdesigns.pt/
jorgesimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 03:25 AM   #573
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kschu View Post
anyone run viper vtrac10 in boosted 10.5t class??
A lot of work is being done to make sure everyone get's good starting points for every motors and any range of tracks. I think when the Team as it done mini-dub will let you all know. For now i'm sorry but i cannot help you.
__________________
Team AME/ORCA
https://www.facebook.com/strawberryrcdesigns
http://www.strawberryrcdesigns.pt/
jorgesimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 11:40 PM   #574
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Huge thanks to Weylin, who took care of me earlier this week. After melting a motor a few weeks ago, I hooked up a new one and the ESC smoked as soon as I connected the battery. It helps that they're 5 minutes from my work, so I took it in and he sorted me out.

My second day out with 13.5 duo 3 boosted went much better. I was running mod, and most people were running real mod motors, so I really have no idea if I was getting the most out of the setup. I started at 7.6 FDR and left it there all day.

First run on stock profile 7, the motor came off at about 200 after 6 minutes (oops). The car was decently fast, but it was a bit sluggish, and then pulled much harder about half way down the straight.

So, I ran the math in the instructions (kv * 6.4 * 0.3 start ~7000rpm, kv * 6.4 end ~23000) with 3600kv (I thought I remembered stormer listed the 13.5 as 3600kv), and dialed back the timing and slew rate. It was much smoother, and much cooler, but felt like there was a bit of headroom to get more out of it.

I stepped the end rpm back down to around 17k and bumped the slew rate back up a hair. I think I put back in a few degrees of timing, too. It got back up to about 180-190*.

So I dialed back the timing quite a bit again, including the motor to min. As soon as I put it on the track, it was dog slow, so I put the timing on the motor back to neutral, and it was just about right. Nice smooth power band, and temps around 160-170.

The track temps were 120*, and I didn't have a heatsink/fan on the motor, so it was having a pretty rough time. I'll pull my exact settings and post 'em up at some point.

-Mike
grippgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 11:45 PM   #575
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 29
Default

mike,

can u post ur setup? I'm gonna use 13.5 on mod class and I burnt 2 13.5 already. Anything helps. THX!
one2three_us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 02:15 PM   #576
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by one2three_us View Post
mike,

can u post ur setup? I'm gonna use 13.5 on mod class and I burnt 2 13.5 already. Anything helps. THX!
From I Profile #7, I changed the following:
Start RPM: 5000
End RPM: 17000
Max Accel Boost: 20*
Slew Rate: 3*/1000rpm
Max Top Speed Timing: 10*

That was with a Duo3 13.5 at the neutral timing mark, and a 7.6 FDR.

-Mike
grippgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 01:45 AM   #577
Tech Master
 
mini-dub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: seattle
Posts: 1,632
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by starrx View Post
120 x 50 track...gearing was 4.00 & 3.78 was what i ran in the 3rdQ & MAIN but i was TQ all day
tc5
gen ace 5000 40c lipo

i ran profile 5
thr pmw @ 2000
dead band off
temps 150-158 heat sink no fan
this is the only things i changed
hope this helps
Thanks for posting your setup info

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcusEngdahl View Post
Running a Mi4cx with 6.5r SpeedP at the time fdr was 5.96 Started with profil 6 . BUT im unsure if i may have change to profil 7 (by misstake). If so could this have caused the esc and motor to overheaten? isnt the esc supposed to cut of when reaching 220F ?

/Marcus
You definitely wouldn't want to run default profile 7 with a 6.5 at that fdr, that could have definitely smoked your motor. You should note the motor thermal cutoff can only function with a motor that has a thermal sensor. As far as I know only our Viper sensor board has a built in sensor. However, normally we would expect the esc thermal protection to activate by the time the esc reached your claimed temp. Typically the esc would actually shut off around 180* case temp if the cutoff is 220* because the sensor is internal. Either way we've seen the speedos handle much higher temps than that and smoking a motor on it shouldn't cause the your controller to fail. Fill out the rma form on the website and we'll get you taken care of!
__________________
Weylin Rose - www.shiftedcinema.com

Riding Bikes | Skiing | Helis | Rotor Rage | Cyclone Blades | RC Trim | Dead Kat Raceway
mini-dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 04:18 AM   #578
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: columbus oh
Posts: 886
Default

your welcome...so far im loving the esc
starrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 06:36 PM   #579
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 589
Default

Hey guys, having a problem saving settings made with the pro gauge. I can make changes, but am not able to save them. I can change profiles with the on/off switch, but not with the pro gauge. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Dave
dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 01:28 AM   #580
Tech Elite
 
blade072's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Adelaide S.A
Posts: 2,670
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Default

i would like to give a very big thankyou to weylin for all his help and uderstanding......the esc and motor arrived today..many thanks..
__________________
David Randall

AWESOMATIX A800X ★ MUCHMORE ★ R1 WURKS ★
ROCHE RAPIDE F1-16 ★ SANWA M12 ★ SILVERBACK ★
HOBBYWING ★ RCMAKER ★ VOLANTE RC ★
blade072 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 02:40 AM   #581
Tech Fanatic
 
ekim628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: OC
Posts: 815
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave View Post
Hey guys, having a problem saving settings made with the pro gauge. I can make changes, but am not able to save them. I can change profiles with the on/off switch, but not with the pro gauge. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Dave
When using the proguage, are you saving the profile and does it read "profile saved" after hitting OK?
__________________
Eric K.

/ Team Associated / Viper RC / Radiopost / Sweep Tires / Much-More Racing / RAL Designs / Parma USA
ekim628 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 04:34 AM   #582
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 589
Default

I have been loading the setting and then saving it. It goes through all the steps correctly but nothing saves. Very frustrating.

Dave
dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 04:53 PM   #583
Tech Master
 
ghoppa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sin City - Las Vegas
Posts: 1,721
Trader Rating: 54 (98%+)
Default all installed

Weylin,
my Viper goods arrived and are all ready to go!!! Thanks for getting my order out as soon as you did.

21.5 F1 Race is Saturday in California and 10th 2wd and 4wd Buggy race is Sunday back in town!!

update you on Monday!!!
__________________
R1 Wurks - ActivRC - ApexRC - P1 Brands
ghoppa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 08:14 AM   #584
Tech Fanatic
 
jjfo80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: queensland australia
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

using the vtx10r and playing with fdr and then changing profiles and playing with boosted settings on a 17.5.

Now I have heard bad reports from ppl on here and then in my area here in oz and I have the speedie and motor doing perfect to what it says it can do plus more....

Thanks to Weylin and the Viper team as it is really one unreal package.... I am NOT a combo fan when it comes to motors and speedies but I tell ya what this is one purchase you cant go wrong with

Work with the setting before just saying something is no good please ppl.... Someone told me that in blinky mode tonight at my racing here is oz said he was getting lapped once every three laps for the whole five minute race so I asked some questions......
He is no sucker as a driver he is talented but just wasnt working for him.....
Let you know how we go with his setup
Cheers again viper.
Fordy
__________________
Owner of Precise Fuels and RC and Podified Fuels
jjfo80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 08:23 PM   #585
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: columbus oh
Posts: 886
Default

holeshot..whats is it & what do it do??...i run 17.5 blinky...whats the advantage of this...right now i have it disable...thanks
starrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Viper RC - mini-dub Radio and Electronics 12069 12-04-2017 10:44 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:50 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net