R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-01-2011, 05:06 AM   #496
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ooj View Post
What is Hole Shot Launch?
Can someone from Viper explain this properly.

The biggest problem that I see is that there is very little explanation available of what the various changeable parts of the software are.

Hole Shot Launch :

Where can it be used?
How is it used?
What do you have to do to activate it from the starting grid?
Etc Etc

Thanks in advance
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 05:32 AM   #497
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 547
Default

Letīs wait for mini-dub to wake up.

__________________
Team AME/ORCA
https://www.facebook.com/strawberryrcdesigns
http://www.strawberryrcdesigns.pt/

Last edited by jorgesimes; 06-01-2011 at 07:16 AM.
jorgesimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 08:06 AM   #498
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: columbus oh
Posts: 886
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorgesimes View Post
Sorry, where do you see boost Timer?

Trigger RPM is a part of the dynamic drag brake and it sets the RPM from where the drag brake engages with your defined max brake strength.

Hope this helps.
ok on the progauge that hooks up to the esc..go misc controls & stroll down to turbo timer..(sorry not boost timer) & it say turbo timer 10minutes
starrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 08:42 AM   #499
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 547
Default

Sorry but the only things that are timed in the Misc Control are Hole Shot Launch and Auto Power Off.
__________________
Team AME/ORCA
https://www.facebook.com/strawberryrcdesigns
http://www.strawberryrcdesigns.pt/
jorgesimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 11:48 AM   #500
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: columbus oh
Posts: 886
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorgesimes View Post
Sorry but the only things that are timed in the Misc Control are Hole Shot Launch and Auto Power Off.
so maybe its my auto shut off..but its named turbo timer
you sure you dont have turbo timer??
misc controls
run mode
holeshot
sbec volt
forward power
reverse power
turbo timer
this is how it comes up on my progauge

so what is holeshot
& what is top end timing..is it like a boost after the end rpm's??
starrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 03:15 PM   #501
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cannon View Post
Can someone from Viper explain this properly.

The biggest problem that I see is that there is very little explanation available of what the various changeable parts of the software are.

Hole Shot Launch :

Where can it be used?
How is it used?
What do you have to do to activate it from the starting grid?
Etc Etc

Thanks in advance
Hole shot is boost for starting grid and it's activated getting full brakes for the choosen time.
__________________
Team AME/ORCA
https://www.facebook.com/strawberryrcdesigns
http://www.strawberryrcdesigns.pt/
jorgesimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 03:18 PM   #502
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by starrx View Post
so maybe its my auto shut off..but its named turbo timer
you sure you dont have turbo timer??
misc controls
run mode
holeshot
sbec volt
forward power
reverse power
turbo timer
this is how it comes up on my progauge

so what is holeshot
& what is top end timing..is it like a boost after the end rpm's??
Confirmed, don't have turbo timer. Hole shot explained before. You got it on top speed.
__________________
Team AME/ORCA
https://www.facebook.com/strawberryrcdesigns
http://www.strawberryrcdesigns.pt/
jorgesimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 03:30 PM   #503
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: columbus oh
Posts: 886
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorgesimes View Post
Confirmed, don't have turbo timer. Hole shot explained before. You got it on top speed.
thanks!...i will be racing 2morrow...see what i can do with the esc
starrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 02:59 AM   #504
Tech Master
 
mini-dub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: seattle
Posts: 1,632
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by starrx View Post
so maybe its my auto shut off..but its named turbo timer
you sure you dont have turbo timer??
misc controls
run mode
holeshot
sbec volt
forward power
reverse power
turbo timer
this is how it comes up on my progauge

so what is holeshot
& what is top end timing..is it like a boost after the end rpm's??
What version of the firmware shows up when you first link to the ProGauge through your Vport? It sounds like you have a pre-production firmware somehow. Where did you purchase your VTX10 from?

Holeshot launch gives a more aggressive motor start off the grid, hence holeshot launch.

Top speed timing is the dynamic timing function that activates after the acceleration boost end rpm has been reached. It is adjustable by the slew rate, which adjusts how quickly the top speed timing engages, and the overall max adv timing.

Don't run more than 60* total timing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorgesimes View Post
Hole shot is boost for starting grid and it's activated getting full brakes for the choosen time.
Correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cannon View Post
Can someone from Viper explain this properly.

The biggest problem that I see is that there is very little explanation available of what the various changeable parts of the software are.

Hole Shot Launch :

Where can it be used?
How is it used?
What do you have to do to activate it from the starting grid?
Etc Etc

Thanks in advance
Hole shot launch may only be used off the starting grid, it is activated by holding full brake for the set number of seconds.
__________________
Weylin Rose - www.shiftedcinema.com

Riding Bikes | Skiing | Helis | Rotor Rage | Cyclone Blades | RC Trim | Dead Kat Raceway
mini-dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 03:00 AM   #505
Tech Master
 
mini-dub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: seattle
Posts: 1,632
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorgesimes View Post
Letīs wait for mini-dub to wake up.

Excellent job, Jorge!
__________________
Weylin Rose - www.shiftedcinema.com

Riding Bikes | Skiing | Helis | Rotor Rage | Cyclone Blades | RC Trim | Dead Kat Raceway
mini-dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 06:19 AM   #506
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 28
Talking

I installed my new 13.5 system last night, and boy does it look awesome.

I can't wait to run it.

Anyone have any suggestions for setting it up for a rear motor 22? Right now, I've got a 28 tooth pinion (stock spur), and have profile 3 set. My track is indoor clay.

Just curious if I'm going the right direction.

I'll post pics later of my install.
elas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 03:02 PM   #507
Tech Master
 
mini-dub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: seattle
Posts: 1,632
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elas View Post
I installed my new 13.5 system last night, and boy does it look awesome.

I can't wait to run it.

Anyone have any suggestions for setting it up for a rear motor 22? Right now, I've got a 28 tooth pinion (stock spur), and have profile 3 set. My track is indoor clay.

Just curious if I'm going the right direction.

I'll post pics later of my install.
Perhaps a better suited question for the offroad thread considering your application, but I'm happy to answer it here no less. Stock spur is 76t right? With that spur you'll probably want to run 28-30t, so I'd say you're at a great starting point. If you need more top speed try gearing up a tooth or two. If you need even more top speed and the motor isn't getting too hot, you can try increasing the top speed max advance timing to 30* from 20* (which is default for that profile).
__________________
Weylin Rose - www.shiftedcinema.com

Riding Bikes | Skiing | Helis | Rotor Rage | Cyclone Blades | RC Trim | Dead Kat Raceway
mini-dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 12:13 PM   #508
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mini-dub View Post
The top speed timing and acceleration boost are mostly separate in terms of the amount of timing. Say you have 30* motor timing, 30* acceleration boost, and 30* top speed timing. The max timing the system will ever be operating with is 60* = (motor timing + acc boost), (motor timing + top speed timing).

Weylin, can you clarify how the timing works in a bit more detail? Because what you're saying up there seems like it can't be correct, because it wouldn't make sense if the ESC worked that way.

Here's what it sounds like you're saying:

RPM < Start: Motor timing
START <= RPM <= END: Motor + % of Accelleration Boost
RPM = END + 1: Back to motor timing, wtf?
RPM = END + 1000: Motor timing + 1 * slew rate
RPM = END + 2000: Motor timing + 2 * slew rate
etc...


It would make a lot more sense if it worked like this:

RPM < Start: Motor timing
START <= RPM <= END: Motor + % of Accelleration Boost
RPM = END + 1: Motor + 100% Accelleration Boost
RPM = END + 1000: Motor + 100% Accelleration Boost + 1 * slew rate
RPM = END + 2000: Motor + 100% Accelleration Boost + 2 * slew rate
etc...

But then it'd be easy to melt your motor with +70* timing, and you're saying that it doesn't work that way.

Also, how is the top speed timing calculdated? Is it:

Slew Rate * CurrentRPM / 1000

or:

Slew Rate * (CurrentRPM - EndRPM) / 1000

or something else?

-Mike
grippgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 08:56 PM   #509
Tech Master
 
mini-dub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: seattle
Posts: 1,632
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I'll be honest Mike, I have no idea what you just typed in that post with the strange use of greater than symbols and equal signs. Not really sure what your actual question is either... The esc timing works just as I described before, can't really break down the separation any more clearly than that.

I'll try and give you some more detail though.

The esc begins to add the acceleration boost timing once the motor reaches the start rpm, by the time the motor reaches the finish rpm the esc has already added the maximum timing selected under the acceleration boost menu.

Once the finish rpm has been reached the esc changes to top speed timing where it begins to add top speed timing based on the slew rate and maximum value selected. Slew rate is measured in deg/rpm, so it affects how quickly the timing is added. If the slew rate is 1*/1000rpm, it will only increase dynamic timing 1* every 1000rpm.

Top speed timing is not added directly on top of the acceleration boost, but at the same time top speed timing is not entirely separated from the acceleration boost. It's a complicated algorithm, as are all boost functions.. Hope this helps you a bit.
__________________
Weylin Rose - www.shiftedcinema.com

Riding Bikes | Skiing | Helis | Rotor Rage | Cyclone Blades | RC Trim | Dead Kat Raceway
mini-dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 09:27 PM   #510
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Fort Hood,TX
Posts: 1,196
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Wow that just opened all the doors to me now!! I just got done testing my TC4 with 60/34 gearing on a 21.5 I used 2500 as my start RPM and 9000 as my finish RPM with 20' of timing.. and was turning faster laps than they couple 17.5's that were out there.. I had more speed out of the corners and pretty much the same top speed on the straits.. and after 8 minutes on the track pulled it off at 121' at the motor and 98' at the speedo.. I was gonna try and test with my 17.5 but right now I don't see the need..
__________________
Team Radiopost-SMC Racing-R1wurks-Savox-AKA
XB2ce
BIGTRUX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Viper RC - mini-dub Radio and Electronics 12069 12-04-2017 10:44 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:58 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net