Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Spektrum Dx3s with DSM2 receiver >

Spektrum Dx3s with DSM2 receiver

Spektrum Dx3s with DSM2 receiver

Old 11-11-2010, 12:24 PM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 614
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Spektrum Dx3s with DSM2 receiver

Is it worth me buying a DSM2 receiver with a Dx3s transmitter. I don't think the transmitter is capable of 5.5ms response time only 11ms. Right? I guess what i'm asking is if i buy a DSM2 receiver and use the Dx3s will i get the full benefit of DSM2?
bacchus is offline  
Old 11-11-2010, 01:56 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

It will depend on how old your Tx is. They were originally released as DSM but some time later Horizon had it updated to be DSM2 compatable. Try binding to someone else's DSM2 Rx before dropping the $.
AreCee is offline  
Old 11-11-2010, 02:21 PM
  #3  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 614
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I'm fairly certain my transmitter works with dsm2 receivers. The question is will i get full benefit of dsm2 using the dx3s?
bacchus is offline  
Old 11-11-2010, 11:30 PM
  #4  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 53
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

`The question is will i get full benefit of dsm2`The answer is no you will not. I use a Dx3s with Dsm2 and the latency is 11ms. The seller in my local rc store told me it would but nope

Last edited by VikNor; 11-12-2010 at 07:50 AM. Reason: spelling
VikNor is offline  
Old 11-12-2010, 05:24 AM
  #5  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Warren, PA
Posts: 463
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by VikNor View Post
`The question is will i get full benefit of dsm2`The answer is no you will not. I use a Dx3r with Dsm2 and the latency is 11ms. The seller in my local rc store told me it would but nope
With my DX3R with DSM2 and JR digital servos it will run 5.5 ms frame rate.

And you will not benifit from the DSM2 reciever and a DX3S you will only be at 11.0 ms framerate.

Last edited by nothin special; 11-12-2010 at 08:48 AM.
nothin special is offline  
Old 11-12-2010, 07:21 AM
  #6  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 614
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nothin special View Post
With my DX3R with DSM2 and JR digital servos it will run 5.5 ms frame rate.

And you will not benifit from the DSM2 reciever you will only be 11.0 ms framerate.
I think he means dx3s
bacchus is offline  
Old 11-12-2010, 07:28 AM
  #7  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 614
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone here ran both the Dx3s on regular DSM and Dx3r on DSM2. Is there a 100% undeniable difference? I can sale my Dx3s NIB for 225 or 200 and a new Dx3r is $320. I'd like to know i'm getting something for my 120 bucks.

I'd like a Futuba 4pks but that's too far out there in price. Dx3r is about only option for upgrading from Dx3s.
bacchus is offline  
Old 11-12-2010, 02:11 PM
  #8  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 53
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I got both of them and cant say Its a big differens. Dsm2 will only work with a digital servo. If your a hardcore racer go for the Dx3R,if not the Dx3s. I love the telemetry and use it in all my cars exept my TC mod car. No need for a temp gun with the S
VikNor is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 08:28 AM
  #9  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 614
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I found the telemetry to be fairly inaccurate. In a basher it'd be cool but a racer it just gets in my head too much all day so i tend to tune on it all day. Not the way to do it.
bacchus is offline  
Old 11-16-2010, 11:04 AM
  #10  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
Ed Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: N.J.
Posts: 1,375
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bacchus View Post
Has anyone here ran both the Dx3s on regular DSM and Dx3r on DSM2. Is there a 100% undeniable difference? I can sale my Dx3s NIB for 225 or 200 and a new Dx3r is $320. I'd like to know i'm getting something for my 120 bucks.
But thats for used ones... New ones are around $260- $270
Ed Anderson is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.