R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-09-2015, 06:46 PM   #4831
Tech Master
 
1967Typhoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Grand Rapids, Mi
Posts: 1,197
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like the onboard voltage detection is way out of tolerance.

A fresh set of 8 batteries should be well over 12v.
__________________
SCX10 II Kit (in progress)
Traxxas E-Revo Brushless Edition / HPI Blitz 1/8 Buggy Conversion
Associated TC4 Rally Conversion / Losi Micro SCT
1967Typhoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 04:40 AM   #4832
Tech Master
 
targetingxmod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Europe - Portugual
Posts: 1,844
Default

That is a cheap radio that was sellled very well in the RC world.

To be cheap we was made cheap, this means...

-it eat's power like a camel after 3months with no water

But the good thing is there is inumerous mod's and hacks people made to it.

One simple thing is put a 3s lipo in there that fit's the space...something 3600mah i guess that will fit

And there is a mod that involves changing a chip inside the board with soldering to be more EFFICIENT in the power department.

Thera a lot of mods for this remote!
Those are only 2!! (lipo and chip)

Search google and youtube and there is hundreds of options to choose!

http://overkillrc.webs.com/gt3b.htm

Voltage regulator!!
__________________
Oh Lord, save me from those "internet warriors" typing from mom's basement's... :P
targetingxmod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 09:59 AM   #4833
Tech Initiate
 
Fatts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by targetingxmod View Post
That is a cheap radio that was sellled very well in the RC world.

To be cheap we was made cheap, this means...

-it eat's power like a camel after 3months with no water

But the good thing is there is inumerous mod's and hacks people made to it.

One simple thing is put a 3s lipo in there that fit's the space...something 3600mah i guess that will fit

And there is a mod that involves changing a chip inside the board with soldering to be more EFFICIENT in the power department.

Thera a lot of mods for this remote!
Those are only 2!! (lipo and chip)

Search google and youtube and there is hundreds of options to choose!

http://overkillrc.webs.com/gt3b.htm

Voltage regulator!!

Yeah, I have the voltage regulator on the way. What i have found so far is that with fresh alkaline batteries, i'm getting over 12volts. with the rechargeables, i'm only getting 9v on full charge. i might have a bad cell or two? I grabbed a fresh pack of duracel. i'm thinking about doing the lipo upgrade next week.
Fatts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2015, 08:44 AM   #4834
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asiak View Post
hi,
I'm tryying to flash my Fsgt3b but i'm having always the error:
Error : FILE : line 5: Not in Motorola S19 format!
Error : < File loading failed.
sometimes the error 4 or the error 6.
I have tryed the solutions on this thread and i've tryed on 2 pc's (one with XP 32bit the other with windows 7 64bit) but i'm stucked.
Can someone help me? sorry about my poor english.
Thanks for your answers.
I, too, am having this issue. And I have also tried all the fixes on this thread (yay for search feature) to no avail. However I did find this info helpful:

I took a look at the contents of the firmware in notpad++, and it's all in HTML format, which i'm assuming the program does not read. So I went back to "githubDOTcom/semerad/gt3b/tree/master/Releases" (did that because I can't post URLs yet) and copied the raw data from the newest release into a blank notepad file, saved it as an .s19 file extension, and presto. Worked. Hope this helps.
wangmauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 01:58 PM   #4835
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1
Default Gt3c 25ft n out of range?

Hi ppls.

OK so I end up getting a gt3c I hook everything up and for first few days perfect. So few days ago in a big truck stop I take it out n for some reason it cuts off 20-30 ft away. Opened it up receiver is just how it was day 1 so is everything els. I did flip it a few times at high speeds but nothing was damaged. Any idea of what it can be?
Serg1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 09:06 AM   #4836
Tech Rookie
 
blueskymining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: California
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serg1982 View Post
Hi ppls.

OK so I end up getting a gt3c I hook everything up and for first few days perfect. So few days ago in a big truck stop I take it out n for some reason it cuts off 20-30 ft away. Opened it up receiver is just how it was day 1 so is everything els. I did flip it a few times at high speeds but nothing was damaged. Any idea of what it can be?
Duh .... commercial areas, like a Truck Stop, Business Park, residential area are LOADED with 2.4GHz radios for WiFi, SmartPhones w/ WiFi, Microwave ovens emitt 2.4GHz, Fluorescent Lighting, etc! 2.4GHz is UNCONTROLLED by the FCC and that's why RC and WiFi etc is on it (ya, RC got screwed). Your little radio is only powered by a 9.6vDC mW power supply, those commercial and residential devices are powered by 120VAC high Wattage power supplies! Even though your radio is "linked" paired to your specific receiver, ALL those other multiple channels of 2.4GHz devices can and WILL interfere, essentially blocking signal or scrambling operation.

Your FlySky GT3B, or any radio was not designed to be used in a Truck Stop was it? All the dopes that complain about the range problems of the GT3B or any other radio are likely not setting up the receiver antenna correctly or are using the radio ins a 2.4GHz crowded neighborhood. Make sure the Rx Ant is vertical and at least the last 2inches is exposed and away from the battery and motor (which give off RF) I've had two GT3B radios (1st and 2nd ver) since they came out and I've never had any range issues when used in appropriate areas. In 10 receivers, I've only had 1 fail. I use my GT3B's with race trucks, cars and boats.
__________________
Flying RC since 1965, RC Boats since 1970 and RC Cars / Trucks since 1980's
blueskymining is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2016, 10:16 PM   #4837
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 1
Default Fs-gt3c battery issue

I installed and charged the new lipo battery. I'm having the same issue as with the old battery. As soon as I turn it on and check the steering it starts beeping and saying low voltage. Any help with this would be great.
Off road tech70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 01:50 AM   #4838
Tech Adept
 
Tzicul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 162
Default

Did you set the low voltage alarm according to your battery voltage?
__________________
Kyosho Mad Force with GX21, custom made, extra long/extra wide
Losi LST XXL with LRP .28 Spec 4
Axial Yeti XL Kit with MM X/1515 - 2200kv
Tzicul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 10:01 AM   #4839
Tech Rookie
 
blueskymining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: California
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Off road tech70 View Post
I installed and charged the new lipo battery. I'm having the same issue as with the old battery. As soon as I turn it on and check the steering it starts beeping and saying low voltage. Any help with this would be great.
Check the voltage of the LiPO independent of the on-board display to make sure the battery really is fully charged.

I never charge my LiPO thru the GT3b charge input port, I have a connector on the LiPO to remove it for charging on a known good LiPO specific balance changer.
__________________
Flying RC since 1965, RC Boats since 1970 and RC Cars / Trucks since 1980's
blueskymining is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2016, 08:07 PM   #4840
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 237
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hello all I just finished installing the VR mod now i plan on installing the Hacked Firmware. I was wondering if anybody knows if this programmer would work to flash the GT3B?

https://www.amazon.com/Qunqi-ST-LINK...rds=ST+link+v2
CptKlink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2016, 01:04 AM   #4841
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CptKlink View Post
Hello all I just finished installing the VR mod now i plan on installing the Hacked Firmware. I was wondering if anybody knows if this programmer would work to flash the GT3B?
hi i cant post links here so i sent you a PM of a link to ebay for the program unit i bought
eyco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 08:39 PM   #4842
jcr
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 446
Default

Question about the regulator mod, I have read a few different type of regulators that can be used. Any recommendations?
Recom R-785.0-0.5
Recom R-78E5.0-1.0
TSR 0.5-2450
TR05S05
jcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2017, 04:06 PM   #4843
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 2
Default

Noob here. I have a hacked GT3B that I want to install a ppm mixer in for a pan and tilt fpv camera system. Does anyone know what ppm mixer will work and how to wire it into the GT3B?
rockjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2017, 04:12 PM   #4844
Tech Initiate
 
mac112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 36
Default

Looking to get a voltage regulator for my GT3-B. any suggestions on where i can get one?
Saw this on ebay.

(1PCS) R-785.0-0.5 CONV DC/DC 0.5A 5V OUT SIP VERT 785.0 R-785.0 | eBay
mac112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 12:45 PM   #4845
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 6
Default GT3B FIRMWARE

Hey guys/gals, can somebody tell me if the firmware to program the GT3B and GT3C will work with a more recent version of Windows(Win8 or Win10) Thank you.
J20635 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
page 100 for all info


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:32 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net