R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-02-2010, 05:58 PM   #61
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: SWEDEN
Posts: 8
Default

I know this threat is kinda old, but i do need help finding the solder points on my KO Propo Precious, same as Mars i believe.

Hope someone can help me.
kiixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 04:06 PM   #62
Tech Champion
 
snoopyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tunnel Hill GA
Posts: 5,046
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I am looking for the soldering points on a KO EX-II. the AM board is partially integrated with part of the signal processor. But I believe it can be isolated if someone knows their way around it.

One pics is straight at the back of the radio. the other is a composite from two pictures, so you can see the opposite side superimposed.
Attached Thumbnails
Corona 2.4GHz diy kit - convert old radios to 2.4GHz-ex2board_1220.jpg   Corona 2.4GHz diy kit - convert old radios to 2.4GHz-dscex2composite_1220.jpg  
__________________
www.battlefieldraceway.com Racing videos at http://www.youtube.com/snoopyrc

Last edited by snoopyrc; 11-17-2010 at 09:03 PM. Reason: added attachments
snoopyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 10:05 PM   #63
Tech Champion
 
snoopyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tunnel Hill GA
Posts: 5,046
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I saw an earlier post about the daughter board from the DX2 working as a conversion for other radios. I have to say that the board of the spektrum alone looks as good as the whole conversion from Corona. The only problem is that Horizon does not sell this piece as a separate item. If they did I would definitely use it to convert my old EX-5 radios to 2.4ghz. EX-II's as well if I could find the solder points.
__________________
www.battlefieldraceway.com Racing videos at http://www.youtube.com/snoopyrc
snoopyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 08:34 AM   #64
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 306
Default

it should in theory be ok to take the daughterboard out of most TXs that have seperate 2.4 pcbs and use it to convert others.. i have a particularly promising possibility to investigate there
__________________
- Does being on fire count as fixed? -
skree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 09:37 PM   #65
Tech Master
 
reptile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,248
Trader Rating: 138 (100%+)
Default

Do they have a 2.4 unit that will work with a airtronics caliber 3ps?
I still have mine i could never part with it because it feels real good in your hands and it's very simple to use would be sweet with 2.4!
reptile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 09:57 PM   #66
Super Moderator
 
Funkymojo's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Singapore ̡͌ ̴̡ı̴̴̡ ̡̡͡|̲̲̲͡͡͡ ̲▫̲͡ ̲̲̲͡͡π̲̲͡͡ ̲̲͡▫̲̲͡V
Posts: 3,432
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys, anyone have any idea will this work on the Ko Propo Esprit 2 Type R FM stick transmitter? Is it possible to take the Hobby King GT-2 2.4Ghz or other 2.4GHz transmitter built in module parts to fit into the Ko Propo Esprit 2 Type R FM stick transmitter?
__________________
WANKING - Extreme agitation and arousal - usually south of Nanking and short of Farking.

I'm neither a Mod nor a Rocker. I'm a Mocker.

Viper R/C Solutions | Atomic Carbon CR2 LWB | Darth Tray | Losi 8IGHT 2.0-E | Tamiya TRF801X-E
Funkymojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 11:15 PM   #67
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 497
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

dragging this up again, after converting a couple old futaba's with the corona diy kit, I decided to try a flysky gt3 module in a ko mars. The weird thing is I can't get ppm signal at the module pins, without the module plugged in. I have voltage and ground, but have to leave the original fm module plugged in to read voltage on the ppm pin. It is working with the flysky module, and is not getting interference from the fm module being plugged in also, but I can't really cleanly install it, and would like to do away with the fm mod all together. Any help appreciated. Thanks
junkman12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 05:41 PM   #68
Tech Champion
 
snoopyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tunnel Hill GA
Posts: 5,046
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by junkman12 View Post
dragging this up again, after converting a couple old futaba's with the corona diy kit, I decided to try a flysky gt3 module in a ko mars. The weird thing is I can't get ppm signal at the module pins, without the module plugged in. I have voltage and ground, but have to leave the original fm module plugged in to read voltage on the ppm pin. It is working with the flysky module, and is not getting interference from the fm module being plugged in also, but I can't really cleanly install it, and would like to do away with the fm mod all together. Any help appreciated. Thanks
I am glad to see that you got that worked out.
__________________
www.battlefieldraceway.com Racing videos at http://www.youtube.com/snoopyrc
snoopyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 07:17 PM   #69
Tech Elite
 
slow_jun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: sa Earth
Posts: 2,724
Trader Rating: 14 (94%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bugle View Post
I'm doing a EX-5 for a friend now, it has a separate RF board just like the Futaba 2PL so it's easy, maybe the EX-10 is the same have you looked inside it?
hi,

can you post pics on which points we should solder the connectin points, just to be sure.

will a Sanwa module bind to a corona CR3D DSSS RX? just asking.....

thanks.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mag 3 taon, tapos isalpak pa sa PAGMUMUKHA KO......... tagal....Deeeeymmm!!!

Last edited by slow_jun; 02-21-2011 at 07:49 PM.
slow_jun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 11:32 PM   #70
Tech Elite
 
slow_jun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: sa Earth
Posts: 2,724
Trader Rating: 14 (94%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snoopyrc View Post
I am looking for the soldering points on a KO EX-II. the AM board is partially integrated with part of the signal processor. But I believe it can be isolated if someone knows their way around it.

One pics is straight at the back of the radio. the other is a composite from two pictures, so you can see the opposite side superimposed.

where did you get (what location) the PPM signal for KO EX-II? have one and planning to convert. can you show some pics of the Pin location.

Thanks,
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mag 3 taon, tapos isalpak pa sa PAGMUMUKHA KO......... tagal....Deeeeymmm!!!
slow_jun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 09:05 PM   #71
Tech Elite
 
slow_jun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: sa Earth
Posts: 2,724
Trader Rating: 14 (94%+)
Default

So i had pretty much plenty of time and did some googling, i found out that the PPM Signal for the Old KO ( EX- II and EX - 5) is Pin 9 using the Oki L9362 IC.



EX - 5 Daughter Board ( TX Brd) Front View)



EX - 5 Daughter Board ( TX Brd) back view)



EX - 5 PPM , Pin 9.





EX - II TX Board. Same IC used Oki L9362







To get the + VCC and Grnd, use your VOM , this info is based from the internet and i will not be held liable for any damage that might bring to your TX.

I have yet to try this but still doing some research if its worth the time, also heard some are having some binding issues and glitches.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mag 3 taon, tapos isalpak pa sa PAGMUMUKHA KO......... tagal....Deeeeymmm!!!

Last edited by slow_jun; 02-23-2011 at 01:40 AM.
slow_jun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 06:11 AM   #72
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 32
Default

anybody has this conversion in KO Propo Helios?
fotko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 08:01 PM   #73
Tech Elite
 
slow_jun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: sa Earth
Posts: 2,724
Trader Rating: 14 (94%+)
Default KO- EX II and EX-5 FRsky DIY Hack

Similar to Corona, difference is the FRsky has solved the hack overheating issue by the placing a dioded before the PPM input signal and it does not have a binding template and screws.

here are some pics.











__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mag 3 taon, tapos isalpak pa sa PAGMUMUKHA KO......... tagal....Deeeeymmm!!!
slow_jun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 05:50 AM   #74
Tech Fanatic
 
Pirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nueva Ecija
Posts: 808
Trader Rating: 35 (97%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Pirty
Default

i have an extra 1001 spektrum module for Sanwa M11/M8.can anybody help me if i can use this module for my EX-10 Helios. Thank you very much
__________________
SIG KADET SENIOR - YAK 54 30cc - Super Air
RDS-8000
Pirty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 06:58 AM   #75
Tech Master
 
Wile E Coyote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Angeles City
Posts: 1,082
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

maybe you should look for the PPM signal out of your module and the PPM signal in of the tx. then power it up taking note of the voltage requirement of the module and the voltage of the tx pcb where you will be tapping the power for the module.
Wile E Coyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:47 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net