Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Battery mod for losi 2.4ghz tx? >

Battery mod for losi 2.4ghz tx?

Battery mod for losi 2.4ghz tx?

Old 08-22-2009, 09:48 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Battery mod for losi 2.4ghz tx?

Has anyone modified one of these to run on 8 aa's? It has a kinda small range with only 4aa's and I was wondering if it was bumped to 8 wouldnt it help? I'm not very good with circuit boards so I have no clue what to look for to be able to tell if I could mod it safely without burning it up.
Old 08-22-2009, 11:13 AM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)

Be careful with this - 4 AAs 4.8v, while 8 would be 9.6v if they were all wired in series. What you need to do is to wire the 4 additional AAs (wired in series) in parallel to the main 4 so the voltage stays the same and you get double the capacity which is what you're looking for.

That wouldn't be hard to do if you have two 4 cell holders - just put the positives and the negatives together from each 4 cell pac.
Old 08-22-2009, 06:12 PM
Tech Adept

not really.....im looking to increase the voltage to increase the transmitting range if its possible without damaging internal components. These are basically a re-cased spektrum tx, and the spektrum uses 8 aa's. The losi and spektrum tx's and rx's interchange. i was just wondering if the circuit board was the same. these came in the kits with the mini rock crawlers, so they werent really made for range.
Old 08-23-2009, 09:33 AM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)

Misunderstood your ques, my bad.

I don't have an answer, maybe someone has actually done this and found out. I'd want to know if it works before doubling the voltage too, that could just fry something in the tx instead. Good luck
Old 08-23-2009, 09:40 AM
Tech Adept