Wiki Posts
Search

My very first time soldering I dont know how I did

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2009, 12:00 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default My very first time soldering I dont know how I did

OK so I soldered up my t4 today and well it went ok I guess. it could look better but if its on there it will run. couple questions though.

I had to hook 2 wires to one tab so I soldered them together and them put it on the tab but only on wire is on there, is that ok if they are connected?

For the above question, its on there good so it wont come off but it looks like it could be on there a little better, will i notice a decrease in performance?

the positive and negatives are apart from eachother but should i worry about them maybe sparking together and something happening?

Then the last thing is the 2 negatives are close to a screw on the motor but not touching, is that bad?

Again this is my first try doing this so I just want to make sure I am doing it right thanks a lot
Old 05-18-2009, 12:14 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)

It would be best if we had a picture to go by. First solder can be tough, but after awhile you will be a pro! As far as soldering your wire to another wire before soldering to the connector, thats how I do it. Just cut back a small amount of insulation and solder directly to the wire, then cover with shrink tube. If the wire is not all the way on the connector, but it is on enough to not come loose with repeated tugging, then you will not notice any loss of power unless you are running a serious power system. If you have connectors or exposed wire touching anything, I would find a way to cover them, as a short can be dangerous. Keep it up and your joints will start looking better and better.
Old 05-18-2009, 06:20 AM
Super Moderator

Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)

the positive and negatives are apart from eachother but should i worry about them maybe sparking together and something happening?