Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Futuba Brushless servos BLS 452 > Futuba Brushless servos BLS 452

Futuba Brushless servos BLS 452

Reply

Old 05-16-2009, 10:01 AM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
lethalleigh29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: At The Track
Posts: 2,687
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default Futuba Brushless servos BLS 452

i have noticed that these servos state Ni-cd use only is there a reson for that or are they safe for use with ni-mh and lipos.
lethalleigh29 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 10:04 AM
  #2  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (18)
 
Armstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 434
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

They should work with Lipos without problem. Just make sure that the regulator you use can handle the high amp draw by the servos.

Using them with NiMh would sometimes let the voltage drop low enough to let the receiver do a reset.
Armstrong is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 10:16 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
lethalleigh29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: At The Track
Posts: 2,687
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Armstrong View Post
Using them with NiMh would sometimes let the voltage drop low enough to let the receiver do a reset.
Cheers for the quick reply could you please explain the Nimh again i dont quite understand

Cheers

i mainly use NiMh and dont really want to go to lipos unless i really have to i have bad experiences on lipos including a wrecked motor due to regulator failure.
lethalleigh29 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 10:23 AM
  #4  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (18)
 
Armstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 434
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

NiCd's are more capable of sustaining their voltages during high amp drain situations i.e. the servos are under load. Under load situations, the voltage of the NiMh would drop momentarily and let the receiver turn itself off and then on again. The moment it turns on, the receiver has to check for an open channel again before reconnecting with the transmiiter.

You can still try it with NiMh though. Just make sure that your receiver can sustain the lower voltages. The Spektrums in particular are very sensitive to low voltages.

Hope this clear things up

Kevin
Armstrong is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 10:41 AM
  #5  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
lethalleigh29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: At The Track
Posts: 2,687
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Armstrong View Post
NiCd's are more capable of sustaining their voltages during high amp drain situations i.e. the servos are under load. Under load situations, the voltage of the NiMh would drop momentarily and let the receiver turn itself off and then on again. The moment it turns on, the receiver has to check for an open channel again before reconnecting with the transmiiter.

You can still try it with NiMh though. Just make sure that your receiver can sustain the lower voltages. The Spektrums in particular are very sensitive to low voltages.

Hope this clear things up

Kevin
cool thanks mate i am running the 4pk for the first time with these servos and i was just concerned over that little statement i will be running them in the steering of my RC8 so i will give a serious testing before i go out a crank a big race.
lethalleigh29 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 12:12 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
lethalleigh29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: At The Track
Posts: 2,687
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

are the servos direct lipo compatible
lethalleigh29 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 02:59 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
lethalleigh29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: At The Track
Posts: 2,687
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

is there anything else i need to know before running these servos.
lethalleigh29 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 05:53 AM
  #8  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
lethalleigh29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: At The Track
Posts: 2,687
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

can these servos take a lipo direct.
lethalleigh29 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 06:22 AM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
Kyosho_101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,305
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lethalleigh29 View Post
can these servos take a lipo direct.
only one way to find out and then it will answer the question for me so go ahead give it a try whats the worst thing that could happen
Kyosho_101 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 06:23 AM
  #10  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
lethalleigh29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: At The Track
Posts: 2,687
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kyosho_101 View Post
only one way to find out and then it will answer the question for me so go ahead give it a try whats the worst thing that could happen
Smoke and fire.
lethalleigh29 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 09:03 AM
  #11  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
B.A. Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,862
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

i just got the same servo..i run an rc8e and of course u use lipos...have any problems with it?
B.A. Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 06:13 AM
  #12  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
lethalleigh29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: At The Track
Posts: 2,687
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

yeah but doesnt the speedy regulate the voltage going to the reciever hence you would only be putting out 6 volts to to the servo.
lethalleigh29 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 07:30 AM
  #13  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

99% sure an ESC outputs 6V, the servo would be fine on an electric set-up, not too sure on the LiPo part though.
howtowakeakar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 08:06 AM
  #14  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
lethalleigh29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: At The Track
Posts: 2,687
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

yeah thats what i thought im just gonna have to try it and find out what happens.
lethalleigh29 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 06:05 PM
  #15  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Wenbiao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,849
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lethalleigh29 View Post
yeah thats what i thought im just gonna have to try it and find out what happens.
me too
Wenbiao is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service