Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Spektrum DX3S & DX3R >

Spektrum DX3S & DX3R

Spektrum DX3S & DX3R

Old 05-05-2009, 06:09 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
KidAgain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: so cal
Posts: 187
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Spektrum DX3S & DX3R

Can someone explain the difference between the two, advantages and disadvantages.

Jake
KidAgain is offline  
Old 05-06-2009, 07:44 AM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (3)
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by KidAgain View Post
Can someone explain the difference between the two, advantages and disadvantages.

Jake
I had posted this awhile back in the DX3R and DX3S threads:

I had posted this a few days ago in the DX3R thread:

IMHO these are some of the more outstanding differences between the two radios:

DX3R
Higher Resolution display
Steering Rate Override
Adjustable frame Rate
Trim Step Adjustment
30-model memory
DSM2

DX3S
Standard and Expert menu systems
Throttle Punch
10-model memory
Built-in Telemetry
DSM
RCGaryK is offline  
Old 05-07-2009, 04:55 PM
  #3  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
KidAgain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: so cal
Posts: 187
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RCGaryK View Post
I had posted this awhile back in the DX3R and DX3S threads:

I had posted this a few days ago in the DX3R thread:

IMHO these are some of the more outstanding differences between the two radios:

DX3R
Higher Resolution display
Steering Rate Override
Adjustable frame Rate
Trim Step Adjustment
30-model memory
DSM2

DX3S
Standard and Expert menu systems
Throttle Punch
10-model memory
Built-in Telemetry
DSM
Is telemetry really needed.
KidAgain is offline  
Old 05-07-2009, 05:32 PM
  #4  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brisbane - Australia
Posts: 23
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

ive got both i first went with the dx3s because of the telemetry but after awhile i found that the telemetry wasnt really that useful with offroad, the temp monitor was handy for new engine running in and tuning but didnt really used the lap timer thing and never was able to get the rpm monitor working properly either, so i ended up buying the dx3r which is now my primary radio and taking advantage of the framerate option which works really well with fast servos
glyde is offline  
Old 05-07-2009, 06:50 PM
  #5  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (3)
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by KidAgain View Post
Is telemetry really needed.
Needed, no, a welcome feature, to some yes
RCGaryK is offline  
Old 05-07-2009, 08:32 PM
  #6  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
KidAgain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: so cal
Posts: 187
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

just got the dx3r hope I made a good choice.
KidAgain is offline  
Old 05-07-2009, 08:37 PM
  #7  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (520)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 7,377
Trader Rating: 520 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by KidAgain View Post
just got the dx3r hope I made a good choice.
I have one and yes you made a good choice, Great Radio--My.02
flame56mx is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.