Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Upgrade choice M8 w/Spek Pro VS DX3R >

Upgrade choice M8 w/Spek Pro VS DX3R

Upgrade choice M8 w/Spek Pro VS DX3R

Old 01-17-2009, 07:25 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Upgrade choice M8 w/Spek Pro VS DX3R

Hello i am looking to get some info based on others experiences. I have been racing for over 20 years now and the evolution in technology is just simply amazing. I have been away from regular racing for a while but am getting back into it again with my 7 year old son. When I got out the radio set up to have was the M8 with the novak switch and novak synth RX's. The new spektum stuff is now the stuff to have based on racer feedback and on track popularity. I absolutely love the way the M8 feels in my hand ( i've owned a lot of radios in the past from most of the popular company's and the M8 is the most comfortable for me) I will primarily race offroad electric in the popular classes. Now my questions and needs...

1) Will I have to rebind the TX and RX each time I switch models with the M8 spek pro, as I understand the Dx3r will just turn on and keep the existing bind with the prebinded RX. So just select the model and turn on the car and start racing.

2) Are there any range or interference benefits with either system?

3)PRICE!!! With my son racing now I have to buy 2 of everything I don't mind spending good money but having my son drop (and any parents out there know this WILL happen... not an IF) a new $300 plus radio makes me cringe!

4) DSM2,DSM1 the DX3R is reverse compatible with dsm, but dsm2 RX won't work with DSM1 TX.

5) My goal is to have both of us on DSS but we can drive any car in our fleet
with just selecting the model and turning it on. Remember my boy is 7 years old the KISS method is of prime importance!!!