Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
What is a good  lipo/nimh charger? >

What is a good lipo/nimh charger?

What is a good lipo/nimh charger?

Old 12-24-2008, 08:55 AM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
KZ 250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 162
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default What is a good lipo/nimh charger?

What is a good lipo/nimh charger under $100? Was looking at the onyx 230 but heard it wasn't good for racing and thats what i want to have it for.

Thanks
KZ 250 is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 10:07 AM
  #2  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

http://www.allerc.com/product_info.p...oducts_id=3630


http://www.rcaccessory.com/index.asp...ROD&ProdID=132

These are both DC chargers. The bantam unit will need a balancer, the hyperion has one built in.
Duster_360 is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 11:10 AM
  #3  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
KZ 250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 162
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Any with AC/Dc?
KZ 250 is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 11:45 AM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (96)
 
iPearl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 2,890
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default

Ditto any with AC/DC Build in under 99 ???
iPearl is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 12:40 PM
  #5  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Only one I can find and its currently out of stock -

http://www.cheapbatterypacks.com/?si...LIPO&pgid=chrg

You might email CBP and see how long its going to be.


There are several chargers available starting at $140. Or, you could get an Accucell-6 by Turnigy and but one of their power supplies and pay for shipping and still be under your $100 limit. I've got one and its an awesome charger for the price. Some of their PS are shown on the same page.

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...lancer/Charger
Duster_360 is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 01:18 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (96)
 
iPearl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 2,890
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Duster_360 View Post
Only one I can find and its currently out of stock -

http://www.cheapbatterypacks.com/?si...LIPO&pgid=chrg

You might email CBP and see how long its going to be.


There are several chargers available starting at $140. Or, you could get an Accucell-6 by Turnigy and but one of their power supplies and pay for shipping and still be under your $100 limit. I've got one and its an awesome charger for the price. Some of their PS are shown on the same page.

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...lancer/Charger
Whats the avg cell size for Revo Lipo ???
aka how many cell are the avg Pro used Lipo cells ???
Does the accucell Balance Lipos also ???
iPearl is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 01:31 PM
  #7  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by iPearl View Post
Whats the avg cell size for Revo Lipo ???
aka how many cell are the avg Pro used Lipo cells ???
Does the accucell Balance Lipos also ???
If I understand you - E-Revo (or converted Revo?) uses a pair of lipos - either 2S or 3S (wired together to make either 4S or 6S). Yes, the Accucell-6 is a balancing charger - it has a builtin balancer.

If you're looking at 5000mah lipos, 1C charge rate is 5amps, the Accucell-6. like many chargers priced below $140 has an output of 50watts. You'll be able to charge a 2S at 1C since its below 50watt output of charger. A 3S will not charge at 1C since the higher voltage requires more power than charger can output. 12.4v X 5amps = 60.2watts.

This charger does the same thing all other 50 watt chargers do in this case - it limits charge current to stay under its 50watt limit. It will charge a 3S, but at something less than 1C - main difference - it will take more time to charge.

Most of these 50watt charges will charge up to a 6S lipo - but at reduced charge rates due to charger power output limitation.
Duster_360 is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 02:02 PM
  #8  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
KZ 250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 162
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the help.
What about some power supplies under $70 that will get the job done.
KZ 250 is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 02:17 PM
  #9  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (33)
 
Jason Pelletier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 8,834
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by KZ 250 View Post
Thanks for the help.
What about some power supplies under $70 that will get the job done.
pyramid psv-300 or 200

I been using one heavily for 2 years.
Jason Pelletier is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 02:32 PM
  #10  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Here you go - Pyramid is my recommendation as well - cheapest I've seen it -
the 200 is 20amps and 300 is 30amps. Either will be more than enough -

http://store.buyreliant.com/servlet/...Pyramid/Detail
Duster_360 is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 02:51 PM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (96)
 
iPearl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 2,890
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default

Also Thanks for the help =D
I will probably buy a new Accucell 6 or the 8 for 30 bucks more.
They seem to be priced very competitive.
iPearl is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 02:58 PM
  #12  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Hobby City has a US warehouse and by the time its all said and done with S&H, it costs $4 more to buy it from the US warehouse - just in case you don't care to do international shipping.

I've used mine enough that I've gotten over the amazement at how much it will do versus what I paid for it.
Duster_360 is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 03:41 PM
  #13  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
KZ 250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 162
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Can I buy the turnigy accuel-6 at any other website because I want to get it from a place in the US
KZ 250 is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 03:46 PM
  #14  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
KZ 250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 162
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Do you guys know if the 16A 14v DC Power Supply for Chargers is a good power supply since its only $40
KZ 250 is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 04:34 PM
  #15  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (96)
 
iPearl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 2,890
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Duster_360 View Post
Hobby City has a US warehouse and by the time its all said and done with S&H, it costs $4 more to buy it from the US warehouse - just in case you don't care to do international shipping.

I've used mine enough that I've gotten over the amazement at how much it will do versus what I paid for it.
I didnt get a word -_-
What do you mean ?
iPearl is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.