Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
How Much Amps Should a Power Supply Have? >

How Much Amps Should a Power Supply Have?

How Much Amps Should a Power Supply Have?

Old 03-22-2008, 06:33 AM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Boosted561's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Atlanta,Ga
Posts: 240
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default How Much Amps Should a Power Supply Have?

I'm just getting back in the hobby. so for now. The only thing I need the power supply to do is power a charger. In the future I may need it to power a few other devices. What's the amperage I should be looking for?
Boosted561 is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 07:33 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Boosted561 View Post
I'm just getting back in the hobby. so for now. The only thing I need the power supply to do is power a charger. In the future I may need it to power a few other devices. What's the amperage I should be looking for?
Figure out the current draw you plan to use and add 25% to it for safety.

Most get by with a 20AMP supply.
AreCee is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 07:48 AM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
CREWMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,539
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

yea 20 amps is a good place to start and then you can build from there. if you are on a budjet and you only need to run a charger go smaller.

i am bored so i will leave examples

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXLGF3&P=7
this one is only 14amps but it would do the job.

this is the one i would get
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXTYY3&P=7
CREWMAN is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 08:08 AM
  #4  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Boosted561's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Atlanta,Ga
Posts: 240
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Crew! I'll add it to my shopping list.
Boosted561 is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 08:30 PM
  #5  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (7)
 
air8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutch, KS
Posts: 5,748
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXRJN7&P=ML

If you just want to get started this one works good. I have been using it for about 6 months now. I run two ICE chargers that charge at 6amps and a 4" cooling fan. But of course the chargers aren't pulling six amps. They only pull about 3.5amps. Anyways. Works very well.
air8 is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 10:55 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

OFNA 18AMP PS @ $99.95 is a good PS. Light, small and can adjust voltage also comes with a buss.
AreCee is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 01:28 AM
  #7  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
scrawl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 387
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Another option is to build it yourself out of an computer power supply.

I too recently returned to the hobby and built one from an old 30amp PSU from a retired PC. Cost me about $10 in parts to complete. Plenty of instructions available online if you google "ATX lab power supply".

Its been happily running two chargers, discharger fans and a Smart Tray with no problems.

Details of mine are available here.

scrawl is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.