Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Novak GTX - power capacitor question > Novak GTX - power capacitor question

Novak GTX - power capacitor question

Reply

Old 02-02-2008, 02:47 PM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (29)
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,737
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default Novak GTX - power capacitor question

I am going to be running a GTX in my B4 mostly stock and 19T motors.

Can I run without the Power Capacitor???
nikos2002 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 05:47 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (67)
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,644
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default Power Cap

As I understand, the Power Cap helps keep the ESC cooler as well as the motor. It increases brakes and reduces comm damage due to arching. I have never run without one.

I have always thought it Novak didn't think it was necessary, it wouldn't be there. I do know some guys who run a smaller cap when they run the GTX in a 1/18th scale. Different demands and different size motor.
nutz4rcyktw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 02:06 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (29)
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,737
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

I decided to try it and see what would happen. No issues at all - very little heat. Ran 19T - geared as required by mfg. - it was OK until the wheel on my transmitter broke.
nikos2002 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service