Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
marine ESC for rally? >

marine ESC for rally?

marine ESC for rally?

Old 11-18-2007, 02:24 PM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default marine ESC for rally?

i thought this would be good for my 1/14th rally (running a feeble 27t 280 silvercan)

http://www.lstshop.co.uk/catalog/pro...e22458f7d3bb24

i liked the idea it was waterproof, but would i blow it up in my car?
joe of loath is offline  
Old 11-18-2007, 03:44 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (27)
 
chewiefttc4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bristol tn
Posts: 1,659
Trader Rating: 27 (97%+)
Default

all of mtronics stuff is waterproof..
check into their other products..
chewiefttc4 is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 05:00 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by chewiefttc4
all of mtronics stuff is waterproof..
check into their other products..
oh yeah.. but this one has support for 10 cells, the other ones only 8. so if i wanted some extra speed i could make a 10cell AAA pack.
joe of loath is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 09:01 AM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (27)
 
chewiefttc4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bristol tn
Posts: 1,659
Trader Rating: 27 (97%+)
Default

with 10 cells.. youll fry out your motor really quick. the motors are only rated for 6.0 volts we are already pushing them at 7.4
chewiefttc4 is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 09:53 AM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (27)
 
chewiefttc4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bristol tn
Posts: 1,659
Trader Rating: 27 (97%+)
Default

yes you will prematurely wear the motor if not blow it up.. within a run or so.. unless you bought a 600 size graupner boat motor...
check into it.
chewiefttc4 is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 09:54 AM
  #6  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

oh well theres lots more armatures where that one came from

but do you think i'll blow it up or not? i've got a deal going for another ESC, but thats too good to go in my rally
joe of loath is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 10:12 AM
  #7  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by chewiefttc4
yes you will prematurely wear the motor if not blow it up.. within a run or so.. unless you bought a 600 size graupner boat motor...
check into it.
i can't because its a rear tranny and it only fits 280 motors but i can replace them because i have a box of them
joe of loath is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 10:29 AM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (27)
 
chewiefttc4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bristol tn
Posts: 1,659
Trader Rating: 27 (97%+)
Default

i wouldnt suggest 10 cells
8 would be plenty.. if not too much already
chewiefttc4 is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 10:34 AM
  #9  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

if you saw how slow it is you would realise how much i need those extra cells
joe of loath is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 10:57 AM
  #10  
Tech Master
iTrader: (27)
 
chewiefttc4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bristol tn
Posts: 1,659
Trader Rating: 27 (97%+)
Default

what were you using currently six ?
if so it will be night and day with 8
chewiefttc4 is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 11:41 AM
  #11  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by chewiefttc4
what were you using currently six ?
if so it will be night and day with 8
using 8 but i downgraded to a slower motor when i broke the stack on the old one...
joe of loath is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 12:10 PM
  #12  
Tech Master
iTrader: (27)
 
chewiefttc4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bristol tn
Posts: 1,659
Trader Rating: 27 (97%+)
Default

what happened to bunny ??
chewiefttc4 is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 12:29 PM
  #13  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

unfortunatly, bunny couldn't stand the constant pressure of the public eye, and shot himself.
joe of loath is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 12:33 PM
  #14  
Tech Master
iTrader: (27)
 
chewiefttc4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bristol tn
Posts: 1,659
Trader Rating: 27 (97%+)
Default

i heard he had intercourse with a poodle. and his offspring are running around somewhere.. freakishly
chewiefttc4 is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 12:34 PM
  #15  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

hmm lovely. well at least that esc is waterproofed from the stream of pee from your avatar...
joe of loath is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.