Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Trinity Li-Pro 4500 Racing Pack >

Trinity Li-Pro 4500 Racing Pack

Trinity Li-Pro 4500 Racing Pack

Old 01-25-2008, 10:52 PM
  #61  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,447
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, let me know how it goes. I run my eXpress 4500 packs in Touring on carpet with a 13.5 and no problems. I wonder if you are somehow putting pressure on the circuit board inside. The eXpress version of the 4500 pack is suppose to have a lower cutoff voltage than the Trinity pack. Or so I'm told. I would prefer a pack without a built in cutoff voltage because if I were to say run Mod.... I would not want the pack to shut off on me during the run. But the lower cutoff is suppose to prevent this from happening.
JimmyMac is offline  
Old 01-26-2008, 04:31 AM
  #62  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (18)
 
gndprx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 791
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Yup, I'll try and follow up tonight.

We are running 4 qualifiers and a main today, all 7 min heats. So I'll get a good idea of how the pack will hold up under stress.

Although I swapped out my 8.5 for my 13.5 and will be running stock so the current draw won't be as high on it's first run out.
gndprx is offline  
Old 01-26-2008, 06:52 PM
  #63  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (18)
 
gndprx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 791
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Pack ran great all day. Put in about 4 rounds of practice and then 4 6 min qualifiers and a 7 min main over the course of about 12 hours of stock truck with a 13.5.

I had one glitch after dropping the truck on the track for my 3rd qualifier. I just went and bumped the truck and all came back on. I never had a single glitch during actual running though. I just kept re-peaking between rounds and never really paid attention to how much went back into the pack but it didn't take much to get it back to 8.4v when the ice starts dropping it's amperage output.

Just make sure you don't put much pressure on the pack.

All around I was happy with it and for the price you can't go wrong.
gndprx is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 12:05 AM
  #64  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,447
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

That's good to hear. Glad you are happy with them. Mine have been running good so far. One of these days I will put them through some 10.5 runs on asphalt. See how they hold up. Should be no prob.
JimmyMac is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 04:58 AM
  #65  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (18)
 
gndprx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 791
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

After unpacking yesterday I dumped the pack before recharging. AFter a 7 min main with maybe 2 minutes worth of warm up laps, I still pulled 2500+ mah out of the pack before hitting a 6.4v cut-off. Not too shabby on run time.

That was in a XXX-T with a 13.5 (geared at 8.5 fdr) on a relatively technical track. Not too many wide open sections.
gndprx is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 11:43 AM
  #66  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 155
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys

I had my LHS order me one of these and im picking it up tonight.

Do they require a balancer? I know the orion packs dont require one....

Im using an ICE Charger, GTB/6.5 combo... curious if i should be aware of any issues with any of that?
z28mccrory is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 02:16 PM
  #67  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (18)
 
gndprx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 791
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

I recommend balancing any 2S LiPo. I have a balancer for my maxamps packs anyway, so I just had to get an Align adapter to match up.

It shows that it does balance during the charge, although just a little usually.
gndprx is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 08:18 PM
  #68  
Tech Initiate
 
Team54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Rock Hill SC
Posts: 48
Default thunderpower balancer

I bought one of these batteries and need to connect it to A Thunderpower balancer.Does anyone know were to get an adaptor or know how to match the differently color wires to make one?

Thanks-Alan
Team54 is offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 10:03 AM
  #69  
Tech Initiate
 
Team54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Rock Hill SC
Posts: 48
Default

Anybody?
Team54 is offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 08:43 PM
  #70  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Team54
I bought one of these batteries and need to connect it to A Thunderpower balancer.Does anyone know were to get an adaptor or know how to match the differently color wires to make one?

Thanks-Alan
I'm not sure what you're asking. Are you asking how to remove the existing balancing tap to wire in another one or where to get an adapter for the E-Flight/Great Planes/Electrofly tap that is on the battery already?

Color code is very simple since it's a 2S; red is positive, black is negative and white in node 1.
AreCee is offline  
Old 02-18-2008, 05:47 AM
  #71  
Tech Initiate
 
Team54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Rock Hill SC
Posts: 48
Default

I would prefer to find A ready made adapter wire but if I can't get one I could make one if I knew how to connect the wires.I have A Thunderpower balancer TP-205v.I have an extention wire on the balancer that will connect to my thunderpower packs.The wires on this jumper are black,white,Blue and orange.I know that inside the thunderpower batteries the orange wire is not used.So I have black white and blue to work with.I am guessing that the blue wire would be the positive wire.?
I would much rather find A simple plug and play adapter.I am just thinking about options in case I can't find one.

Thanks-Alan
Team54 is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 12:23 PM
  #72  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 637
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I haven't found anything pre made myself yet...but the male plug to mate to the balance port on the pack is the common sense 2S plug (I think CSMALE-3 or PRAC-2), you'll have to build it using a 2S hyperion harness and you will need to be extra careful with the wiring. I just found a CSMALE-3 and noticed the wires are backwards to whats coming out of the pack. The PRAC-2 might have the correct order, but it really doesn't matter what color they are if you wire it correctly...I'm going to put a red shrink wrap on the true positive and a white shrink on the shared so I remember when I plug it in that I wired it correctly despite the wire colors.
glitchy is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 09:53 PM
  #73  
Tech Master
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,706
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

anyone have any problems with these batteries yet? I have two of them and i ahve used them for two weekends and one has been great and the other just feels real flat like it doesnt have the voltage that it should it charges fine just doesnt run very good! i changed motors a couple of time because i thought that was the problem but it wasnt i put a nimh pack in and wow i had tons of motor. Anyone have any ideas? What should i do? Should i contact trinity and see if theres anything they will do?
JDriemeier is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 06:04 AM
  #74  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Alltapdout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Great White Buffalo
Posts: 412
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default soft pack

I've had no issues, but it seems that the people that have had problems are pulling the cases apart and removing the PCB and cutoff. Like I said I've seen no issues with mine, and I would contact team trinity first to see if there is any type of compensation.
Good Luck.
Alltapdout is offline  
Old 02-25-2008, 05:24 AM
  #75  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Stogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Biggie Shorty style
Posts: 716
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default voltage just not quite there...

I bought an economy pack marketed toward the electric R/C flight crowd, and after doing some bench testing (charging at 2C, discharging at 20 amps), this 3300 pack seems to be about .5 volt lower throughout the range of the discharge vs. one of my Trinity 4600 NiMH packs. Has anyone done testing with the Trinity Li-Pro 4500 (or any other comparable packs, such as Orion) to see how the voltage stands up? I hate to spend the $$$ only to find out this pack is no better than my bargain flight pack.
Stogie is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.