Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Hobbywing XR10 Pro Issue >

Hobbywing XR10 Pro Issue

Like Tree5Likes

Hobbywing XR10 Pro Issue

Old 05-06-2020, 06:09 AM
  #1  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
AEracer888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Philadelphia, Pa
Posts: 32
Default Hobbywing XR10 Pro Issue

Posted in a couple threads but figured i might have better luck making a dedicated one. Hoping some of you can shed some light on my situation. Built a tekno et410, running mks550 servo, hobbywing xr10pro and 5.5t g3 motor, spektrum sr315 receiver and gens ace 5500mah 65c batteries. Having an issue with the esc where if starts out normal then after about 30 seconds the car slows until it stops. if I stab full throttle the cuts in and out but car barely moves. It will move on 1/4 throttle but slowly. Not sure if batteries in using are bad, my charger says each sell is the correct voltage. Went through the parameters in the program box and lowered the voltage cutoff to 3.2v. No change. All the other parameters are factory. Anyone else running this motor/esc have issues like this? This is my first electric car after a long hiatus being out of the sport. Any info will be appreciated, thank you.
AEracer888 is offline  
Old 05-06-2020, 07:42 AM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 934
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Do the easy stuff 1st. Recalibrate. Check all solder joints. Default esc. Basically rebuild the car in your head and check those steps all the while. Im the minority here, but I am not a fan of HW. Ive had so much bad luck with faulty esc's.
Funkydrummer1 is offline  
Old 05-06-2020, 07:48 AM
  #3  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
AEracer888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Philadelphia, Pa
Posts: 32
Default

Originally Posted by Funkydrummer1
Do the easy stuff 1st. Recalibrate. Check all solder joints. Default esc. Basically rebuild the car in your head and check those steps all the while. Im the minority here, but I am not a fan of HW. Ive had so much bad luck with faulty esc's.
Tried recalibration, I Iím going to pull it from the car and check all connections and sensor wire. Have a spare on the way because Iíve read that they can cause issues. Itís got me stumped
AEracer888 is offline  
Old 05-06-2020, 08:25 AM
  #4  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 335
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I've had weird things like this happen due to cold solder joints at the motor. To check to see if you have cold solder joints, grab the wire and try to wiggle it, tug to see if it comes off.
Reheat and make sure the solder flows well on both the wire and solder tab on the motor.
jmitchell is offline  
Old 05-06-2020, 09:03 AM
  #5  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 934
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

In my experience, 75% of the time its the sensor wire. Thats why I always have 2 or 3 in my box.
simple, billdelong, trf211 and 2 others like this.
Funkydrummer1 is offline  
Old 05-06-2020, 11:15 AM
  #6  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 658
Default

Originally Posted by Funkydrummer1
In my experience, 75% of the time its the sensor wire. Thats why I always have 2 or 3 in my box.
This. Hobbywing's sensor wire that come in the box and use the outer wrap can often pull slightly off the plug and disconnect when you cram the stiff sensor wire on the chassis. The softer easily manueverable sensor wires don't really have this issue.

It's always a good idea to double check sensor wire plugs by using a small headed tool and pushing each side of the sensor wire plug into the esc. You may hear a little click when it is seated correctly.
trf211 is offline  
Old 05-06-2020, 11:19 AM
  #7  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
AEracer888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Philadelphia, Pa
Posts: 32
Default

Originally Posted by trf211
This. Hobbywing's sensor wire that come in the box and use the outer wrap can often pull slightly off the plug and disconnect when you cram the stiff sensor wire on the chassis. The softer easily manueverable sensor wires don't really have this issue.

It's always a good idea to double check sensor wire plugs by using a small headed tool and pushing each side of the sensor wire plug into the esc. You may hear a little click when it is seated correctly.
thank you all. I have a new sensor wire coming in the mail. Going to test that out in a day or so when it shows up
AEracer888 is offline  
Old 05-06-2020, 12:37 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (278)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Wisconsin USA
Posts: 4,932
Trader Rating: 278 (100%+)
Default

Did you try a different battery to make sure that's not the issue?
Andy Koback is offline  
Old 05-06-2020, 03:27 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 1,065
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Probably the esc not being able to handle that much motor in a heavy 4wd truck. That esc has a 5.5t motor limit in a buggy. Try turning the motor timing down and lower your gearing a little. Does the esc get hot?
waitwhat is offline  
Old 05-07-2020, 05:53 AM
  #10  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
AEracer888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Philadelphia, Pa
Posts: 32
Default

Originally Posted by waitwhat
Probably the esc not being able to handle that much motor in a heavy 4wd truck. That esc has a 5.5t motor limit in a buggy. Try turning the motor timing down and lower your gearing a little. Does the esc get hot?
havenít even been able to run it long enough to get some heat in the motor. Currently set in zero timing mode and using a larger pinion gear to offset heat. Two batteries i had did the same thing. I get maybe two full throttle runs up the driveway before It slows down and then just stutters when I grab full throttle. I can get it to move with about 1/4 throttle but it moves slowly. If worse comes to worse I contacted hobbywing and they will warranty it.
AEracer888 is offline  
Old 05-07-2020, 05:55 AM
  #11  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (33)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 5,978
Trader Rating: 33 (97%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AEracer888
thank you all. I have a new sensor wire coming in the mail. Going to test that out in a day or so when it shows up
Even better to simply disconnect the sensor wire and see if the problem goes away, it will cog really bad on slow speeds without the wire connected but you will know if the motor is good after that.

Also check your gearing and temps, if you overheated the motor at any point then you might be experience severe fade from a bad rotor that may need to be replaced. I would remove the pinion and check for any binding in the drive line as well. Temps will tell you if something is wrong:
What gearing for upgraded electronics?
billdelong is offline  
Old 05-07-2020, 08:58 AM
  #12  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
AEracer888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Philadelphia, Pa
Posts: 32
Default

Originally Posted by billdelong
Even better to simply disconnect the sensor wire and see if the problem goes away, it will cog really bad on slow speeds without the wire connected but you will know if the motor is good after that.

Also check your gearing and temps, if you overheated the motor at any point then you might be experience severe fade from a bad rotor that may need to be replaced. I would remove the pinion and check for any binding in the drive line as well. Temps will tell you if something is wrong:
What gearing for upgraded electronics?
I havenít even had the motor and esc working properly long enough to even get it remotely hot. 17t pinion, stock et410 spur gear I forget how but but Iím using the recommended pinion size for the truck. I will unplug the sensor wire and see what happens. I have a new one on the way. If I canít figure it out hobbywing said they will warranty it and replace the esc
AEracer888 is offline  
Old 05-07-2020, 09:40 AM
  #13  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (33)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 5,978
Trader Rating: 33 (97%+)
Default

Also place a piece of paper in between the pinion and spur to set the mesh, if the gap is too tight, that can over heat the motor in seconds
billdelong is offline  
Old 05-08-2020, 12:46 AM
  #14  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (2)
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,075
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Mom, one more thing are you absolutely certain your battery is getting a full charge how long is it taking and what ampere are you using
Grizzbob is offline  
Old 05-14-2020, 10:32 PM
  #15  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 12
Default

Have you managed to solve the issue yet?
Kristoffer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.