• 3 Post By xenon55
  • 1 Post By riceball777

Antenna routing

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2019, 10:25 AM
R/C Tech Elite Member

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default Antenna routing

Noob here. How are you guys routing your shorty Rx antennas? I don’t see many guys running antenna tubes anymore. Is the antenna just loose? Or is everyone just running antenna-less receivers? I see the newest Sanwa Rx for the M17 (491) has returned to having an external antenna, did the antenna-less 481, and 482 not work that well?
Old 11-25-2019, 11:19 AM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

My local track isn't that big, but I don't route the antenna out of the body. I just bundle it with the rest of the wiring and tuck it out of place. I haven't had any issues with distance on my local track, but again, it's not a large track. I'm not using Sanwa gear though so YMMV.
Old 11-25-2019, 11:22 AM
Tech Lord

There is allready a lot written about the differences between antenna less and reacievers with an antenna

Basically the antenna less receivers are advised voor electric because those tracks are smaller. Such a receiver mounted in a gas car it will be surrounded by aluminum and carbon that can give range isues. So when running small tracks and electric (more open chassis) the antenna less is fine. When running gas on large tracks it is advisable to use a receiver with an antenna although there are many reports of no issues with an antenna less receiver, to me it is still a risk with such a choice..
Old 11-25-2019, 11:24 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

I use "antennaless" receivers for my nitro buggy and it's fine, even on large tracks such as Thornhill. But that's with a FlySky NB4 so your experience might vary with other radios.

For my ebuggy I used a lighter to bend the antenna so it stays under the body. It's a shorter 2.4ghz antenna. I know that isn't ideal but it hasn't caused any issues for me.
Bsthetech likes this.

Last edited by frewster; 11-25-2019 at 11:38 AM.