Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
How would you repair this broken wire? >

How would you repair this broken wire?

Like Tree7Likes
  • 1 Post By st_dragn_wagen
  • 1 Post By Dave_S
  • 1 Post By the rc guy
  • 1 Post By Juglenaut
  • 2 Post By Sir 51D3WAYS
  • 1 Post By m3rcfh

How would you repair this broken wire?

Reply

Old 07-04-2019, 02:55 PM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
Dave_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 2,878
Default How would you repair this broken wire?

I'm thinking of just using solder to spice in a smidge of wire and put heat shrink over whole area. (Using caution not to expose other wires in cable)

any suggestions of better way to fix?




Dave_S is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 03:04 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
 
st_dragn_wagen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: lost in space
Posts: 1,441
Default

can you get away with shortening the wire to where the break is? cut it at the break, and solder directly to the board, thus shortening the wire.
in all honesty though, and iv actually done this, if it's still working, just shrink tube over the damage and forget about it
Dave_S likes this.
st_dragn_wagen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 03:30 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
Dave_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 2,878
Default

That was original plan, but I was hoping for something prettier


II was going to wait to fix, but I suddenly felt motivated.

ended up just separating the black wire from cable to repair. I guess I'll just put wire sleeve on this cable after the heat shrink.

also this repair probably would have gotten me thrown out of soldering school.
Juglenaut likes this.
Dave_S is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 03:57 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
 
the rc guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,403
Default

I would have added a short piece of blk wire with heat shrink and soldered it not have it so tight.
Dave_S likes this.
the rc guy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 04:46 PM
  #5  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The States
Posts: 281
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

On my rc car I took the pins out of the connectors, separated the wires, and made the cable into a twisted set, then put the whole thing into heavy duty heat shrink tubing. I thought about putting a ferrite choke on it.
Dave_S likes this.
Juglenaut is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2019, 02:46 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
 
Sir 51D3WAYS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Somewhere in this Universe
Posts: 1,532
Default

Cut all 3 wires, splice with solder. Or crimp new connectors, effectively shortening it and lengthening it as necessary with servo lead extenders.
mushroomed and Dave_S like this.
Sir 51D3WAYS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 04:41 PM
  #7  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 117
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Maybe just a drop of solder and shrink tube over it? Seems like it's not completely separated yet
Dave_S likes this.
m3rcfh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 05:24 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (246)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Wisconsin USA
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 246 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Sir 51D3WAYS View Post
Cut all 3 wires, splice with solder. Or crimp new connectors, effectively shortening it and lengthening it as necessary with servo lead extenders.
Having to use extenders just leads to more connection issues. Can't understand why guys are so "happy" to cut/hack stock wiring. (Unless your entering a concoures event)
Andy Koback is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 09:36 PM
  #9  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (30)
 
redmonster27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ohio
Posts: 536
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

1
redmonster27 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 11:14 AM
  #10  
Tech Master
 
Sir 51D3WAYS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Somewhere in this Universe
Posts: 1,532
Default

Originally Posted by Andy Koback View Post
Having to use extenders just leads to more connection issues. Can't understand why guys are so "happy" to cut/hack stock wiring. (Unless your entering a concoures event)
I respectfully disagree. Personally, I have not had any issues with it, and I understand the plane guys do it all the time. Besides, the layout of my car virtually mandates a very long receiver lead from the esc, so an extender is a must.
Sir 51D3WAYS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 12:22 PM
  #11  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
Dave_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 2,878
Default

I use extenders, but prefer not too. I used to make my own cables to whatever length I want and just solder them to the circuit board, but these days pretty much all my electronics are in potting compound. I don't want to hack into that.
Dave_S is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service