Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Castle 1515 motor bearings

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2019, 11:47 AM
Tech Regular

Default Castle 1515 motor bearings

Does anyone know why Castle have started to glue there motor bearings in?!

Guess that comment is said with annoyance in my voice as I’ve just gone to upgrade my 1515 2200kv bearing to Boca oranges to find they are glued in.

Started shaft end first, please note I have done bearings changes before but this is my first attempt with a Castle motor.

Bearing felt tight and wouldn’t tap out so I applied some heat and out it popped, once removed you can see and feel the hard resin residue from where it’s been glued in.

Moved onto the endbell and again with wriggling a 5mm bar inside the bearing it wouldn't budge so again applied some heat but unlike the front this didn’t help.

Little bit of Googling later came up with the idea to pack the inside with grease and tap down with the 5mm bar I guess in essence to do a kind of hydraulic press from behind, well no luck there it just popped the metal seal off and now got a slight bulged on the reverse of the endbell

why oh why would they glue bearings in....

Old 06-25-2019, 03:59 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)

That bites that castle does this.

My best guess is to keep the bearing in place and not cause binding issues upon assembly and to keep the outer race from moving wearing out the seat which leads me to believe that there may be some tolerance issues on machining parts.

unfortunately it sounds like the end bell is bent and may have to get a new one.

In case of this end bell first, boil it for an hour, and lightly try and remove it, and if that don’t work, soak it in acetone for over 24 hours and try again.

I am rather surprised heat didn’t work on the end bell, it may require slightly more heat. Requiring heat resistant gloves as it is possible that the bearing was pressed in while hot.
Old 06-25-2019, 11:03 PM
Tech Regular