Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Cheap servos and Spektrum receivers >

Cheap servos and Spektrum receivers

Cheap servos and Spektrum receivers

Reply

Old 05-28-2019, 03:38 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Northernbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Central California
Posts: 5
Default Cheap servos and Spektrum receivers

I have a cheap Amazon 20kg servo (Zoskay DS3218) that will not work on any of my spektrum receivers (SR210/SR415). I had installed my Spektrum receiver and it worked great the the stock servo. I thought id "upgrade" to a stronger servo. The stock servo was removed working. I have tried everything I can think of and had to eventually put my TRX4 sport back on the TQ radio where it works fine on the cheap servo. I verified all the spektrum receivers worked in other vehicles after I tried in the TRX4 and there were no issues steering and throttle work just fine. All the servos I tried on the spektrum receivers when in the TRX4 would not work. They all worked on other vehicles with the same spectrum receivers this includes the stock servo. I did not try the cheap servo on my other vehicles wasn't sure what was gong on at that point. The TRX4 has the XL5hv in it. Radios are DX5C and DX5 pro, receivers SR210/SR415. I really want back on my Spektrum radios as I have more control over everything compared to the steering trim only TQ radio.


I'm just trying to make sense of this.

Any thoughts?
Northernbob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2019, 04:11 PM
  #2  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
frewster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 408
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like a problem with not enough power getting to the RX in the TRX for the more power hungry servos. You might need a stronger BEC.
frewster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2019, 12:04 AM
  #3  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
RazorRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 616
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by frewster View Post
Sounds like a problem with not enough power getting to the RX in the TRX for the more power hungry servos. You might need a stronger BEC.
Yup, I agree. I run the 20kg Zoskay servo on a fake Spektrum cheap DSM2 receiver and it's fine, but I have a 6V/3A output on the BEC on my ESC. You probably need at least 2A.
RazorRC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 05:34 PM
  #4  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Northernbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Central California
Posts: 5
Default

I've got at hobby wing 1080 and a BEC installed now. Made a servo to BEC bypass so no ESC power to the servo anymore. ESC only powers receiver. I still need to solder the XT60 connectors so I can power it up Amazon showed too late and I have to adult this weekend. I watched an Exocaged rc YouTube video servos pull a lot of current. It hasn't been an issue in my race rc cars I have spektrum and savox. The crawler forums first sticky in electronics is get a BEC if you have the same problems I did. I found that after I wrote this, live and learn.
My new set up is not tested but should fix my issues.
Thanks for your help.
Northernbob is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service