Like Tree533Likes

FlySky Noble NB4

Old 02-19-2023, 06:06 PM
  #1321  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Overseas
Posts: 641
Default

The Pro doesn't seem to be a good value however. The only difference is the fancy aluminum pieces, and wireless charging base. The Noble NB4 can easily be upgraded to wireless charging, and there are many aftermarket cases that can be purchased. The enhances receivers are cheap enough as well. Most owners I have spoken to don't even own servos capable of running SFR mode. I run SFR mode, but I didn't really find a difference in response between the 1 and 2 way so I have kept it 2 way so I can monitor the receiver battery in my 1/8th scale. The Pro does give a more premium look, however the normal NB4 is already quite premium in feel, and is lighter. Unless you can get a smoking deal on one, I don't think it's really worth the money to go up to the Pro version. I spoke to someone who took both apart, and there is nothing internally they can see that is different from the non Pro version, and the Pro battery works on the NB4, and wireless charging function works just the same on the normal NB4 when using the Pro battery. Regardless, I think you will be happy with your purchase, and you will find the UI to be one of the best out there.
Highrisedrifter likes this.

Last edited by silence360; 02-21-2023 at 12:31 AM.
silence360 is online now  
Old 02-21-2023, 09:27 AM
  #1322  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 573
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by silence360
The Pro doesn't seem to be a good value however. The only difference is the fancy aluminum pieces, and wireless charging base.
For the greatest part, I agree completely. There are a few other differences, but they are minimal, and still don't make the Pro worth it. I was a bit of a late-comer to the NB4, not having purchased mine until shortly after the Pro was announced. Initially, the Pro sounded outstanding, and I planned on getting it...but, then, once the price was announced, interest in the Pro headed out the door, and the Noble NB4 became the obvious choice. Granted, the deal that Highrisedrifter got was outstanding...and, if I had that opportunity (even in already owning the Noble NB4), I would have jumped on it (and then sold the Noble NB4).
Highrisedrifter likes this.
Panther6834 is offline  
Old 02-23-2023, 12:46 PM
  #1323  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Posts: 5
Default

This thread has been a doozy, Iíve really got my eyes on the NB4 but Iím into racing, it seems the talk about a hardware dead zone is all over the place. Can anyone weigh in on the actual fact on the matter? Does it have a bit of a center point dead zone?
Kaspurr84 is offline  
Old 02-23-2023, 07:14 PM
  #1324  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Overseas
Posts: 641
Default

Tons of guys race with the NB4, some of the fastest guys in our country use the NB4, not even the Pro. Mine does not have any center point dead zone.
silence360 is online now  
Old 02-24-2023, 08:57 AM
  #1325  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 573
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by silence360
Tons of guys race with the NB4, some of the fastest guys in our country use the NB4, not even the Pro. Mine does not have any center point dead zone.
Same here. Either my unit has no "dead zone" problem...or, it's so minimal, it's not noticeable. Also, sorry for what is about to be a lengthy post...but, I will try to keep it as short as possible, while still putting in all the necessary information.

I'm not going to be one of the 'naysayers', attempting to claim there's no problem...but, I do believe that some units might have said problem. However, while those experiencing the problem want to believe it's a software/firmware problem, I have a theory: I believe it might actually be a hardware problem, related to the throttle mechanism. I have no way of proving my theory, as..again...neither my unit, nor the units belonging to a large number of other people, doesn't have the problem. But, I do have an idea of what, for the units affected, could possibly be causing the problem. I've never taken my NB4 apart (nor do I plan to), so I don't know what, or what specific type, components FlySky is using for the throttle control...but, to explain my theory, I'll use PC keyboards as a comparison.

With PC keyboards, there are two primary types - membrane & mechanical. Both, being 'digital', have only two positions - "on" and "off". The biggest difference (in how they operate) is that, with a membrane keyboard, there is no 'actuation'...the keys only have 'unpressed' & 'pressed' points. For an RC, this is equivalent to the buttons & switches (but not dials) found on a Tx. A mechanical keyboard, on the other hand, has 'actuation', which means the "distance at which the switch needs to depress to register as an input". This is equivalent to the throttle, steering, & dials on a Tx. In a manner of speaking, membrane keyboards sorta-kinda have an actuation point...although, whereas a mechanical switch actuation point is "set" based on the length of the part the key sits on, as well as the hardness/softness of the spring, a membrane keyboard's (so-called) actuation point is determined by how far the membrane is from the curcuit board's contacts, as well as the hardness/softness of the membrane. If the membrane is to close to the circuit board and/or is to soft, this can trigger "false key presses" (often seen as extra letters), which tends to occur mostly on laptops. The same can occur with mechanical switches if the actuation point is too short. At the opposite end of the spectrum, if the actuation point is too long and/or the spring is to hard (mechanical)...or, if the distance between the circuit board & membrane is too far and/or the membrane is too hard (membrane)...this can lead to key presses not being recognized.

In regards to those experiencing the "dead zone" problem on the NB4, what I think is going on is similar to the second point, above, in that the throttle's 'actuation point' is too far. What, specifically, could have caused this, I do not know...but, in assembling the units, I would assume that parts were obtained from multiple sources. If certain parts obtained had one supplier producing them just slightly out of spec, this could, potentially, lead to the problem. Quickly using another comparison (cell phones), I'm sure almost everyone remembers the Samsung Galaxy Note 7 matter. While the great majority of the batteries (in excess of 90%) used in the Note 7 were produced by Samsung, for the initial production run, in order to meet demand, they sourced additional batteries from three other suppliers...and, only some of which were "out of spec". By 'some', I mean VERY few...of the almost 3,000 units reported to have "exploded" (in reality, NONE did, their batteries just went up in smoke), and of the over 500 units checked (from those reporting the problem), only 7 were proven to have problematic batteries. The rest of those with 'problems' were purposely caused by the users, probably in hopes of a lawsuit). Anyway...back to my point. If certain components used in manufacturing the NB4 were produces by multiple suppliers, it is very possible that some of those parts...potentially parts from a single 3rd-party supplier...could have been "out of spec", which, in turn, could be the cause of those units having the "dead zone" problem.

The 'problem' is, unless every unit with the problem were to be tested (to prove whether, or not, it has the problem), and disassembled (to determine, specifically) which part(s) are the cause, it would be impossible to determine which supplier provided the "out of spec" components. When dealing with large components, it can take a large variance to cause a problem...but, when dealing with very small components, a small variance can cause a problem (no different than...say...a large 'adjustment' needing to be made on an X-MAXX, and a very tiny 'adjustment' needing to be made on a Mini-Z, to cause the same amount of "change" on both vehicles). Because many of the parts inside the NB4 are probably small, if the "out of spec" variance on whichever part(s) might be causing the problem is small, it could, potentially, lead to a large "dead zone" problem.

"Hardware" people always want to blame the software, never considering the possibility that it could be the hardware that's at fault...and visa-versa.
Highrisedrifter likes this.
Panther6834 is offline  
Old 02-25-2023, 07:52 PM
  #1326  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Overseas
Posts: 641
Default

The dead zone thing that was brought up is with the steering, the throttle can be adjusted to zero dead zone within the software. For whatever reason they have I think a +5 as default for throttle. The internals of the Pro and Normal NB4 is identical, with the battery base being different as it has wireless charging built in. The Pro battery will work on the regular Noble NB4 and wireless charging will work without any other changes. It's got a fancy aluminum case, and is a bit more premium, but nothing really different internally.

I think it has to do with quality issue with the steering mechanism as the Pro uses the same hardware, and if there was no issues with the Pro as some people have stated then there is no reason the regular Noble should have the issue other than an issue with quality control of the said part. As I said, myself, and many others do not have this so called dead zone or dead area in the steering. I have discussed this also with local NB4 users as well. Highly unlikely it is a software issue as the people I spoke to owned the Noble NB4 when Razor had posted his review on it. So I think it has to do with the supplier of the steering mechanism, and quality control.
silence360 is online now  
Old 02-25-2023, 08:54 PM
  #1327  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 573
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by silence360
The dead zone thing that was brought up is with the steering, the throttle can be adjusted to zero dead zone within the software. For whatever reason they have I think a +5 as default for throttle. The internals of the Pro and Normal NB4 is identical, with the battery base being different as it has wireless charging built in. The Pro battery will work on the regular Noble NB4 and wireless charging will work without any other changes. It's got a fancy aluminum case, and is a bit more premium, but nothing really different internally.

I think it has to do with quality issue with the steering mechanism as the Pro uses the same hardware, and if there was no issues with the Pro as some people have stated then there is no reason the regular Noble should have the issue other than an issue with quality control of the said part. As I said, myself, and many others do not have this so called dead zone or dead area in the steering. I have discussed this also with local NB4 users as well. Highly unlikely it is a software issue as the people I spoke to owned the Noble NB4 when Razor had posted his review on it. So I think it has to do with the supplier of the steering mechanism, and quality control.
In one sentence, you state it's a "software problem"...yet, If you sentences later you state it's a hardware problem. Yes, there's always a potential that it could be a combination of both...but, in your sentences, you specifically blame one, and then the other. As for my 'mistake' in stating "throttle", it doesn't really matter whether it's steering, or throttle...everything I said still applies.

Additionally, if the parts making up the steering mechanisms of both (ie. NB4 & Pro) are the same parts, then that would further confirm everything I said. FlySky, in all probability, does not manufacture all the parts themselves. Like most companies, they would have either outsourced individual parts production to multiple manufacturers and/or they would have purchased off-the-shelf components from multiple manufacturers and/or they would have had OEMs producing parts for them that they designed. Either way, specs of individual components can't always be guaranteed, nor can they be guaranteed that every part from every supplier will 'fit' with every part from all the other manufacturers providing parts.

Every company, from Apple & Samsung, to Ford & GM, have encountered this same type of situation. Look at all the automobile manufacturers around the world that have had to recall cars over the last several years due to airbag problems related to airbags coming from one particular manufacturer. It took years to figure out the REAL problem. It is possible (and very likely) about a similar occurrence was taking place in regards to the NB4...and, since the problem appears to no longer be occurring, It would be safe to assume that either fly sky determined the cause of the problem, and eliminated that particular manufacturer from their parts supply...or, That particular manufacturer may have been removed from the parts supplier list, as they just happen to no longer be needed, even though it may never have been uncovered that the "problem parts" were coming from that manufacturer.

I will admit that there could easily be other possibilities...my theory is just one theory...but, considering similar situations that have occurred with other companies, the probability seems a "higher than average" possibility.
Panther6834 is offline  
Old 02-26-2023, 12:10 AM
  #1328  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 296
Default

Originally Posted by Panther6834
In one sentence, you state it's a "software problem"...yet, If you sentences later you state it's a hardware problem. Yes, there's always a potential that it could be a combination of both...but, in your sentences, you specifically blame one, and then the other. As for my 'mistake' in stating "throttle", it doesn't really matter whether it's steering, or throttle...everything I said still applies.

Additionally, if the parts making up the steering mechanisms of both (ie. NB4 & Pro) are the same parts, then that would further confirm everything I said. FlySky, in all probability, does not manufacture all the parts themselves. Like most companies, they would have either outsourced individual parts production to multiple manufacturers and/or they would have purchased off-the-shelf components from multiple manufacturers and/or they would have had OEMs producing parts for them that they designed. Either way, specs of individual components can't always be guaranteed, nor can they be guaranteed that every part from every supplier will 'fit' with every part from all the other manufacturers providing parts.

Every company, from Apple & Samsung, to Ford & GM, have encountered this same type of situation. Look at all the automobile manufacturers around the world that have had to recall cars over the last several years due to airbag problems related to airbags coming from one particular manufacturer. It took years to figure out the REAL problem. It is possible (and very likely) about a similar occurrence was taking place in regards to the NB4...and, since the problem appears to no longer be occurring, It would be safe to assume that either fly sky determined the cause of the problem, and eliminated that particular manufacturer from their parts supply...or, That particular manufacturer may have been removed from the parts supplier list, as they just happen to no longer be needed, even though it may never have been uncovered that the "problem parts" were coming from that manufacturer.

I will admit that there could easily be other possibilities...my theory is just one theory...but, considering similar situations that have occurred with other companies, the probability seems a "higher than average" possibility.
Dude, i dont know why you are getting all bent out of shape about this, you are both LTIERALLY saying the EXACT same thing.

I dont know where you get the idea that he said "software problem", he said "the throttle can be adjusted to zero dead zone within the software." Which was only in response to you flubbing and saying "throttle". Its a throw away comment about how the throttle is calibrated, not a statement of a "software problem".

Beyond that...

Both of you agree that the issue was likely a supply issue with the potentiometer inside the steering mechanism. Likely a Quality Control or supply issue. You have both said this, and stated it clearly.

So why are we devoting paragraphs to repeating ourselves?
BigBuckORamma is offline  
Old 02-26-2023, 05:42 AM
  #1329  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 573
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BigBuckORamma
Dude, i dont know why you are getting all bent out of shape about this, you are both LTIERALLY saying the EXACT same thing.

I dont know where you get the idea that he said "software problem", he said "the throttle can be adjusted to zero dead zone within the software." Which was only in response to you flubbing and saying "throttle". Its a throw away comment about how the throttle is calibrated, not a statement of a "software problem".

Beyond that...

Both of you agree that the issue was likely a supply issue with the potentiometer inside the steering mechanism. Likely a Quality Control or supply issue. You have both said this, and stated it clearly.

So why are we devoting paragraphs to repeating ourselves?
Not "bent out of shape"...not even close. You have completely misread. As for the 'software' being a possible cause, I apologize, as I misread what was previously said. What he said was "unlikely it is a software"...somehow, I accidentally glanced over the word "unlikely". No big deal.
Panther6834 is offline  
Old 03-02-2023, 06:41 PM
  #1330  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: minnesota
Posts: 74
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MrOflam
I had mine at a race this past weekend as well. I only raced in one class, so not as much use as I would normally have on a radio, but same experience, all day long, practice, qualifiers, and mains, the built in battery lasted the whole time. The graphic for how charged it is didn't even drop, never even took the external out to use it.

I did however take the external out to show people, cause everyone wanted to see it, hold it, everyone loved it, and we're pretty impressed it was a flysky.
Have raced with mine all winter and had no issues using the micro reciever. This week added a class needed to use the large reciever and the same old flysky issues popped up. Caused the guys stanfing next to me to brown out. Tested it several times to see if that was the issue and sure enough it was. Lesson learned
ddtjr is offline  
Old 03-03-2023, 10:14 AM
  #1331  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 65
Default

Originally Posted by ddtjr
Have raced with mine all winter and had no issues using the micro reciever. This week added a class needed to use the large reciever and the same old flysky issues popped up. Caused the guys stanfing next to me to brown out. Tested it several times to see if that was the issue and sure enough it was. Lesson learned
So you were using telemetry with the larger RX?
Timw is offline  
Old 03-05-2023, 05:50 PM
  #1332  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (85)
 
Raman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 5,028
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

Hi all,

The screen Noble4 didn't turn on when I turned it on. I had to turn it off and on to have it turn on. This happened a couple of times. I searched the thread and nothing came up. Anyone else have experience with this?
Raman is offline  
Old 03-07-2023, 09:40 AM
  #1333  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 264
Default

Originally Posted by ddtjr
Caused the guys stanfing next to me to brown out.
Sounds like a "their" problem to me. If your radio gear can't keep up with other 2.4ghz technology without browning out then it sounds like you need new radio gear and I'll keep winning in the mean time.
Werty Yui is offline  
Old 03-07-2023, 01:30 PM
  #1334  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 296
Default

Originally Posted by Werty Yui
Sounds like a "their" problem to me. If your radio gear can't keep up with other 2.4ghz technology without browning out then it sounds like you need new radio gear and I'll keep winning in the mean time.
If FlySky isnt respecting the Frequency Hopping Spread Spectrum to keep shared channels and bands clean and clear from interference, that is a major issue. FHSS is an international standard, and if they are fudging the standard for some reason, then it needs to be addressed. It isnt other peoples problem that his equipment isnt following international broadcast standards and is affecting their transmitters. Places like the FCC frown on that heavily.
BigBuckORamma is offline  
Old 03-07-2023, 09:00 PM
  #1335  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Burbank
Posts: 57
Default

Isn't it entirely possible that the voltage of the rx dropped below what it needed to operate? Maybe that's a battery issue and not a Flysky issue.
Highrisedrifter is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.