Protek 625 Duo Charger

Reply

Old 02-17-2019, 06:39 PM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,182
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Protek 625 Duo Charger

Just received my Protek 625 Duo in the mail and I canít even begin to tell you how long and overdue this was for me.








I was tired of charging at a puny 3.5A charge rate on my old charger for a 4S 6500mah pack. It took on average over an hour to charge!!!

Yes, I would of loved to go with an 406 or 308 from iCharger, but still needed a power supply and a cool stand for them and I was on a budget.

I highly recommend this charger as it is a beast! Easy touch screen controls make it super easy to use and program. And best of all....AC power! No external power supply needed, but still have the option for one.

Iíll post up pics in a bit.

I guess we can make this the official thread for it as I did do a search and didnít see one already. Mods, feel free to merge if there Is one!

Last edited by Evoking1230; 02-18-2019 at 01:09 PM.
Evoking1230 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 07:31 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
KINGZJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: South Milwaukee,WISCONSIN
Posts: 2,287
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I have one and it works great
KINGZJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 09:18 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 411
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I love ac and dc chargers. I was going to get this protek but I went with the skyrc d400. Got it for like $180 shipped. Can’t beat it for the price. I actually think the skyrc d400 is a better charger than the protek 625. They are both 400watt dual port ac/dc chargers but the skyrc d400 has more/better features.

the sky rc d400 is a power supply and has out out to run thing for channel 2
and it has power distrubution. I can have channel 1 at 300watts and channel 2 at 100watts. With the protek your stuck with only 200watts per channel. 200 watts can only charge a 4 cell lipo at 12.5 amps.

Last edited by riceball777; 02-19-2019 at 04:59 PM.
riceball777 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 11:59 AM
  #4  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,182
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by riceball777 View Post
I love ac and dc chargers. I was going to get this protek but I went with the skyrc d400. Got it for like $180 shipped. Canít beat it for the price. I actually think the skyrc d400 is a better charger than the protek 625. They are both 400watt dual port ac/dc chargers but the skyrc d400 has more/better features.

the sky rc d400 is a power supply and has out out to run thing for channel 2
and it has power distrubution. I can have channel 1 at 300watts and channel 2 at 100watts. With the protek your stuck with only 200watts per channel. 200 watts can only charge a 4 cell lipo at 12.5 amps.
You couldn't post this in the other "what charger to get" threads?!?!

Its ok that I can only charge a 42 at 12.5amps! I currently charge at 10A, battery manufacturer recommends up to 2C. Im at like 1.5ish lol.

I charged a pack that was around 3.8v/cell yesterday. Took only 22 minutes for full charge!!!

Soooo much better than my usual 90 minutes at 3.5A
Evoking1230 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 12:48 PM
  #5  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Berkley, MI
Posts: 315
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Its a nice charger. I have a single station Tenergy that is only 10 amps max, but it has the exact same graphical touchscreen as that prodigy. I like the layout and how it functions. I think there are some others that use that same screen too.
{tpc} is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 07:44 PM
  #6  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
Tanis103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 298
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I been using the 625 for about a year now and still love it. I like that I can charge on one side and use the other as a power supply to run, DC soldering iron, break in tires, DC light, else.
Tanis103 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 11:10 AM
  #7  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: RC Track
Posts: 391
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I have one as well. Has been about one year now. Would love to see more on the battery side as far as the IR info etc. It is nice that you can charge on one side, storage/discharge on the other. One drawback is that the LiPo balance board has a short lead, so I ended up buying some 2s, 3s and 4s longer leads for the batteries.
sebtarta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 12:54 PM
  #8  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Berkley, MI
Posts: 315
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sebtarta View Post
I have one as well. Has been about one year now. Would love to see more on the battery side as far as the IR info etc. It is nice that you can charge on one side, storage/discharge on the other. One drawback is that the LiPo balance board has a short lead, so I ended up buying some 2s, 3s and 4s longer leads for the batteries.
It actually does show IR if you scroll to the second page after you start charging. Little arrow at top right of touchscreen. How accurate it is I do not know, but it gives a milliohm reading. I think it also gives a temp, but to me that maybe is a temp of the charger itself? Because I do not feel there is any temp read back on the balance port of these batterys.
{tpc} is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 09:34 AM
  #9  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,182
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

temp is internal only. If you want temp of packs, it has a separate connection for that.

I don't need it personally. Packs are cool to the touch while charging. Well on the outside anyway lol.
Evoking1230 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 06:24 AM
  #10  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: RC Track
Posts: 391
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by {tpc} View Post
It actually does show IR if you scroll to the second page after you start charging. Little arrow at top right of touchscreen. How accurate it is I do not know, but it gives a milliohm reading. I think it also gives a temp, but to me that maybe is a temp of the charger itself? Because I do not feel there is any temp read back on the balance port of these batterys.

Insert .gif "The more you know"

Maybe I should read the manual
sebtarta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2019, 11:20 AM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
KINGZJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: South Milwaukee,WISCONSIN
Posts: 2,287
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

This charger has a regenerative discharge mode. Has anyone messed with that and figured out if they can use a load cell like on an icharger? If you could do that with this charger it would be the ultimate charger hands down.
KINGZJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2019, 12:31 PM
  #12  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,182
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Ultimate A/C charger^^^

Those iChargers are pretty sweet and would of went with one but Im on a budget.
Evoking1230 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2019, 09:27 AM
  #13  
Tech Initiate
 
RDNKTaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 22
Default HELP!!!

Needs some help. I just got my 625 in the mail yesterday. I also got my Maclan LIHV 5000 mAh 120c 7.6v batteries. Am I good to charge them at 10 amps?
RDNKTaz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2019, 01:21 PM
  #14  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
rustyus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: central PA
Posts: 679
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The 10 amps (2C charge rate) is fine. Maclan states 10C maximum charge rate, and a 3C charge rate recommended for the longest life span of battery.
rustyus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2019, 06:05 PM
  #15  
Tech Initiate
 
RDNKTaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 22
Default

I wish I took a picture to share but the first time I hooked up the battery I had to change it to LIHV. The charger recognized the battery as what it was but on the current line it had 0.1 amps. Not knowing I started the charge. The next charge I bumped that up to 10 amps and after it got to 3500 mAh it stopped and started beeping. Not sure what was going on but the battery was not hot nor balloon. The next charge I set it to 5 amps on the current line and it charged fully with no problems. I’m still learning all this Lipo stuff and it’s conflicting with what I’ve read and seen in videos.
RDNKTaz is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service