Motor soldering and Trinity 21.5 setting questions >

Motor soldering and Trinity 21.5 setting questions

Like Tree2Likes

Motor soldering and Trinity 21.5 setting questions

Old 01-10-2019, 03:30 AM
Tech Initiate

Default Motor soldering and Trinity 21.5 setting questions

Hi guys. Two questions:
1) I think using plugs instead of direct soldering is more practical (to me). But the soldering tab of Trinity Monster is very narrow. Speaking about current flow and efficency, In your opinion, is this plug soldering ok? Would you solder wires directly or it doesn't matter?

2) I was setting my Trinity 21.5, but I'm new to this kind of motor. From the motor checker, I got there parameters: 2.800kv and 6amps. More or less 53° timing (on the can). It would be a good starting point?

Thanks, Andrea
Old 01-10-2019, 06:30 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)

Most people prefer a direct connection to the motor.

As far as timing, I've found right around 50 degrees to be ideal.
Old 01-10-2019, 07:13 AM
Tech Initiate

Originally Posted by dave-man View Post
Most people prefer a direct connection to the motor.

As far as timing, I've found right around 50 degrees to be ideal.
I noticed most people prefer direct connection, just wondering if It really makes difference...
By the way, my soldering tab has a little play...does it affect my motor perfomarnce?
Old 01-10-2019, 10:43 AM
Super Moderator

Trader Rating: 201 (100%+)

I use the same connectors and the motor performs just the same lap times didn’t show any difference and as fast as timing for the 21.5 I use a hair under the 50 mark.
Old 01-11-2019, 06:17 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)

Originally Posted by jakelamotta View Post
I noticed most people prefer direct connection, just wondering if It really makes difference...
By the way, my soldering tab has a little play...does it affect my motor perfomarnce?