Like Tree110Likes

Surpass V4S Motors

Reply

Old 01-11-2019, 12:48 AM
  #181  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (60)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 808
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default Fresh batch

Received a fresh batch of motor and the new 160 amp esc and fans . Unfortunately something got mixed up with the order and I only recieved one program box and 5 escs
PM me if you would like a motor. Have 13.5 17.5 a couple mod motors that are pending.
mixedguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 12:51 AM
  #182  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 151
Default

What are the 160amp ESC's worth? I take it they're comparable to Hobbywing, Orca etc? (Not wanting to start a debate about the best ESC available, just that they're a decent ESC for the money)
jgil089 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 01:18 AM
  #183  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (60)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 808
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default 160amp esc and changes

1. Smaller dimensions are length 38.1mm width 30.65mm height 19.55 no fan 29.71 with fan. Have ran the 120 with no fan and have not had any overheating issues in offroad mod and stock.

2. No more lead that plugs Into esc and goes to rx. It is hard wired now with short lead. There is a spot that the programmer plugs in. That maybe you can use like old 120 and plug in lead. Have not tested. Will test next weekend. Just received order today.

3. 3 caps now instead of 2 like the 120amp.

4. Fan. The stock fan will only mount with 2 screws provided. The other holes don't line up to use 4 screws. Tried a Orion fan and it was to small. Not sure proper size to use all 4 screw holes. Will test and find out. Honestly 2 should be fine but I wanna know the proper size fan for all 4.

5. Heatsink is cut differently refer to pics.

6. Cosmetic changes more lettering color. Refer to pics.

7. Power button is better secured not as loose as 120. Not that it was bad before. Just better tolerances now.

[URL=http://s525.photobucket.com/user/mixedguy/media/b61d/20190111_012318.jpg.html][/URL]
Troubles Dad and jgil089 like this.
mixedguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 01:26 AM
  #184  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (60)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 808
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jgil089 View Post
What are the 160amp ESC's worth? I take it they're comparable to Hobbywing, Orca etc? (Not wanting to start a debate about the best ESC available, just that they're a decent ESC for the money)
they are cheaper than any of the big names. I have not set a price yet. Mainly because they did not send all the program boxes plus I wanted to test before I sold them. Just to make sure they are just as good as the old version. I agree don't want a start a debate. People are brand loyal and that is fine to each thier own. I love my 120amp. And have guys at my track that love them as well.I have had all the big name brands. Can't tell a difference.
jgil089 likes this.
mixedguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 04:19 AM
  #185  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Italy
Posts: 41
Default

Id like to buy this one for 13.5T blinky TC class. Did anyone test the 13.5 in TC? Any impression/advice?
jakelamotta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 09:58 PM
  #186  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (60)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 808
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default New stuff installed and ready to test

Installed new esc and a new 7.5 in my et410. Time for testing tomorrow!
Cain and danny325is like this.
mixedguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 04:47 AM
  #187  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 91
Default

Does the 160a esc have 7.4v bec?
Maraach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 11:47 AM
  #188  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (60)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 808
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default 7.4

Originally Posted by Maraach View Post
Does the 160a esc have 7.4v bec?
Yes with the 160 you can switch between 6.0 and 7.4v
danny325is likes this.
mixedguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 04:25 AM
  #189  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 91
Default

Originally Posted by mixedguy View Post
Yes with the 160 you can switch between 6.0 and 7.4v
please do keep us in the loop how they pan out. They just got very interesting to me.

Also very keen to here how the programming experience is and whether the program box can connect to a pc for firmware updates.
Maraach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 02:15 PM
  #190  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (60)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 808
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default Update on 160amp

Originally Posted by Maraach View Post
please do keep us in the loop how they pan out. They just got very interesting to me.

Also very keen to here how the programming experience is and whether the program box can connect to a pc for firmware updates.
So far testing went good last night . Esc ran perfect in both my eb410 with a 13.5 4vs and my et410 with 7.5 4vs . Ran both with no fans on. To really push the esc. Ran full packs about 15 min of runtime on them a pack. Esc was just warm to the touch after runs . Ran all day with them like this and never came off more than just warn to the touch . Forgot my temp gun at home so can not give you exact temp at this time. Program box worked flawlessly as well like it always has. In the manual it does show you can hook them up to a PC and update firmware ect. I have not had time to test that yet or a reason because everthing has been great so far. Will play around with it though
danny325is likes this.
mixedguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 11:47 AM
  #191  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9
Default

What are the new 160A esc's going for?
Are they only programmable via a program box?
Lefty421 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 06:05 PM
  #192  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: gb wisconsin
Posts: 480
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone hooked their 17.5t V4S up to an analyzer? Curious to know what your timing is at to pull 6 amps and what kv and rpm numbers you are getting at that setting. If not 6.0 amps, any setting would do. Just looking for another reference other than the Nick Adams video.
danny325is likes this.
mx836 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 07:03 PM
  #193  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
MaxRain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 492
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mx836 View Post
Has anyone hooked their 17.5t V4S up to an analyzer? Curious to know what your timing is at to pull 6 amps and what kv and rpm numbers you are getting at that setting. If not 6.0 amps, any setting would do. Just looking for another reference other than the Nick Adams video.
Based on tests that I have done, 45-46 on the can, yields an approximate timing of 55 degrees on the analyzer, current draw was 6.0 amps.
danny325is likes this.
MaxRain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 07:10 PM
  #194  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: gb wisconsin
Posts: 480
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MaxRain View Post
Based on tests that I have done, 45-46 on the can, yields an approximate timing of 55 degrees on the analyzer, current draw was 6.0 amps.
Thanks for the reply. That's what I'm seeing too. Any idea what your KV rating was? Mine is significantly less than the Nick Adams test and another posted on youtube. My old Monster Horsepower (standard motor, no uprades, not a Max) puts the V4S to shame numbers wise. Hopefully it means this is the strongest rotor ever created otherwise I think I might have a dud on my hands.
danny325is likes this.
mx836 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 07:56 PM
  #195  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (128)
 
RC*PHREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4,770
Trader Rating: 128 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mx836 View Post
Thanks for the reply. That's what I'm seeing too. Any idea what your KV rating was? Mine is significantly less than the Nick Adams test and another posted on youtube. My old Monster Horsepower (standard motor, no uprades, not a Max) puts the V4S to shame numbers wise. Hopefully it means this is the strongest rotor ever created otherwise I think I might have a dud on my hands.
at 5.6 amps i was at 3085kv. the rotor on that motor is around 1645/1622 on the facts machine V3. so it's a good rotor. not great.

my V4S's have all been well below what nick got.
danny325is likes this.
RC*PHREAK is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service